Find jobs for Electrical Engineer

CH2M Electrical Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 1,285 reviews

3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
4 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Good company to work for if you aren't too old to cut the mustard.

    Oct 16, 2014 - Electrical & Instrumetation Design 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A relaxed atmosphere with frequent assignments. They have high expectations from every employee.

    Cons

    As most engineering consulting firms today, CH2MHILL wants young engineering graduates, interns, Engineers in Training, It becomes more of a hassle as competition increases. They also yield to social balance so that they must have men, women, blacks, Latinos, Eastern Indians. Meanwhile average retirement age for all of these groups continues to creep higher. We are living longer. Few have our mortgages paid off. Our spouses work. Our kids are still coming home for help. Our grandchildren are still coming. Families are spreading out over the nation. Air travel is becoming more dangerous. Hybrid automobiles are very expensive. Rents are at an all time high. Consider this, most engineering firms like to locate where industry needs them. Most engineers like to locate where living conditions are the most pleasant. Frequently at distances that make commuting impractical. So you are faced with having both, a mortgage and paying rent for an apartment; having to commute a great distance weekly; living apart from your spouse; eating out five days a week; placating a frustrated spouse; owning a second vehicle; the list goes on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    CH2M Hill is an excellent company to work for, salaries are fair and work is challenging.

    Nov 15, 2012 - Electrical Designer in Bellingham, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety is of prime concern and employees have the opportunity to serve on the safety committee. Company maintains good working relations with the client companies and values input from each employee.

    Cons

    Long commute from home made it impossible to work and live in the same community. No opportunity to telecommute so it was necessary to rent an apartment near their location.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place for learning

    Jul 21, 2011 - Electrical Engineer in Corvallis, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for CH2M Hill because the supervisors actually care about your development. Feedbacks are given constantly. They are really flexible with work schedule. Most important thing is to complete your work.

    Cons

    The only bad thing about working at CH is if you are a designer, there are limited offices where you can work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Senior Electrical Designer

    Nov 7, 2016 - Electrical AutoCAD Designer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very knowledgeable staff that is very helpful, and a great working atmosphere. Always the latest in technology to do assignments. A wide range of interesting projects to work on. Every day is a new learning experience.

    Cons

    None at this time, I really liked working there and I liked what I was doing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    electrical project engineer

    Feb 26, 2018 - Electrical Engineer in Hanford, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoy the folks that I get to work with each day

    Cons

    I am in the final stages of construction, laying to rest old buildings. I would love to be in the bring the buildings out of the ground and not laying them to rest.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Exciting Projects

    Apr 22, 2015 - Electrical Design Engineer II in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The projects were very exciting. Management was great and really took an interest in the needs of the employees.

    Cons

    It was a bummer working on a project and having to keep it quiet. Couldn't share the excitement with friends, family or potential future employers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Electrical Engineer

    Nov 10, 2015 - Electrical Engineer in Spartanburg, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment. Very flexible with schedule for people with families.

    Cons

    low pay grade compared to other local engineering consulting firms.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It has been wonderful so far.

    Aug 19, 2013 - Electrical Engineer III in Anchorage, AK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Support and encouragement from colleagues.

    Cons

    As far as I know, there are no downsides whatsoever.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Oct 24, 2014 - Electrical Tech 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits package. Great co=workers.

    Cons

    Leadership is lost. No good direction, just more paperwork!

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Quality Control

    Jun 22, 2015 - Electrical Quality Control in Prudhoe Bay, AK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent working for this company

    Cons

    Company never called back laid off employees

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

CH2M logo
or