Canstar Reviews

Updated 11 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Canstar CEO Andrew Spicer (no image)
Andrew Spicer
34 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with great people

    11 Apr 2021 - Group Manager in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, benefits, interesting work, supportive executive leadership

    Cons

    None that are deal breakers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    8 Apr 2021 - Team Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management are supportive & open to ideas

    Cons

    Hard to see everyone when not in office all the time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We're happy you feel supported in your role and that you believe we are open to new ideas. COVID-19 has been challenging for those of us in the team who love to see each other and socialise. Hopefully the vaccine rollout will end sooner rather than later and we don't have to take restrictive measures to social distance. In the meantime, please feel free to consider coming into the office more than 2 days a week if you want to engage with people in person more often.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great

    23 Feb 2021 - Specilalist in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    social club, work life balance, young

    Cons

    nothing really, a good company to work for

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed working at Canstar and especially our social club events! We love hosting fun events for staff like cocktail making classes, bowling, or karaoke, and it's good to hear you got involved. One of our key philosophies at Canstar is to 'Live and Work Positively' and work-life balance is one of the foundations of the positive culture here. Thank you for choosing us to be a part of your career journey!

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good culture, good team

    17 Nov 2020 - Software Developer in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice office, decent coffee machine, good culture, free lunch (sometimes) , work life balance

    Cons

    hmm, pay, compare to industry standard

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about working at Canstar. It's great to hear that you experienced a positive office environment and culture - we pride ourselves on continuously striving to create a healthy workspace and work-life balance for the team. Thank you for being a part of the Canstar journey!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    good

    24 Oct 2020 - Research Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company culture, work life balance

    Cons

    Limited career development opportunities and salary growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed working at Canstar and enjoyed a positive work-life balance as one of our key philosophies at Canstar is to 'Live and Work Positively'. We're also encouraged to hear that your feedback reflects our good company culture. We are always striving to build upon these foundations. Thank you for choosing us to be a part of your career journey!

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    2/5

    24 Dec 2020 - Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good lunch, staff meeting are good

    Cons

    Culture, work process is not good

    2 people found this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the lunches and staff meetings. We're sorry to hear that you felt the culture and work process were not good and would love to learn more about your experience - please reach out to us so that we can learn from your insight. Thank you!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Flexibility + work/life balance

    28 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Canstar is very flexible with hours, work from home and time off as I experienced in my position. The culture is social - there are lots of morning teas, nibbles, arvo drinks, etc. and it makes for a casual, friendly environment. There are lots of perks like subsidised massages and they're always coming up with new employee incentives and addressing things like pay and more hard benefits. I reported to really good people whom I respect, found the exec team to be down to earth and sincere, and even got to travel. So I can say I recommend both the Brisbane and the Sydney office! It's a young culture but as it grows more experienced people are being recruited. I've had a good experience at Canstar, met some really great people and I would recommend them as an employer.

    Cons

    I don't agree with previous posts about a boys club or the comments about the executive team. There are a lot of really influential female and male leaders within the business and the staff is split equally.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear you are making use of our flexible working arrangements and enjoy the positive culture we have developed at Canstar. We are also proud of our gender diversity and strong representation of women in leadership positions, and are encouraged to hear that your experiences with management were supportive. We look forward to continue building upon these positive aspects.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bitterly disappointing and unprofessional

    13 Jan 2020 - Systems Analyst in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Yeh not much really. Some free coffee and staff leaving parties.

    Cons

    This place is difficult and there's a constant turnover of junior staff who do really menial and labourious roles. There's all this talk about culture but it's all fake and the real problems are ignored and not ever spoken about. The best advice for anyone is to keep your mouth shut and move on.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    We are sorry to hear that your experiences were not all positive during your time at Canstar. We would be grateful if you were open to connecting with us via email at people@canstar.com.au to share your thoughts with us in more detail.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company to work for

    15 Sep 2019 - Manager in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, good leadership, and great working conditions

    Cons

    Only real con due to the size of the company, career progression maybe limited

    1 person found this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    Group Executive, People & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear you are enjoying working at Canstar and have highlighted work-life balance as being a positive aspect. This aligns with one of our Employer Value Proposition pillars, which is to 'Live and Work Positively'. We are also encouraged to hear that your feedback reflects supportive experiences with management. We look forward to continue building upon these positive aspects.

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    You don't know what is going on.

    17 Mar 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free breakfast and people are friendly for the most part. The office spaces are nice even though they get noisy. There is a team to blame most of the time but if its not the most likeable person complaining no one does anything to stop it. I reckon everything will go well for you if you keep your head down and get through until you can get a good job. Don't let the great place to work ads fool you.

    Cons

    No real potential for career progression Low pay Low-intellect micromanagers No real training or development unless your a graduate in finance Incompetent digital Everyone sticks to their own teams and complains about the others Outlook doesn't look good

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    Canstar Response

    People & Culture Manager

    We are sorry to hear that your experiences were not all positive during your time at Canstar. We would be grateful if you were open to connecting with us via email at people@canstar.com.au to share your thoughts with us in more detail.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with Canstar Job Seekers

Graduate Research Analyst
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Canstar? Share Your Experiences

Canstar logo
or