Charles Schwab Relationship Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles Schwab Relationship Specialist Reviews

Updated 24 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab CEO Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
28 Ratings
  1. "Great Work Environment. Barriers to Entry High."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Specialist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Client base is strong and involved with the company. Mangement is the core of the strength of the company. Always felt encouraged to suceed and ask questions.

    Cons

    Series 7 and Series 66 Requirement. Can be extremely demanding if you work in a busy branch.

    Advice to Management

    Excellent

    Charles Schwab2019-05-25
  2. "Sr. Client Relationship Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Relationship Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office environment, benefits, company match

    Cons

    No flexible schedule; banking hours

    Charles Schwab2019-05-13
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Specialist in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful benefits and supervisor

    Cons

    Contingency to employment is not a good idea after 90 days of being invested to the company.

    Charles Schwab2019-03-11
  4. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience right out of college, learn a lot, great company to work for if you want experience

    Cons

    "locked in" to a department for a few years

    Advice to Management

    make it easier to advance if you have the knowledge and capability

    Charles Schwab2019-02-20
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Miss Chuck and the good ol days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They will pay for your licenses (then you should leave). Nice people

    Cons

    Constant need of management to be loved No longer feels like Chuck's company as the culture has changed a lot. CEO is big penny pincher. New workflow processes are a nightmare and clients feel it. I would use them to get a license then move on. That is what most people do now. It was unwise of me to stay for 20 years. It's just a job.

    Advice to Management

    Enough of the do you love me agenda or convincing employees how great you are as an employer. If you have to keep on saying it, you are not. Hire actual leaders and not "managers". There is a huge difference. Too many kids in charge

    Charles Schwab2019-02-01
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Estate Relationship Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estate Relationship Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average compensation and good cafeteria onsite.

    Cons

    Management in the Estate division lacks people skills, plays favorites and could care less about developing its staff. Call center environment where reps are micromanaged and treated like children.

    Advice to Management

    Put your management staff in Estates through management training to teach them people skills, coaching and training staff, and how to develop and positively motivate staff!

    Charles Schwab2018-12-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Gem of a culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Good Benefits (6% matching, instant vesting) Culture Empowered Workforce

    Cons

    Unclear expectations High Turnover of entry level roles

    Charles Schwab2018-11-07
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Glorified Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perhaps the benefits. But thats about it.

    Cons

    Are you interested in working in a glorified call center then this is your place. Severely underpaid for the workload expected.

    Charles Schwab2018-06-25
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Relationship Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Relationship Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Culture Ability to attain licenses Series 7, 63, 9 & 10

    Cons

    Pay is extremely low for level of work you accomplish everyday. Upward movement in Advisor Services is very single tract minded you can only be a team lead or manager most times teams are so low staffed that the incentives are placed to keep you on. Leadership has a very outdated business model in play that worked in the 90s but is very outdated for current market trends. Empowering employees to seek other positions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your loyal employees a lot more, Stop single track upward mobility and empower your employees to move in other departments and support them in their journey. There is a lot of talk of what is to come, but very little execution.

    Charles Schwab2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (13)

    "It’s used to be way better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Relationship Specialist in Maitland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the people still have a brain. But the number is getting lower and lower every week. I can’t think of any other pros

    Cons

    Those that do have a brain are quickly overshadowed (and outnumbered) by those that don’t have a brain. Complete disconnect of the company brand VS managing directors expectations VS reality

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your service “professionals” we are literally drowning! Your expectations of us are though the roof! Pay your people more and make them WANT to stay instead of burning them out with little pay. I truly hope it will get better but with our current directors and vp I highly doubt it

    Charles Schwab2018-03-03
Found 36 reviews