Chandler Macleod Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Chandler Macleod Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chandler Macleod CEO Peter Acheson (no image)
Peter Acheson
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, large organisation with opportunity to grow(in 5 reviews)

  • "I was in a good team within the Brisbane office(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Progressive company, could not recommend enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chandler Macleod full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chandler’s diversity and inclusion is second to none, we are always given opportunities to help out the community - time off work to help the homeless, money donated for charity runs and support on what matters most etc. We are always recognised for great work, weekly nominations and winners, monthly awards, ability to nominate other employees (even if not a manager) and competitions that allow us to strive for... something great, San Fran holiday, Japan, large cash prizes etc. In my experience, leaders have always taken time to hear your ideas and we have recently just started doing more training, where we lacked slightly before we are picking up in again and it is very exciting. Those that align with Chander’s core values and have a team mindset will do great here, we do get busy and the pressure is there but anyone willing to step up and help another team, not have a ‘that is below me’ mindset during busy periods then you will grow and go amazingly. Most that leave not for career progression in other areas, generally do not align well and do better in a company that is less inclusive.

    Show More

    Cons

    Training has previously been lacking over the last year, though management has listened and this has changed, can’t see a real con at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going as you are, I have never worked in a company where management has been this reactive to what we need or want and where you don’t get treated like a naughty school kid. It’s great to be in a place where your opinion is valued.

    Chandler Macleod2018-05-14
  2. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chandler Macleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Environment was good - we worked hard to ensure that as a team we were having fun and good days even through the struggles

    Cons

    Management - management didn't really care about how the individuals were. Recruiters get burnt out in 2 years and they think its ok and gets a mind set that the recruiters couldn't hack it and not worth keeping anyways

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people and making their lives enjoyable and easy at work

    Chandler Macleod2019-09-05
  3. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chandler Macleod full-time

    Pros

    Great team culture, entry level salary

    Cons

    Nothing comes to my mind

    Chandler Macleod2019-08-14
  4. "Big pros and big cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chandler Macleod full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunity for work life balance Great team culture

    Cons

    Consultants aren’t incentivised properly. VERY poor commission structure Hardly any career advancements within the organisation Poor IT system. Very outdated.

    Chandler Macleod2019-07-22
  5. "Do yourself a favour and stay well away from this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chandler Macleod part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are very willing to take on grads and 'train them up'. As a result, they have lots of inexperienced consultants. The 'training' provided is very informal. It's a BYO lunch session, once a month.

    Cons

    They pay 15k+ below market rate... When I was attending interviews (after I left), other recruiters were appalled when I told them the rate I was on. Staff claim that the office banter is good... I've heard static on the radio that is more dynamic that what some of them dish up.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect. I worked in a role for over 3 years and contributed to growing the business unit by 82%. When I asked for a pay rise, it was drawn it out for months. They were not able to tell me what I needed to do differently, and what my new pay rate would be... I experienced some pretty rude behaviour by my line manager. She was very temperamental and cold-hearted. Basic common decency, like a... 'good morning' wouldn't have gone astray.

    Show More
    Chandler Macleod2019-08-03
  6. "Ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chandler Macleod full-time

    Pros

    Good company with decent culture. Systems were ok and processes in place. Good thing is that there's not too many bad things to say.

    Cons

    They work hard to keep you in one spot. Not much room for growth.

    Chandler Macleod2019-06-15
  7. "Good learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chandler Macleod full-time

    Pros

    Great way to learn the ropes of recruitment & HR

    Cons

    Job Conversion rate isn't high. Don't seem to have large repeat business

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved and provide more 1:1 support

    Chandler Macleod2019-05-08
  8. "Ok but not overly satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chandler Macleod

    Pros

    Nice office facilities, very centrally located, no expectation to work long hours.

    Cons

    Grossly underpaid compared to industry standards, zero perks, extremely slow career development.

    Chandler Macleod2019-05-14
  9. "Rec Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I worked at Chandler Macleod full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    well established support if you need it

    Cons

    low comms career development opps

    Chandler Macleod2019-04-01
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chandler Macleod full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great support for work

    Cons

    salary is low for what you do

    Advice to Management

    to promote people who deserve it

    Chandler Macleod2018-08-02
Found 72 reviews