Cancer Research Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cancer Research Technology Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Keith S. Blundy
6 Ratings
  1. "Enjoyed job- management was good and nice, friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

      I worked at Cancer Research Technology part-time

      Pros

      -helping the community -friendly customers and staff

      Cons

      -sometimes tedious not very fast paced environment but this is only minor con

      Cancer Research Technology2019-07-14
    • "Great work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Scientist 

        I have been working at Cancer Research Technology full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Small company, exposure to all drug discovery disciplines and great work life balance

        Cons

        Not competitive pay but tight deadlines and stressful working environment

        Cancer Research Technology2019-06-21
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Cancer Research Technology full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Teams are consulted on changes and well informed.

        Cons

        A lot of change recently but settling down now.

        Cancer Research Technology2019-06-05
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cancer Research Technology full-time

        Pros

        Friendly staff and interesting science

        Cons

        Sometimes too much work is taken on leading to people being stretched and stressed.

        Cancer Research Technology2018-07-18
      • "Decent company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Team PA in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cancer Research Technology

        Pros

        Great team, good cause and good systems in place. Nice offices and great annual leave allowance!

        Cons

        Structure means that implementing changes takes too long. In terms of my team there was some inconsistency with requirement expectations and goals etc.

        Advice to Management

        Can't offer any advice as don't feel I know enough about the challenges the face(d). For my direct management there were times that I felt there were inconsistencies.

        Cancer Research Technology2015-11-13
      • Helpful (5)

        "Not a the great dynamic company you read about"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Scientist in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Cancer Research Technology

        Pros

        I've had to think long and hard about this one and I can't think of a single Pro if you're the kind of person who is looking for career advancement. However, if you're the kind of person who doesn't "live to work" and more the sort of person who "works to live" then you should consider working for CRT. The hours are good, the pay not bad and nothing much is asked of the staff as the management are always too busy avoiding...

        Show More

        Cons

        I you "live to work" then this is not the company for you, unlesss you want to use this place as a quick step into CRUK or buisness management. There is nothing to get excitied about in this company now. No career opportunities within the company and very few benefits

        Advice to Management

        Senior management of the lab is percieved as weak, directionless and unable to make decisions Group leader level managment are seen as sneaky, gossipy and promote their own agenda.... in fact we wonder what one or two of you actually do on a daily basis. Information still does not flow from the top down (despite the training courses).

        Cancer Research Technology2015-02-06
      • Helpful (1)

        "Where to start..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Cancer Research Technology full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          None that I can think of. The campus is quite nice though although there is no interaction with the other companies on site.

          Cons

          Strange organisational structure. All the middle management have been entrenched for a long time so no new ideas. Politics drive decision making. A few people appear busy but for the most part this is a part-time job with so little expectations on the employees.

          Advice to Management

          Slimline the management and stop thinking like a big pharma company - you are not that.

          Cancer Research Technology2014-11-19
        • Helpful (4)

          "Dissapointing leadership"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Cancer Research Technology full-time

          Pros

          There is still some very interesting science being done at CRT, and for some very few lucky individuals there are also reasonable to good career opportunities.

          Cons

          On the whole the outlook is bleak. The company is moving to an 'alliance model', i.e. funded soley by external partners (the charity no longer supports CRT directly). The effect is that CRT is becoming a CRO for early discovery; couple this with working on risky oncology targets, suscess is far from assured and funding far from secure.

          Advice to Management

          Externally: Fight our corner at CRUK and clarify our role in delivering patient benefit Internally: Don't talk about personal / career development when you have no chance of delivering this across the board

          Cancer Research Technology2014-03-05
        • Helpful (1)

          "Great Science"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Cancer Research Technology

          Pros

          - opportunity to work on some cutting edge science - collaborate with leading academics and industry peers - well equipped labs for the size company - good people to work with

          Cons

          - poor opportunites for personal and professional development - politics - parts of the buisness can be somewhat isolated

          Advice to Management

          better delegation to staff multi-site labs/offices are clearly a challenge to manage, but sometimes there is a lack of cohesion between various sites/parts of the buisness

          Cancer Research Technology2011-01-15
        • "Overview of Corporate Side"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
          Recommends

          I worked at Cancer Research Technology

          Pros

          Good Work/Life Balance Open and very friendly company Fantastic training and development opportunities

          Cons

          Serious Lack of strategy/direction in certain areas of the Business Internal Politics Slow in making decisions No accountability

          Advice to Management

          Be pro-active Make staff accountable

          Cancer Research Technology2010-05-01
        Found 10 reviews