Charles River Associates Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles River Associates Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 226 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Associates CEO Paul Maleh
Paul Maleh
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "work life balance is also better than typical consulting firms(in 28 reviews)

  • "Junior staff members are not over-staffed on projects(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and stressful deadlines(in 24 reviews)

  • "The hiring model for junior staff is largely based on hiring directly out of undergrad(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Engaging firm to work for as an internal admin member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great people, most upper management & VPs are a pleasure to work from, collegial and intelligent environment

    Cons

    Some of the VPs are full of themselves and very difficult to interact with

    Charles River Associates2017-09-20
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diversity and good learning opportunities

    Cons

    don't really have many problems

    Charles River Associates2019-09-12
  3. "I like CRA so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CRA's benefits package is good, and they care about employee satisfaction and development. CRA also has fantastic immigration support should you ever need it.

    Cons

    The interview process may be longer if you are an off-cycle hire. It took me more than 8 months to go through the whole process. Nonetheless, HR checked in with me regularly.

    Charles River Associates2019-08-12
  4. "Challenging & rewarding, but not for the faint hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible working (hours and ability to work from home) - Challenging and rewarding work - Dedication to employees' professional development - Great benefits package (including gym, health package and lots of free food!) - Friendly colleagues - Lots of group socials

    Cons

    - Long working hours at times, which can be stressful - I have had to cancel on personal plans in the past because of work. - A little male-dominated, but there are some great female leaders

    Advice to Management

    - Encourage diversity outside of the same Oxbridge crowd - Better recognition for staff who go the extra mile

    Charles River Associates2019-06-25
  5. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office culture is the best reason to work here. You have the opportunity to work on a diverse range of projects and have the chance to travel.

    Cons

    There can be unpredictable hours occasionally

    Advice to Management

    Provide more freedom of choice for staffing

    Charles River Associates2019-06-25
  6. "Interesting work and good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Sciences Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is interesting and engaging; juniors are given high levels of responsibility early on and good training; good team environment; good social culture among colleagues

    Cons

    Occasionally long and unpredictable hours

    Charles River Associates2019-06-25
  7. "Excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends

    I worked at Charles River Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bosses and colleagues. The projects were very interesting at the time.

    Cons

    Well, when the work ballooned we could not hire enough associates as quickly as we needed. But the problem was solved.

    Charles River Associates2019-06-05
  8. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time

    Pros

    colleagues are very nice

    Cons

    office is a little bit far away

    Charles River Associates2019-06-04
  9. "CRA is a great place to learn and to grow in a supportive collegial environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Projects are exciting and diverse, ranging from small to large pharma. The work is fast paced and dynamic. Colleagues are smart and motivated and willing to share their knowledge. The Practice operates as an apprenticeship model so your colleagues teach you what you need to do and information is constantly circulating. We also have specialized training that you receive to learn about consulting and certain more... specialized skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a Senior Associate, the apprenticeship model can work a bit against you on the project management aspect. You have to learn a lot of the administrative components on your own and bug senior people to teach you the best way to manage this aspect. Also since we have a multi-project model it can make it a little complicated to take vacation time, you can't always plan in advance.

    Charles River Associates2019-06-14
  10. "Analyst intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Associates full-time

    Pros

    -The team is great and the focus is not only on getting the job done but also on getting you to develop new skills and knowledge -Constructive feedback- There is a mentorship culture in the office ! It is great if you count with someone that is willing to help you grow professionally and is capable to clarify questions so that you understand everything and stay motivated to find out more -I was positively... surprised with the fact that all senior members were approachable and willing to listen to you and share their insights -You really get to know how to communicate the value of a product, from wording to presentation -Sweet, savory and healthy snacks are available for all the team members

    Show More

    Cons

    -Nothing that I can think of at the moment

    Charles River Associates2019-05-21
Found 226 reviews