Cactus Communications Copy Editor Reviews

Updated May 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 818 reviews

3.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Cactus Communications Co-Founder and CEO   Abhishek Goel (no image)
Abhishek Goel
6 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Good

    Feb 2, 2021 - Copy Editor in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They seem to genuinely care about improving editor experience, and there is usually plenty of work to go round. Pay goes up and down based on your score and other factors but it’s more stable since they’ve made improvements to the system. Pay is ok.

    Cons

    You are paid based on word count but you are expected to answer client questions for free. You aren’t paid to format assignments so you sometimes end up doing 1-3 hours extra work for free.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Freelancer

    Nice

    May 20, 2021 - Copy Editor in Yaoundé
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make some money as a freelancer or even contractor

    Cons

    Some difficult protocol to follow

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cactus Communications Response

    Associate Freelancer Management

    Hi! Thank you for your review. Glad to know that you’ve found the association to be financially rewarding. Regarding the concern you’ve stated here, a little more detail on the specifics would be useful. If you like, you can reach out to me with further details on amrita.anand@cactusglobal.com. We regularly check in with our editors to ensure that they are comfortable with the different aspects of their association with us. We frequently monitor their valued feedback and incorporate their suggestions in our continuous improvement initiatives. We also ensure that any doubts or clarifications that editors have regarding processes is resolved timely. There is a dedicated support team that fields all their queries on all days of the week. Do let me know if you have any questions. Thanks, Amrita Anand Associate, Freelancer Management

  3. 5.0
    Current Freelancer

    Ccatus

    Feb 9, 2021 - Copy Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regular jobs. Quick replies to queries.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Contractor, more than 5 years

    Exploitation

    Aug 28, 2020 - Copy Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. Online gig jobs are everywhere now and this one has no advantages.

    Cons

    1. The by-the-word payment system is designed to make it easier for them to underpay you. 2. The quality index is designed to legally steal your wages. 3. Getting a high score on the quality index requires many more hours of work than is possible while making anywhere close to a living wage. 4. They make little effort to ensure that assignments are matched with qualified editors based on topics familiar to them. I can accept assignments editing complicated medical papers, for instance, despite having no expertise whatsoever. Yet they still expect you to do everything perfectly. 5. Copy editors are also expected to be their own proofreaders, so you are basically doing two or three different jobs and barely getting compensated for one. (Sometimes rewriting every sentence of 6000+ word papers, plus formatting references, etc., with an expected turn around of mere hours and no tolerance for oversights). 6. No benefits, no ability to move up, no references, no support, no ability to communicate with other editors (which is by design, to make it harder for you to negotiate your rights). 7. My rates actually went down since I began. They cut out the easier to complete “standard” assignments and replaced them all with “premium” assignments, while also lowering the rate for the premium assignments.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor wages

    Feb 8, 2021 - Copy Editor in New Delhi
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good exposure in terms of learning

    Cons

    Not even minimum wages given. No regular work inflow. months no work then deadlines over weekends and salary per work basis so very poor salary not even minimum wage

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Average

    Jan 2, 2021 - Copy Editor in Lagos
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance with Cactus Improvements with the company processes

    Cons

    The pay could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Great company to work with

    Sep 22, 2020 - Copy Editor in Lagos
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Steady flow of assignments Timely payment Flexible work schedule Polite management

    Cons

    Short turnaround time on some assignments. Work long hours when you accept assignments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Pays very little and scams you out of money for work completed

    Mar 31, 2020 - Freelance Copy Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home and do as little as you want.

    Cons

    This company pays only .011 (USD) per word but expects extremely detailed editing with comments. They will scam you out of money for work completed by reducing your pay for work done up to 50% claiming that the work does not meet the scope of their editing requirements. They will nitpick on even the smallest of errors (inconsistently) and assign a random Quality Index (QI) to your work which fluctuates wildly and rarely fairly assesses your work. The wages paid here are abominable given the highly qualified editors and rigorous selection process. There is zero chance of raises or benefits. Avoid at all costs.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Cactus Communications Response

    Head, Editorial Services

    Hello, Thank you for sharing feedback. I'm sorry you haven't had a good experience so far. We do pass on feedback we receive from clients, and where any negative feedback is found to be related to the editor's work, we discuss the feedback with the editor before passing on a deduction. The extent of the deduction is usually proportional to the gravity/frequency of errors and the criticality of the assignment. If you haven't received such an explanation though, I apologize - do reach out to me (christinem@cactusglobal.com) if you'd like to discuss this case further. The quality index rating system is aligned with the expectations of our clients. While we're constantly working toward improving calibration among our reviewers, if you'd like to discuss any of the ratings, please reach out to your point of contact. Best, Christine

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    getting worse

    Jun 7, 2020 - Copy Editor in Cambridge, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    excellent dashboard; occasionally useful feedback

    Cons

    not so plentiful work; changes tend to disadvantage contractors

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    not a bad experience

    Jun 5, 2020 - Copy Editor in India, MS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    i had a flexible working time

    Cons

    very low pay. tight deadlines

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Cactus Communications Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cactus Communications? Share Your Experiences

Cactus Communications logo
or