Cedar Fair Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cedar Fair Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 204 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Cedar Fair CEO Richard Zimmerman (no image)
Richard Zimmerman
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You work long hours and housing is rundown(in 37 reviews)

  • "Keep in mind that this is seasonal work and that all of the entry-level positions are minimum wage(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Fair part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun job good friends within company

    Cons

    Too much work not enough pay

    Advice to Management

    Promote me

    Cedar Fair2019-07-23
  2. "it's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Cashier in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Fair part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    supervisors are all nice to us

    Cons

    lack of management, inefficient shift

    Cedar Fair2019-07-31
  3. "awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Fair part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i get to soak up the sun

    Cons

    stand in the sun all day

    Cedar Fair2019-06-04
  4. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Fair part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun times for haunt season

    Cons

    Bad management and inexperienced workers

    Advice to Management

    Better training to the teenage management roles

    Cedar Fair2019-04-24
  5. "Great place to work, especially if you are into the amusement park scene"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Fair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cedar Fair is a great place to sell because you are truly selling fun. The sales organization is great and is starting to raise it's game as far as culture. If you are in to amusement parks, it makes it much better. If you're into sales but no amusement parks, your tenure could be shorter that the latter.

    Cons

    A lot of the cons will be park specific. Bigger parks tend to have better support from leadership and from the employees you will deal with a day to day basis. Some of the systems are archaic, which can fit along with the culture depending on the park. The biggest obstacle in the field is status quo, which is the same struggle internally at some of the parks. I would encourage people to apply but I would make sure... to ask to ride in the field with a sales rep or do a thorough interview with the marketing leadership (which you will ultimately report to) prior to accepting the position. I would also make sure you understand the schedule you may be working before jumping in. I found at smaller parks, work/life balance isn't really a thing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Integrate sales into more facets at the park level. A lack of understanding from other departments about the important of sales and/or what sales does to impact the bottom life can hurt. There are "park people" and there are professionals. Having too many of the "park people" hurt the business model unfortunately. C-Suite team and other leadership embrace change but it doesn't translate down to a park level which... results in a lot of problems.

    Show More
    Cedar Fair2019-03-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Fair part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tons of great reasons to work for this company. You get great guest experience and meet people from all over the world

    Cons

    The pay rates are not competitive enough

    Cedar Fair2019-02-07
  7. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aquatics Lifeguard in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cedar Fair part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy scheduling, great pay, awesome management

    Cons

    Parking lot needs work at kings island

    Cedar Fair2019-02-07
  8. "Internal Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Cedar Fair for less than a year

    Pros

    very flexible and the job is independent

    Cons

    it's very good and the internship was really deserving.

    Cedar Fair2019-01-25
  9. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Associate in Vaughan, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cedar Fair part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long hours ,Free food occasionally,Fun

    Cons

    management is very unorganized short breaks

    Cedar Fair2019-01-28
  10. "good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cedar Fair part-time

    Pros

    fun, good people to work with

    Cons

    nothing that i can think of

    Cedar Fair2019-01-02
Found 204 reviews