CH2M Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 1,285 reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
466 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand the work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Great people and good diversity(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      One Star Rating Based on ANZ Business

      Sep 14, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is unfortunate that CH2M HILL has not acted quickly to remove the business ethics and practices of former Halcrow Group Directors and Senior Executives with the ANZ business as the impression is that overall CH2M HILL internationally has a good employee culture.

      Cons

      The business is top heavy in Director and Executive levels who deliver little. Within ANZ it has a large issue with former Halcrow Group Directors and key Senior Management team who have no track record in delivering opportunities. Within ANZ there is complete mismanagement which is leading to a decline in business opportunities and CH2M HILL do not appear to be taking a decision to remove key former Halcrow Group senior management who are underperforming.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not as good a company as I thought prior to working for them

      Jul 2, 2019 - Occupational Health and Safety Specialist in Hanford, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got to see the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and the Tri-cities, WA.

      Cons

      Inefficient. Hours started at 5:45 a.m. to 4 or 4:30 p.m. since they work 4-10 hour days. Workers would come dragging in in the dark, tired, which is not good since they worked with dangerous equipment and hazardous waste. The site was very large and quite far from town, yet the extra travel time was not paid for. Mgmt talked about ethics, but their ethics officer did not seem to know what ethics was. Snow days were not compensated. Overworked mgrs. Inconsistent information or poor planning--some would tell us one thing, but someone else would contradict them the next day. Offices were in many trailers across the site. Windy, with dust blowing often. Poor signage, if any--hard to navigate or find a specific trailer. Roads and lots in poor repair, hazardous waste grounds were placed every which way, building fragments may not have been removed completely. Traffic accidents were high, but senior management did not follow through on employee recommendations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Facilities coordinator

      Feb 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great co workers, good environment to learn new things

      Cons

      Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was once a great to company to work for

      Jul 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay if you work on their North Slope operations or in senior management. There are some incredible managers who are committed to supporting and mentoring the employees who report to them - unfortunately there are fewer and fewer of these around. Some positions are given the opportunity to telecommute.

      Cons

      Benefits are not the best - especially PTO and Health Insurance. Compensation is all over the board - based more on who you know then on how well you perform - and I say this as a employee who benefited by knowing the right people so I was paid more than my peers for the same job, time on job, and quality of work. The current senior management team has forgotten what made this company great - the employees - and instead concentrate on making decisions that benefit the management team and not the employees (and thus not the company).

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Hello, thank you for sharing your thoughts on management practices. We also think that our employees are the pillars of our company. We strive to maintain an inclusive, collaborative working environment where all of our employees matter. Your suggestions will be taken into consideration as we continually look for improvements.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      CH2M in Asia

      Dec 2, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Brand .... good for one's career portfolio. Many oppportunities if you have the capablilities and know-how to do things the CH2M way. I will recommend for one to build portfolio here

      Cons

      CEO/Senior Management in USA probably are not aware of office happenings in this part of the world. Offices here are mostly lead by no degree no qualification directors and project managers. No promotion nor career advancement. Bad managers are not condone and Qualifications are not important.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      On the Decline

      Jun 4, 2016 - Civil Engineer III in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - large firm with a mix of opportunities for young engineers - work-from-home flexibility, good for parents

      Cons

      - Actual office culture is depressing. Coworkers are generally resigned to be there with a few cheerleaders from corporate. Office culture is a nightmare for millienials - stifling, impersonal, unlikely to be resume-building. - Despite a female CEO, company culture is definitely still an old boys club. Career trajectories for minorities and women seem to stagnate once they reach mid-level. Some diversity at lower levels, but select few minorities in senior management or executive positions. - Benefits are not good, very expensive for employees and continue to get cut every year. Bonuses are non-existent for anyone but senior level, and even they didn't get bonuses last year "due to poor company performance." - Company seems to be slowly sinking. Brought in outside investors to fix bad investments in the oil industry. Sacrificing their brand of innovation to bland, low-hanging fruit projects. The notion of "employee-owned" is meaningless at this point and no one wants company stock.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thanks for your feedback. All companies must evolve and adapt to the marketplace and the stakeholders they serve in order to be competitive. To sustain the greater purpose of CH2M as a global company, the company is evolving too. We encourage you to read the 2015 Summary Annual Report, which explains changes that are contributing to our strong sales and backlog and better long-term prospects for our clients, our people and our company. We also invite you to review the FAQs that explain the minority investment by Apollo. Thanks, Matt

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If only I could give negative stars

      Dec 13, 2013 - Information Technology in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice office surroundings, decent pay

      Cons

      I will have to say that in my numerous years in IT, this is likely the worst place I have ever worked, as well as the only job I have ever had to leave in less than a year. As with most companies, the manager can make or break the job. I was shocked at the amount of favoritism given to long term employees and those who know how to bs with the "boss." New team members are never given the chance to make an impact on the team or shown any appreciation for their work. Work/Life balance is non existent as employees and contractors alike are expected to work 50 plus hours routinely per week, with no chance for flex time or working from home. In addition, senior management does not condone employees talking to them if they have any issues. Strange, I thought the open door policy was just common sense in today's workplace? Many of my fellow employees were dangerously physically and emotionally drained. If you care about your health, family or your mental well being, DO NOT take a job at CH2M!!!!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We are sorry that your experience with the company was not a positive one; however, we do appreciate the time you took to review CH2M HILL. We will send your feedback to Senior Management.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Past Employee

      Dec 9, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work with. Strong talented staff makes the difference as support from management is fleeting. As a simply number to management they are more concerned with themselves than the client projects. But if you can survive on an island working only with the folks around you, you can have fun here. Good work hours as you put in your time and leave.

      Cons

      each employee is simply a number to the firm. little care as to how the employees feel or think. What makes the senior leadership look good is the only concern nor the welfare of the employees and staff. If senior management looks good, regardless if it requires selling out staff, then everything must be perfect.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on being a company that puts our employees first. We strive to recognize each of our team members for their hard work and dedication to each of our projects. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      Many outstanding technologists and project managers, some very enjoyable clients (EPA in particular), interesting large projects.

      Cons

      Not many downsides when I started about 10 years ago, but even before the economic downturn, senior management began centralizing control in the hands of a very few managers. Now a supervisor can't approve a $100 purchase for required equipment without getting high-level approval. Furthermore, with the growth of the past 10 years, the bureaucracies in Health & Safety, HR, and IT have gotten out of control, to the point where they forget that their job is to support our primary mission of engineering, construction, and planning. Finally, the contradictory messages ranging from "last year was our best ever, thanks!" to "we absolutely need to reduce overhead costs, so raises are small again and you need to be 100% billable" (resulting in limited training and management budgets) are getting absurd.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tool Install Designer

      Oct 7, 2016 - Tool Install Designer in Lehi, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many different locations across US and World Managers willing to help with personal growth Tons of online training available Average to High pay for industry

      Cons

      Working at Client site, projects are unpredicatble so jobs can be short term Bureaucracy of trying to get certain things accomplished Senior Management in Colorado seemed disconnected from our operations.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

    CH2M logo
    or