CGI Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
CGI President and Chief Executive Officer George D. Schindler
George D. Schindler
1,801 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career growth is a serious problem(in 146 reviews)

  • "No cons as far as I am concerned(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at CGI full-time

    Pros

    Good company, great values for

    Cons

    No Cons only pros....Best Company

    CGI2019-06-19
  2. "So Bad.... Soo Very Bad"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It really opened my eyes on how poorly some large consulting firms treat their employees.

    Cons

    You will work long hours, management are in it for themselves. They cut jobs at the first sniff of financial pressure, especially in Australia. Don't do it unless you are really hard up need a job. It was a real eye opener for me.

    Continue reading
    CGI2020-04-20
  3. "Good environment for professionals"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CGI full-time

    Pros

    Good salary with good opportunities for developing your career and skills.

    Cons

    There are almost no downsides if you can keep yourself busy.

    CGI2020-03-10
  4. "CGI"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time

    Pros

    Huge company, plenty of nice people

    Cons

    -slow growth -middle management not very experienced

    CGI2020-01-22
  5. "CGI Technologies & Solutions Australia - Corrupted Management and Toxic."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to different situations and a selected few good people that are friendly and willing to help. I really wish it was a different place. I enjoyed working here but the VP and the 2 directors (top 1%) ruined it.

    Cons

    Corrupted Management. Toxic environment. Be prepared to be thrown under the bus. I was chucked under the bus multiple times even through i followed the instructions correctly under the guidance of my manager. I left the company and still my name gets slandered and crapped on. Not once did i get a thank you instead management got all the gratitude. TYPICAL GLOBAL TOXIC COMPANY. - Backstabbing, alliances, the top 1% (3 people) STEAL all the credit, get the bonuses and salary increases whereas, the workers is just a number.

    Continue reading
    CGI2020-01-30
  6. "Great organisation"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Various training and mentoring opportunities Opportunities to work in similar roles with multiple clients either locally, nationally or abroad Supportive and inclusive company culture - great colleagues to work with both locally and abroad. Good benefits and opportunity to own shares in the organisation.

    Cons

    Bonus scheme dependant on performance of the entire business unit, not based on your office location. However, this can also be good when your location does not have a great year.

    CGI2019-11-25
  7. "You can do better"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ICT Consultant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large global company with major footprint in Canada and the USA.

    Cons

    Corporate profit is everything. You are just a number.

    CGI2019-08-27
  8. "Great staff operating worldwide"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solution Architect in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome team of people. Potential to have worldwide collaboration. Pay is quite good.

    Cons

    Lots of corporate direction from US/Canada that doesn't always work for APAC. Like many other large companies, can flick you at a moment's notice. Have seen this happen to 10/20/30 + year tenure members many times. No sales teams which I don't think works still. Directors are responsible for bringing in business but are always too busy managing their current clients. Lots of good operating and process frameworks but difficult to share across continents with like minded professionals.

    Continue reading
    CGI2019-05-01
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Consultant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Office in North Sydney 2) Share Purchase Plan

    Cons

    1) Management is busy on racking up the numbers (Revenue) to make themselves look good and not focused on keeping employees motivated. 2) People sitting there for years together without the want to learn latest technologies. 3) Very poor project managers 4) All the skilled resources have left. 5) Value of technical certifications are not realized by the management. The certification is just used to sell you to a client.

    Continue reading
    CGI2019-05-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nice comfortable place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CGI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very responsive to requests for mentoring Great opportunities for advancement if you hustle Great colleagues and reasonable requests for management

    Cons

    Internal software is archaic Microsoft and Oracle crap that is a nightmare to navigate and use. Two cultures - old hands from Logica days have a body shop mentality and are unreliable. No sales or marketing team - All staff are expected to sell, but also expected to be billable 4.5 days a week.

    CGI2019-02-20
Found 6293 reviews
</>Embed