CARFAX Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

CARFAX Reviews

Updated 26 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 279 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
CARFAX CEO Richard Raines
Richard Raines
221 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance & generous time off(in 75 reviews)

  • "I have been working for Carfax over 13 years(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Nothing is in my mind negative about Carfax(in 41 reviews)

  • "There are no cons from my perspective(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Truly a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agile Project Manager in Centreville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CARFAX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong company culture and lots of opportunities to move within Carfax.

    Cons

    A strong thread of nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Triangulate real data, don't rely so much on gossip and relationships.

    CARFAX2019-07-26
  2. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Great Leadership, Awsome Products.

    Cons

    Nothing related to CARFAX. Parent Company?

    Advice to Management

    Nothing at this time.

    CARFAX2019-07-25
  3. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a family environment and we win as team.

    Cons

    No cons to report about CARFAX

    CARFAX2019-07-01
  4. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Quality Analyst in Centreville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the company and the team here is really great. People are willing to help you in all ways. Lots of events and celebrations every month. Pay is decent with good benefits and decent number of PTO

    Cons

    Nothing till now that I have experienced.

    CARFAX2019-07-14
  5. "Incredible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Centreville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the company is awesome!!!

    Cons

    Not many so far here

    CARFAX2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Committed Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Account Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CARFAX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture and values of CARFAX is top notch in the industry. Friendly atmosphere and people in other departments are willing to help.

    Cons

    The onboarding training for field work wasn’t taught until a person was actually doing the job. Example: FoxDen, Salesforce, Cases, best practices. There is no support in the field from a corporate support center, people have to rely on each other and management if they are available.

    Advice to Management

    When on boarding new hires make sure they have a designated mentor that can coach and help form good company culture best practices on the job. Let the person know how they are doing and share constructive advice and give them set goals of a 30, 60, 90 day plan. Just don’t expect them to know everything up front.

    CARFAX2019-06-19
  7. "The Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work is challenging and rewarding with a great sense of "Team" where everyone shares in successes.

    Cons

    Sometimes, they feed us too much.

    CARFAX2019-06-03
  8. "BEST Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top notch culture, compensation and work/life balance.

    Cons

    There are no cons from my perspective.

    CARFAX2019-06-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Tech, Horrible Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Developer in Centreville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance New frameworks & languages are encouraged Easy to switch between multiple projects

    Cons

    Developers are way underpaid and under appreciated at Carfax. A great deal of responsibility is placed on developers and they are expected to oversee a lot of things compared to other companies. I personally don’t mind it, but the company does so very little in return to reward and appreciate you for the efforts put in. The management expects you to do the work of two developers and wants to pay you half that of a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your developers, there are lots of really smart people here who make Carfax what it is. Learn to reward them for the hard-work and contributions they put in.

    CARFAX2019-06-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CARFAX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great community, open door policy, great benefits

    Cons

    Doesn’t pay well unless you’re in sales, very flat organization

    CARFAX2019-05-14
Found 279 reviews