Charles Schwab Relationship Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles Schwab Relationship Specialist Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab CEO Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
34 Ratings
  1. "Great starting point. Unsure about long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support for Licensing. Hands on experience Ability to move to other parts of the company Brand is positive Very conservative firm which is a pro and a con

    Cons

    Moving to another role is easier said than done Multiple re-org's going on right now. Baptism by fire for many roles with no training. Pay always seems to be 20% below competition. Too many people complacent with staying in the same position for 20 years

    Charles Schwab2019-11-20
  2. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the company culture, and I can see a clear pathway for advancing my career. Another plus, the people in my office are so easy to get along with and you can really tell that they love their jobs, as well.

    Cons

    Most of the positions are hourly, so there is a little less flexibility on when you come and go.

    Charles Schwab2019-11-12
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Relationship Specialist 

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time

    Pros

    great culture and lots of opportunities

    Cons

    pays less than most competitors

    Charles Schwab2019-11-07
  4. "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Specialist in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome local leadership and support

    Cons

    no flexibility for new moms

    Charles Schwab2019-10-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to have on your resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Relationship Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to get industry certified

    Cons

    work you like a dog

    Charles Schwab2019-10-23
  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always will have a job in the industry, good job, reputable company

    Cons

    Clients can be frustrating, normal customer service downs, management doesn't care about anyone who isn't a FC

    Advice to Management

    Give more attention to non-FC staff

    Charles Schwab2019-10-06
  7. "Decent Place to Get Qualifications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Specialist in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are opportunities to get multiple licenses and certifications which are great resume builders to make good money. The people that work here are great and want to see you succeed in your career. There is a lot to learn about the financial industry that can also be useful in your career as well as in life.

    Cons

    It's a very demanding environment. There are constant calls from advisors that are asking questions that require research consistently everyday and it just never stops. It gets mind numbing how busy it can get so the workload is excessive. The pay is really low given what is asked of you on a daily basis and they've "stiffed" me on a raise several times while still asking me to do more work.

    Advice to Management

    If you want employees to be happy make sure the pay is sufficient for the responsibility. It's insulting to continue to pile work on someone, tell them they're doing a great job, and then flat out ignore inquiries about raises/ promotions.

    Charles Schwab2019-10-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Clickish environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Specialist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and ok benefits.

    Cons

    Very clickish and more of a mans world. Things change daily and training was not the best. Hard to keep up and give the right answers.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better training and updates frequently. Make everyone feel welcome and hire more women.

    Charles Schwab2019-08-18
  9. "Industry is changing and becoming more competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Relationship Specialist in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer fair pay and decent benefits

    Cons

    There is a continuous change of responsibilities

    Advice to Management

    More to the Director level, allow managers more authority to manage their teams. If more responsibility is being added to roles, compensation should reflect new responsibilities.

    Charles Schwab2019-08-02
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Overworked / Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture, friendly environment, everyone is quick to assist if you need it. Also, Schwab used to have a program where they pay for you to get your series 7 and 63, and they put you through a 5 week course where they actually pay you to come to work and study. That is no longer a benefit that they offer though, so this is more of a con.

    Cons

    The position is a grind, simply put. It is essentially a call center position where you sit down and take call after call day after day. For the amount of stress that comes with the position, the pay has to be more than it is. There is no incentive to stay in Advisor Services, other than paying your bills. The position is high turnover, and there's no mystery why.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay. Simple as that. Not many people want to work in Advisor Services, so at least provide an incentive to hang on for a little while longer. Also, something as simple as longer than a 30 minute lunch. With as stressful as the position is, it wouldn't hurt to limit the micro managing and allow your employees to eat for longer than 30 minutes. Maybe provide enough time for a breath of fresh air and to go... to a local restaurant rather than be forced to eat at the cafeteria.

    Show More
    Charles Schwab2019-07-25
Found 46 reviews