Find jobs for Senior Engineer

CH2M Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 1,285 reviews

3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Nice company

    Apr 1, 2020 - Senior Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, good salary, work soon excited projects

    Cons

    Not think of any. It was good experience working on team.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Worst Place I have Ever worked, stay away if you are Not employed in US. "Big Boys Club"

    Jan 12, 2013 - Senior Engineer in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work and retire if you have a god father!!!

    Cons

    They Just keep hype for CH2MHILL brand , I have worked for 4 years during my middle career, should tell it’s a worst place to work if you are an Engineer (which they always claim their core strength) and out side US. No commitment to employees ,no ethics (only in papers). I have joined the company in the same year when Lee McIntire became CEO, “The little Yellow Book”(which they are proud of) is just a crap outside US. No respect to the employees, during last 4 years they have not given any training to any of our staff. It’s the same story every where ,if you are in Middle east, Europe. Every one Knows what they have done to their Poland Employees. Feel pity for HALCROW which they have taken over last year. Engineers are disposable staff,if you are Talent recruiter you are lucky . FORTUNE must check outside US before giving any ranking to companies.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good company but misguided

    Mar 5, 2014 - Senior Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fairly ethical company. Pay is good. I think water side of the company is much healthier than the industrial side.

    Cons

    Many employees in state of fear of being laid off, low stability. Laying off experienced people and bringing in college students. Very few opportunities for advancement or lateral movement among the divisions. Senior designers get paid more than engineers when including overtime. Management seems to focus on a few errors to show apparent skill rather than overall financial performance. Must be in the right crowd or be passed over. Yearly employee review is a waste of time. No incentive bonus for people until ~ 20+ yrs experience. There is a quite limited amount of small bonus' for inexperienced engineers and most designers. This leaves people with 10-20 years experience with no opportunity for bonus. Most people I know received $0 bonus in the past decade.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Look for real values

    Jun 9, 2015 - Senior Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting jobs, relaxed atmosphere, nice colleagues, good for gaining management and commenrcial knowledge, generally supportive directors, good IT support, nice headoffice.

    Cons

    Hard to gain techical knowledge, only get promoted and payrise if you get sufficient support from your line manager, often writing papers or "selling" yourself is more appreciated than actual knowledge and hard work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    800 right-sized in November 2016

    Dec 28, 2016 - Senior Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Telecommuting, flexibility in working locations, some great people.

    Cons

    If you don't have top coverage, your time on board is limited; top heavy senior management earning huge salaries and not contributing to the bottom line efficiently. Us technical people doing the work with not support. Client centricity model isn't working; having no overall admin number to charge to if you're not considered a BD person is crazy; using vacation time so as not to incur overhead costs is a widespread practice that no one open admits to but everyone does it. Not a way to manage an organization. Truly care about your people so they don't feel like they are a number on a spreadsheet and only as good as their previous project. There is no loyalty.

    Continue reading
    22 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Generally great place to work

    Dec 23, 2016 - Senior Tunnel Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful team of engineers and those involved with delivering project. Relaxed environment. Can be fun depending on which team you sit with. Canteen with reasonably priced food.

    Cons

    Company support functions are often an obstacle instead of supporting function - HR, office management, etc. HQ is not based in central London, although this is nice in the summer as we have a park outside the office.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    "WAS" a Great Place to Work

    Jan 5, 2017 - Senior Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, ability to occasionally work from home, mostly good projects, and mostly good coworkers. Good computer equipment and technical staff.

    Cons

    As previous review said, non-management engineers must be 98% billable or use PTO. When your PTO is gone, you don't get paid. New system gives you a supervisor in another city who has dozens of subordinates making you just another marble in the bowl. Run out of work and ask for more? Your ignored! Quarterly meetings with the CEO are filled with corporate babble and say nothing useful. Supervisors will hold staff meetings, smile at you, and tell you how important you are to the organization, then treat you like your nothing but a piece of outdated equipment.

    Continue reading
    28 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    FORGET REBRANDING, GO BACK TO THE YELLOW BOOK

    Oct 18, 2015 - Senior Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly technical and knowledgeable employees who have great ethics, initiative, problem solving skills. In my experience, the work has always been high quality, and the people I have worked with are very professional, passionate about what they do, and nice people to be around, both in office and out of office. One can learn a lot if they apply themselves, get to know as many people as possible on the project they work on, and work on learning new things and taking advantage of training given.

    Cons

    Company as of lately has reorganized, and it's hard to know who is managing what. Once a project ends, you feel as if you are on your own to find another position within the company. There is no career management division or formal career development program. If you are not billable, you have to use your PTO and are put on work load imbalance, which is just one step away from being laid off. Alot of effort spent on "rebranding" the company, WHY? All that was needed was to go back to the YELLOW BOOK, and remind everyone on what foundations the company was built upon. More time and effort should be spent on improving existing work processes, managing talent within the company (instead of laying them off and hiring new employees that take at least 6 months to come up to speed). Seems like the company has evolved from being run/managed by actual people who moved up from within the company and know how to do the actual work they are managing, to-being run by "business people" who have short sighted view and only look at "bottom line". A lot of very talented people with years of experience have left the company and or "early retired" in the last year. How did the company plan to replace, or at minimum, maintain the knowledge base of these employees who are no longer with the company, and who developed very good relationships with key clients? It is hard to put a "price" on client relationships developed over years, then lose those people, and expect brand new or younger employees to be able to fill these gaps?? A lot of jobs are now being offshored to Europe where there is cheaper labor. Is this the future of CH2M? I think the founders of the company would be very disappointed to see the company today. Regarding expat employees, there are a number of employees working on an "iconic" project in Middle East for a key "new client" promising future work with a high monetary value. But the support provided to these expat employees is poor and it doesn't bode well for employee moral, when added to the difficult conditions working with this Client. CH2M's working conditions/role in this project are much different than what was originally planned, and these "on the ground conditions" may set the precedent for future work with this Client. Where is Senior Management from U.S.A. stepping in to mitigate these well known problems? It seems like no one is listening. No senior management has spent enough time visiting the project to understand the dynamic between CH2M and the Client, and how many things that are happening are not in line with CH2M's values, ethics, and way of doing business. WHY??? Is top management only looking at the promise of future work at the expense of employees there doing all the hard work and taking abuse? What is HR's function in these circumstances?

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    CH2M Response

    Company Representative

    Hello. First of all, thanks for taking the time to write a review. You’ve brought up a couple issues of reorganization, management, and employee relations/development during this time of transition for our team. Rest assured that we still strive to operate ethically and on the foundations CH2M was built upon. We will continue to do our best to maintain and keep the lines of communication open. We will also continue to do everything we can to support our employees’ professional development and opportunities – they’re our top priority.

  9. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    A good company if one choose to work in their PMC Services

    Jun 25, 2012 - Senior Contracts Engineer in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, Multi-national work culture, Helpful and cooperative management

    Cons

    Insufficient Leave for employees working on single status,

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Senior Engineer

    Dec 31, 2015 - Senior Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some great people still left at CH2M.

    Cons

    It is all about the bottom line. They do not take care of their people. If you are part of the old boy's club you can lie, cheat, steal and abuse people and the management of the company will do nothing. Lots of people don't get full pay checks if there isn't enough billable work. Benefits are dwindling. I worked with a manager who lied to our clients routinely. It was a very bad situation.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    CH2M Response

    Company Representative

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’re sorry to hear about your experience with us. We assure you that one of our core values is ethical business and fair treatment of our team. We will share your comments on accountability and compensation with our management team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

CH2M logo
or