Canva Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Canva Reviews

Updated 12 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Canva CEO Melanie Perkins
Melanie Perkins
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Breakfast and lunch are served daily by a dedicated in house team, and the great office interiors help make it a conducive place to work(in 7 reviews)

  • "work with very smart people to ship a product loved by millions of users, and rapidly growing(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are way too many snacks :)(in 4 reviews)

  • "The company is growing fast and everyone is amazing so there are a lot of new names to learn(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time

    Pros

    work is actually fun, the perks are amazing as you can tell from all other reviews and you get the opportunity to pump out work: processes result in code being shipped super fast.

    Cons

    very hard to understand where you sit in the company and what career progression is.

    Canva2019-05-13
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love working at Canva. Everyone is so smart, personable, and lovely to work with. Feedback from employees is taken seriously by management.

    Cons

    It's hard to get to know everyone, as the company is growing so fast!

    Canva2019-05-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canva full-time

    Pros

    There are some great people that work here and you have the ability and opportunity to learn and grow a lot. Mel is an inspirational business woman with such great passion, she's also a really lovely person. If you have a well behaved dog you are welcome to bring it to work. If you don't have a dog you can pet all of the dogs at work! If you take home leftover lunch everyday you may never pay for food during the week...

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing so quickly means that new solutions to new problems always need to be found which is difficult for some to understand. You can tell the difference between the new employees and the employees who have been there for a long time, they're much more kind and thankful. I was promised a lot when I accepted the role at Canva and it did not happen. The company almost doubled size in the time i was there. I worked hard...

    Show More
    Canva2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (27)

    "Not as tiny and flexible as it thinks it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gym, excellent free food, inspiring product and mission Really big feature roadmap w lots of opportunities. Serious dedication to values Dedicated developer efficiency team. Code health culture from Day 1, and it shows! But don't forget the free coaching and beer on tap

    Cons

    Canva. it's nostalgic for when it was still small. Constantly talking about the good old days when it was twenty people round a table, and look how far "we've" come... Mate you're not a little minnow any more. You HAVE your product market fit. Your competition takes you seriously. Do you? Feels like canva is allergic to changing it's old structure, processes, or anything that would Feel Less Fun. No some days it's like...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the exceptionalism. Grow up. Maybe you're better at product than other companies, but for gods sake don't spend your Innovative Iconoclast budget on "how to run an organisation". Audit inefficiency. Audit dysfunction. Bring in consultants if you gotta. Admit that you're sometimes out of your league. Own up to what you don't know and where you've gone wrong. Stop trying to make everything sound like roses and rainbows,...

    Show More
    Canva2019-02-28
  5. "Best company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Frontend Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing culture, there are so many clubs for extra-curricular activities to join. The office is spacious, quite, bright and full of snacks and drinks. Co-workers are super kind and the smartest I have worked with.

    Cons

    Some parts of the code are unnecessarily complicated. But nothing a refactor cannot fix ;)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesomeness.

    Canva2019-02-27
  6. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time

    Pros

    Great workplace culture! People here are smart, caring and friendly. There are a lot of learning opportunities from good swe around the world. Free lunch and self educating fund are also amazing. I learnt so much from my colleagues and everyone want to set each other for success.

    Cons

    We are getting a bit crowded in our current building as the company grows rapidly.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on the good vibes

    Canva2019-02-27
  7. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time

    Pros

    - Awesome culture - Autonomy / Flat hierarchy - Growing userbase and revenue potential

    Cons

    Need a head of strategy or growth

    Canva2019-01-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Australia’s #1 Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Have had the most incredible few years at Canva. There’s no where else like it. The culture is great, the people are incredibly talented and the work is inspiring. Where else do you get to work on a product that is really setting out to make the world a better place. Have had the opportunity to work in such a diverse range of teams on everything from product, to growth and operations.

    Cons

    Don’t come here if you’re looking for handholding. There’s a lot of change and things to figure out as we grow. That’s scary but also a big opportunity if you’re happy to take responsibility for your own journey and are open to being pushed in new directions that challenge and grow you.

    Canva2018-10-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    * Friendly, genuine people * Inclusiveness is observed strictly * There are good engineers, some with a wealth of life/work experience * A good working atmosphere with some genuine attitude towards accepting and sharing feedback, and promoting positive change to processes within the company * Very open to international people

    Cons

    * Due to the high growth nature of the company, a lot of processes / practices need to scale faster than possible, which causes process contention and stress in decision making * Engineers can be quite opinionated on tech choices / design

    Advice to Management

    * Perhaps spend a bit more money on training programs for management and employees, so that they can "grow into" the experts required for roles * Bring in more experts / staff to delegate work to.

    Canva2018-08-29
  10. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canva full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Huge attention to the code quality Great people to learn from and be inspired by A lot of people are talented in many ways: drawers, writers, singers, dancers, etc. Big chance to find like-minded friends here. Free yoga :) There is a vibe team! So we always have fun celebrations, good food and positive vibes

    Cons

    There is no office in Melbourne

    Canva2018-08-13
Found 62 reviews