Charles Schwab Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles Schwab Intern Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab CEO Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
19 Ratings
  1. "great company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Finance Intern in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture and community involvement

    Cons

    can't really think of any cons here

    Charles Schwab2019-06-17
  2. "Great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    fair compensation, great attitudes, and professional environment.

    Cons

    the internship wasnt geared for a full time position offer.

    Charles Schwab2019-04-22
  3. "Everyone drinks the kool-aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Management Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee benefits, friendly and supportive company culture.

    Cons

    You are expected to complete a great deal of work outside the workplace on your own time. Salaries are comparatively lower than other financial services firms. Compensation does not take cost of living in to account.

    Advice to Management

    When giving financial presentations to employees, make sure the examples reflect employee's actual, not aspirational, salaries and expenses.

    Charles Schwab2019-01-25
  4. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Charles Schwab

    Pros

    Great culture, access to all levels of management, everyone is super nice (seriously, everyone), management genuinely cares about employees

    Cons

    No additional perks like catered lunch or free gym membership

    Charles Schwab2018-08-30
  5. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive environment and culture where people are willing to help you learn. Access to the Bloomberg Terminal while working for the securities lending department in San Francisco

    Cons

    Stresses work life balance and at times is not the most demanding. Could be periods of light work.

    Advice to Management

    Have more collaborative projects for intern groups. Otherwise, keep the intern academy going strong!

    Charles Schwab2017-12-06
  6. "Great Company, Slightly Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at the company truly is so open to talking to interns and sharing their experiences. Schwab offers outstanding compensation for interns and the opportunity to network with people very high up in the company if you are willing to reach out. Company culture is all about teamwork and "knowing your strengths," and it is very easy for intern classes to form close friendships.

    Cons

    In my experience, it seemed that many employees and interns were in roles that were so specific they would get extremely tedious. Personally, my work as a marketing intern was more or less a role that anyone could have done and I was not given enough work to occupy that majority of my time.

    Advice to Management

    Trust that your interns can handle more responsibility.

    Charles Schwab2017-11-14
  7. "Great Intern Academy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns are treated better than full-time employees. Good Pay. They have the intention of hiring you.

    Cons

    Interns are either overworked or have nothing to do.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in more guest speakers for the academy events. Better preparation for those

    Charles Schwab2017-10-16
  8. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern Marketing in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is second to none.

    Cons

    Many different business areas makes role overwhelming at times.

    Charles Schwab2017-06-28
  9. "Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    They invest a tremendous amount in their interns, I felt that the professional development efforts were excellent and beneficial to all of us. Overall my experience was really positive.

    Cons

    My manager was in a different state, and at that stage in my career I would have benefited from a more hands on mentor. Additionally, I experienced some unfortunate moments of sexist behavior. However, that behavior was from other interns, not full time employees.

    Advice to Management

    I probably wouldn't start interns with managers in different time zones. It's also important that supervisors have an interest in developing their interns, it didn't really feel that that was the case for me.

    Charles Schwab2016-11-01
  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    Work culture is open door. All employees from security to Vice Presidents will say hi and talk to you.

    Cons

    The company is highly regulated.

    Advice to Management

    Management is great in persons.

    Charles Schwab2016-08-16
Found 26 reviews