Canon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Canon Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 607 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Canon CEO Fujio Mitarai
Fujio Mitarai
135 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "plano de carreira, gestores centralizadores e sem perfil de l(in 15 reviews)

  • "o oferecem plano de carreira e engessam o funcion(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Canon full-time

    Pros

    Culture, People, and Products (in their chosen areas)

    Cons

    Low salary paid to the back office (i.e. cost centres). Products will be superceded in this digital revolution age, eventually.

    Continue reading
    Canon2018-01-17
  2. "Time wasted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Canon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free parking. Close to Macq Park shopping. 🛍 Most staff were nice (90%) Easy to slack off if you wanted. Work from home 1 day per week.

    Cons

    No job growth or opportunity. Low pay (not even market rates). Poor management. Very wasteful of money. Virtually no wage increase. Employees not valued at all. Waste of time being here. HR useless (dont care about you.. only about the company). Location. Job security (they cull 10-100 jobs each year from different departments). Offshore elements of dev to other countries.

    Continue reading
    Canon2019-08-05
  3. "No work life balance - not uncommon to do a 14 hour day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Canon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good product discounts, pay is higher than similar Coporate Companies. struggling to think of anything else good about the Company,

    Cons

    Long hours working nights and weekends. No work/life balance even though the Company says to take your time in lieu there is never an opportunity to get back the time. Very reactive Company, implement last-minute executions that are never thought out. Management does not ask for input from the people on the ground. You are not valued, you are just a number. Do not have the correct tools needed to do your job effectively. Its like musical chairs with the Management (continuously shifting them around)

    Continue reading
    Canon2019-06-20
  4. "Great flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends

    I worked at Canon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful office, free parking, flexible working and working from home option, staff discount for Canon products, feels like family.

    Cons

    There was a negative mood in the business teams but new management hopefully would have fixed this. Boys club at times.

    Canon2018-12-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wow what a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Partner in North Ryde
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Canon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined this company just over 5 months ago. To say its a great place to work is an understatement. In the last 5 months I've seen an employee engagement score of over 70% and such kind and generous people. They give their time not only to the community but to each other, to learn and drive for the greater good. They look to reinvent, in a market that has its obvious technology issues. Its amazing to be with people who care about sustainability too.

    Cons

    So far I've not encountered any cons, but I'm sure there are some, but what I know for sure is that if there are I can talk to my manager and drive a collective outcome.

    Continue reading
    Canon2018-11-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Canon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company has a great product

    Cons

    Don’t not practise what they preach. No core values. Fire you if you report sexual harassment. No loyalty from Company and you are treated as just a number.

    Continue reading
    Canon2018-12-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dead Ship Sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Canon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff pricing on digital Equipment

    Cons

    Little or no chance of occupation advance as or supervisor roles come out of Head office in Sydney.

    Continue reading
    Canon2018-10-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good people environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Canon employee are nice people. they are super friendly and provide helps whenever needed. Management is willing to provide fund to develop people.

    Cons

    It's slow and hard for the company to accept an innovative changing. groups with higher profit is more open to changes, while groups who make loss are not happy and sometimes bring in negative emotions.

    Continue reading
    Canon2018-06-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Culture needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Canon full-time

    Pros

    nice office good initiatives internally nice office parking

    Cons

    Canon culture needs work. Its really a place to go to work and thats it..... getting people fired up is tough

    Canon2018-06-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A Company in Trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cbs in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Canon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Discounts on DSLR cameras

    Cons

    Company lost direction many cycles of senior and middle management ago. Significant losses in MFD (CBS) side of the business have resulted in annual redundancies, restructures and severe micromanagement. Systems are held together using band aids and typically those made redundant are the employees with all the intellectual knowledge holding processes together. Poor communication and a customer last approach. How the Camera side of the business runs in complete contrast to the CBS side of the business remains a mystery. Boys club at the top. A company that believes it's logo deserves respect.

    Continue reading
    Canon2018-05-14
Found 607 reviews