Charles Schwab Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles Schwab Project Manager Reviews

Updated 11 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab CEO Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Shareholders are king"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are still good. Work/life balance is excellent. I do enjoy the people I work with, very collegial. The projects I work on are generally enjoyable as well.

    Cons

    The biggest con by far is Shareholders are valued way too much, the hierarchy is a mess. Trickle down economics at its worst. Vacation time, although good, could be better, capped once you hit 10 years.

    Advice to Management

    Correct hierarchy should be: Clients, employees, then non-employee shareholders. And if you can’t fix the hierarchy work hard to better balance the value returned to shareholders and employees.

    Charles Schwab2019-02-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place, Average Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Work Life Balance, Flexibility, Benefits are ok.

    Cons

    Salary is sub-par. Get aligned with the rest of Denver. You say you are, you clearly are not.

    Advice to Management

    Chuck rules. More face time in Denver.

    Charles Schwab2018-04-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Technical Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schwab is one of the best places to work as far as providing fundamental benefits. They’ll never short change you.

    Cons

    Favoritism is a key factor in upward mobility. You may outperform your peers, but if you’re not with the in-crowd, you’re out of luck.

    Charles Schwab2018-01-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Business Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Lone Tree, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, intelligent employees, respected company

    Cons

    Some departments are hit or miss with respect to good managers. Reorgs are continuous, employees moved to different groups, and job types with no consideration for individual's intended career path. Small cubes in noisy cube-farm spaces for all job types below Director.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees about their career plans before moving then to other groups. What is up with your work from home policy? When a lot of us sit all day on WebEx calls with associates all over the US, why do we have to be in a noisy cube-farm office and need VP approval to work remotly?

    Charles Schwab2017-11-24
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Glorified and spineless meeting schedulers wanted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a project manager at Charles Schwab you will get to work on a variety of projects and with many people across the organization. You shouldn't get bored. Having worked with a number of teams outside of the Project Services group, I observed a general culture/attitude amongst Schwabies - a proud, driven, team-spirited, get-things-done attitude. I've worked with some highly-driven individuals and learned things from them....

    Show More

    Cons

    My rating is based entirely on working as a Project Manager in Project Services at Charles Schwab. The upper management in this group consists mostly of individuals who have somehow made an entire career at Schwab and are now in a position of power. They're toward the end of their careers and care only about themselves, not the people working for them. They've created a toxic environment for those that care and take pride...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A major shake-up or disbandment of the Project Services group is needed, perhaps where business teams take on the project management function.

    Charles Schwab2017-03-21
  6. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You will work very hard and learn a lot. The firm really does care about its clients and supports employees to deliver great service.

    Cons

    Like most large companies, initiatives are rolled out sometimes before they are fully ready.

    Charles Schwab2017-02-11
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company with Declining Investment in California/Home State"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, collegial atmosphere, strong client focus. It was a good place to work, until the unit I was in moved to a structure that enforced back channel communication

    Cons

    Limited advancement, Company is not invested in a California location. They have consolidated SF footprint from 6 buildings to 1 in my tenure. I give it 3-5 years before they exit California entirely. All the signs are there. I also have reason to believe that I was treated poorly due to disability I acquired during my tenure there. Certainly, my management told me point blank that accommodation was not possible....I...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get real about where you are doing business. Pay attention to the reviews that say that advancement opportunity

    Charles Schwab2016-12-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Project Services was Dismal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits and beautiful campus

    Cons

    Although the management team stated that they were looking for entrepreneurial types, they were really more interested in the status quo. The team lacks innovation and is formed by clock punchers. So many people come in and leave the department, it feels like a train station. The Denver location was less engaged than a group that was facing layoffs. That says a lot!

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be restructured from the top down.

    Charles Schwab2016-08-27
  9. "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The only ethical financial services company Nice people

    Cons

    Have to be really nice to get work done. Takes time to gain consensus. Will mostly work with distributed teams across Denver, Austin, SF and other sites. Lower than average pay and few promotions to Director and above.

    Advice to Management

    Pay to keep talent

    Charles Schwab2016-03-17
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Disillusioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in El Cerrito, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits, 401K matching.

    Cons

    Corporate culture went from great to terrible with the ascension of Walt Bettinger and his cronies. It's all about the bottom line. Upper management, from the top down to VP level and some Directors manage up without respect for senior and regular staff. When I joined, the culture was based upon an equal footing of technology, employee engagement, and the bottom line. Now it's only about revenue.

    Advice to Management

    People are not just sacks of meat filling up office space.

    Charles Schwab2015-11-30
Found 39 reviews