CH2M Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 28, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 1,284 reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
465 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand the work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Great people and good diversity(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work

      May 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - No limit to the technical expertise you can gain. - Very, very interesting and diverse projects. - Good work/life balance. The office is a ghost-town as soon as the clock turns to 5pm. - Some of the coworkers are actually nice people to talk to. - As part of the project team you learn the nitty gritty of all aspects of a project from all the different disciplines (electrical, structural, civil, architectural etc etc). This develops your own technical competency.

      Cons

      - Compensation is not the best. You can keep slaving away and earning an "excellent" rating year after year (the best in your team) and still get only a 2.5% increase in salary. They also make it seem like they are doing you a huge favour by giving this raise. - No concept of bonuses or profit sharing for junior/intermediate level staff. The actual folks doing the work (designing, producing drawings, specifications) do not get bonuses but the upper management whose job is administrative at best earn bonuses from all successful projects. VERY UNFAIR. - Projects are very top heavy. More budgets were allocated for Project Managers and Design Managers rather than the engineers of each discipline to complete their work. Besides why do you need so many managers on even the most basic of projects? All they do is waste budget. - Job security isn't the best, but if you are good at what you do you will generally avoid getting laid off.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great name to associate with your career portfolio

      Mar 16, 2010 - Staff Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CH2M Hill is a great name to have associated with your career portfolio. You will meet a lot of talented individuals. Some offices are full of wonderful people that make coming to work a joy every day (even Monday's).

      Cons

      Employee development is not openly supported. It is difficult to obtain funding from the company for just about anything. It is not easy to actually try something new or to get involved in cross business opportunities. Because the company is so big, overhead costs are astronomical and employee salaries for junior level employees are well below average. Benefits do not help to bring the total compensation package up to par. As an engineer, I have not felt challenged and I have not gotten opportunities to really use the skills that I acquired in college. There seems to be a general lack of participation by upper management to help develop a career path with specific goals or milestones for junior level staff. It isn't what you know in this company, it is who you know that will help you attain your goals and help you receive the recognition you deserve. Overall, CH2M Hill is a great place for junior staff to gain experience but probably an even better place to use a career stepping stone.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      consistency in practice

      Oct 15, 2016 - Environmental Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like that we have flexible working hours, compensation time / offset, and leave benefits. Creativity is also highly encouraged among team members and not only limited to the management. I am pretty lucky to be working with a supervisor who knows how to enhance my talent and he has been assigning me to different kinds of projects. I have not been limited to ESA works. My supervisor has exposed me to remediation and decontamination/demolition/disposal projects. I'm very grateful for the trust and responsibility given by my supervisor and for always being very supportive. I know I have a great career ahead of me in CH2M with my current supervisor.

      Cons

      Title/position of employee in the company: Seems hard for management to understand the difference between a scientist and an engineer. A lot of us in the office, though licensed engineers, hold the scientist position. Our supervisor has been trying to fight for our position to be changed from scientist to engineer. Been with the company for more than two years but I'm stuck with the same scientist title. Mobil phone allowance: There should have been an assessment of what a regular plan with calls and texts plus data usage would cost in every country in APR. What we're entitled in our country is reasonable only for a week, not for a whole month's worth. We do understand the need to cut cost. But upper management seem to have missed the details. It's not just ratio and proportion for US to other countries when it comes to telecommunication costs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thank you for your feedback. We’re really glad to hear that you like working here and that we are helping you grow by giving you the opportunity to work on new and different types of projects. That’s what CH2M is all about! We recently revised our mobile device program to be more consistent in how we manage devices across our company. Every employee uses his or her mobile device for personal use, and therefore the allowance is not intended to be a reimbursement of all monthly costs. And regarding your title, please reach out to your HR delivery partner for guidance. Thank you again

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Once Strong Company Now Struggling

      Feb 6, 2017 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people to work with Good clients High profile projects Above average pay for my area Good benefits Company founders had a vision that worked well for the first 50 years Previous great company culture

      Cons

      Some middle and upper management promoted beyond skill level Company culture moved from people centered to profit centered Former CEO mismanaged the firm Current CEO seems to be in over her head and doesn't know what to do, hence the multiple reorganizations during her short time in charge Reorganizations every 12-24 months for past decade Lack of clear communication Asking overloaded employees to take on additional work after re-orgs and layoffs Employee bonus/reward/evaluation system is broke

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      CH2M- GE Facilities Services Program

      Dec 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A working model of a dysfunctional office where you can learn what type of management to stay away from in your future career.

      Cons

      • Middle management has created a culture of negativity, intimidation, and miscommunication, supported by cronyism and division between employees. • Upper management supports middle management while “working from home” with no clue of the office’s problems, processes or morale, waiting for their next promotion to get them away from this program. • Management is reactionary, with frequent strategy and process changes on non-fact-based whim. • There is high turnover with no training or system of recognition to retain talent. This creates overwhelming workload for the remaining team. • Management has favorites. If you are not in this group, you will be rewarded with this additional, less desirable workload. • Managers sulk, lock themselves in their office and refuse to talk to subordinates after receiving poor performance reviews. • Managers start some meetings with statements such as, “If any of this gets out of this room, you will be terminated.” And end some meetings with statements such as, “And if you don’t like it, you should leave.” • Overall, the opposite of continuous improvement.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      No Direction, No Structure Your a Slave With Good Pay

      Mar 11, 2012 - Field Engineer in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is generally on par with competitors, benefits, profit sharing, your given all you need to work when ever where ever, blackberry/labtop/truck.

      Cons

      Its who you know, especially in the construction side of the house. They watch each other's backs and could careless about the real workhorses. There is no respect for the field engineer, your basically doing anything and everything regardless of knowledge or managerial support. And when you complain about being over worked or question the logic your treated as incompetent. There is no encouragement for growth or structure for promotion. The main goal is profit driven by bonuses for upper management. Its no wonder they can't seem to win any bids. No future in this company and will only get worse the more companies they seem to buy up....

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      great flexibility; lots of change

      Apr 25, 2016 - Technologist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great flexibility do good work and you'll do well lots of opportunities if you are flexible with travel working with some of the smartest folks in the industry

      Cons

      during slow times little support from local management to find work constant change in the organization and upper management although they do support women "climbing the corporate ladder" I feel there is still room for improvement in equal pay for equal work salaries are not always competitive

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, but not for everyone.

      Mar 25, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of passionate and extremely experienced employees who really care about the company. Seen as a leader in a number of different markets.

      Cons

      Lots of politics, and more politics. People leaders aren't well trained to be people leaders, are usually promoted due to technical expertise but not ability to manage. Pay and benefits are not very competitive for the most part. Organization is too slow to change, lots of mixed messages in communication from upper management and actions being taken.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mixed feelings about their Qatar operations

      Aug 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Doha
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with especially upper management and the design team. Interesting projects. Good pay. Great leave policies. Transportation business is doing well.

      Cons

      The project management of the construction supervision projects in Qatar behaves in an extremely unpleasant way. Clear ethical violations like intimidation, forcible overtime without pay, aggressive behavior. Although ch2m has a hotline to report such behavior, none of the mostly Asian(and timid) staff report this behavior. Tolerated by upper management because the project management speaks the local language . This is a potential train wreck and will sully ch2m's reputation. I joined ch2m only because they were the best company to work with, but such behavior really makes me regret my decision. It's really sad ch2m has to keep such people.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Project Manager

      Dec 1, 2016 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be a great company to work for but not anymore. Occasionally has some interesting and challenging projects Very average compensation and benefits

      Cons

      Very poor profitability due to extremely bloated corporate structure and complicated, archaic, and byzantine internal processes to pursue and book new projects. These processes make it extremely difficult to be competitive with smaller and more nimble competitors. Numerous corporate restructuring efforts that simply shuffle the same upper management around into different org charts with no real changes in operating model. Pays out 401k company match funds in CH2M stock that cannot be sold readily as no one in their right mind will buy it.

      24 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Content Specialist

      Thanks for your feedback! Our complex internal processes are one of the main reasons that we’ve transitioned to a new Client-centric Operating Model. By organizing around our clients and by flattening the organization, we’re making things simpler. The Client-centric Operating Model also enables us to better focus on our ultimate goal: solving our clients’ toughest challenges and making a difference in our communities and across the globe. We’re already starting to see signs that it’s working! We hope you’ll consider joining us again someday.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

    CH2M logo
    or