Camp Australia Reviews

Updated 16 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "I was able to do 3 BSC and 5 ASC (ASC as a Coordinator) every week while still studying(in 8 reviews)

  • "Working with Children and being able see them grow(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "I heard they changed the system giving coordinators even less power over who attends their service leading to new staff very often(in 25 reviews)

  • "Assistants sometimes need help from Head Office that is hard to connect with(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Hampton, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Camp Australia part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive team, opportunities for growth through the company, training opportunities

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Camp Australia2019-11-06

    Camp Australia Response

    November 6, 2019Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience as a current employee of Camp Australia. It thrills us to read that you have been with us for 5+ years, and lovin' it! how wonderful. We are proud that you have chosen to entrust us with your career within the children services industry. We have a dedicated team working on progression opportunities within Camp Australia, which is partnered with industry leading and internationally recognised programmes to ensure every participant is set up for success. Thanks again.

  2. "It’s okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSHC Assistant in Melbourne

    I have been working at Camp Australia part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consistent work if contracted, the kids

    Cons

    Short hours, no support from higher up.

    Continue reading
    Camp Australia2020-03-17

    Camp Australia Response

    May 13, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. We were pleased to read your enjoyed working with the children we agree, they are the heartbeat of our organisation and it is a privilege to be entrusted by their family to care for them. We run regular surveys during OSHC and Holiday Club season to ask for feedback from our employees and use this feedback to shape the future of our organisation. In addition, we have an industry leading program that seeks to include all children who require additional support. This program has been developed with industry professionals including a child psychologist and inclusion support agency and is available to all services requiring assistance. Should you wish to get further information on this program or provide us feedback please get in touch with the HR team and we would be happy to support. Kind regards, Camp Australia

  3. "Possibly the worst company I’ve ever worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Camp Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really isn’t any pros

    Cons

    No support, work place bullying, HR is the owners, unrealistic work loads for allowed hours, parent dissatisfaction with company taken out on you, not paid correctly, no support from schools, high staff turnover , no maternity leave, the list goes on and on.

    Continue reading
    Camp Australia2020-03-10

    Camp Australia Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Hi there, We were sorry to read your review and comments about your time at CA, although we are concerned with the inaccuracy of the comments you have made. I can assure you we do not tolerate workplace bullying of any kind and any allegations are dealt with, with the highest priority. In addition, we do offer maternity leave and have a wonderful Payroll team who pay us on time and accurately. We have a suite of teams whose purpose is to support our educators, including HR and Payroll teams. We understand support can look different to everyone and we are continuously working on ways in which we can improve upon this. Our educators have access to the following (and more!): • Above industry award pay rates • Lucrative bonus schemes • Local managers and specialists • Specialised training and development programs, which have been recognised both nationally and internationally • Free access to counselling, legal, dietary and financial advice for them and their immediate family members • Recognition and reward program • 24/7 phone line to assist you any time of the day or night • Online access to update your own roster, check your payslip, socialise with educators across the country and more In addition, we have some exciting things about to launch which will help the dollar go further with everyday rising cost of living. This is a small sample of the amazing things our team can enjoy, and we will continue to extend upon and improve our offerings because we understand that our people are our greatest asset. We care deeply about our team and are saddened you didn’t feel this way. We wish you all the best with your future career endeavours. Kind regards, Camp Australia

  4. "Ok for uni students"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 

    I worked at Camp Australia part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - working with kids and not much else

    Cons

    - short hours - no available work

    Camp Australia2020-02-03

    Camp Australia Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. We agree working with kids is a huge “pro” to working at CA however, we do have many other benefits as well, such as internationally recognised training programs, dedicated support teams (no debt collection, recruitment, staffing etc for Coordinators), bonus scheme and structured career pathways from an Assistant through to a General Manager and beyond, just to name a few! We're sorry you were unable to tap into these and we will work at ensuring it is known by the the wider business so no one else misses out. We wish you all the best in your future career endeavours. Kind regards, Camp Australia

  5. "Good Work Environment"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Early Childhood Assistant 

    I have been working at Camp Australia part-time

    Pros

    Easy to work environment if coordinator supportive, pay isn't too bad

    Cons

    Less working hours, Unpredictable shifts if not fixed beforehand

    Camp Australia2020-01-10

    Camp Australia Response

    January 14, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for your review! We are delighted that you are enjoying working with CA! Good work environment, good pay rates, working with kids – does it get any better?! Unfortunately, there isn’t much we can do about the shifts being short but we certainly have taken on your feedback about consistency in shifts and it is something we are working on as this is written! Stay tuned.. Thanks, Camp Australia

  6. "okay company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Camp Australia part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good environment & staff. kids are good

    Cons

    terrible management.. just don't do it

    Camp Australia2020-02-03

    Camp Australia Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Hi there, Thanks for leaving us your review. We agree, the kids are the heartbeat of our organisation and the best part of what we do. Supporting their growth through their formative years is an important job that we have been entrusted by many families over 30+ years. All of this only made possible by a dedicated and experienced team, which we are pleased to read you also enjoyed. We have a highly experienced, passionate and professional management team who care deeply about our team and driving the success of our services, we were sorry to read you felt otherwise. All the best in your future career endeavours. Kind regards, Camp Australia

  7. "Good experience, but get out asap"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Camp Australia part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get in Gets to choose location to work at online

    Cons

    No training and support Rare permanent fixture to schools

    Camp Australia2020-01-03

    Camp Australia Response

    January 14, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad our efficient recruitment process enabled you to start work with us seamlessly and that you enjoyed the autonomy of choosing your own shifts. We have comprehensive training program that caters to all styles of learners. These programs have been recognised both nationally and internationally by industry bodies and delivered by a specialist team. All the best in your future endeavours. Kind regards, Camp Australia

  8. "OSHC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Camp Australia part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you love working with kids, this is the best job for you.

    Cons

    Shifts are limited and every week is different.

    Continue reading
    Camp Australia2019-12-18

    Camp Australia Response

    January 14, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Firstly, we want to take this opportunity to say thank you for your loyalty for the past 3+ years. We whole heartedly agree!! The children are the heartbeat of our business and it’s so important we find passionate, caring and professional Educators who love working with kids, to make their time at OSHC one to remember! We will take what you have said on board about ensuring consistency in shifts, it is something we are working on at the moment, so stay tuned! Thanks, Camp Australia

  9. "Fine"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Coordinator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Camp Australia part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay rate and nice environment

    Cons

    No Consistent Shifts on a regular basis

    Camp Australia2019-11-20

    Camp Australia Response

    January 14, 2020Employee Engagement Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We were pleased to see you enjoyed our above award pay rates and working environment, working with kids is a wonderful opportunity! Whilst we do have consistent shifts/services available, these are available for our permanent Team Members. We are working on giving more consistency, to more people and hope to roll out this exciting initiative shortly. All the best in your future endeavours! Kind regards, Camp Australia

  10. "Employee Feedback"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSHC Coordinator in Seaford, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Camp Australia part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional Taking children's safety a priority

    Cons

    New educators do not get practical training prior to their shifts

    Camp Australia2019-10-24

    Camp Australia Response

    November 6, 2019Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. WOW, 10+ years!!!! you must have received a special gift from your Regional Manager recently to celebrate.... Thanks so much for your continued commitment and dedication to us, we are proud that you have chosen to partner with us and entrust us with your career. Fantastic to read your comments around our focus on children's safety, we whole-heartedly agree, it is our number one priority. We have a wonderfully dedicated team of training specialists, and operational managers that assist with theoretical and practical training for all new educators. This is supported by partnerships with industry leading professionals and assisted us in developing an internationally recognized training program (go us!!). We will take your comments on board and see how we can better prepare our team with additional practical training before they start. Thanks again!

Found 91 reviews