Charles Schwab Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles Schwab Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab CEO Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
1,351 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dealing with call center clients can be very challenging(in 117 reviews)

  • "leadership and upper management for great Schwab (not immediate managers) weren't transparent(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equity Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of great people and opportunities within many ares of finance.

    Cons

    Like any large, conservative company, things can move a bit slower than is ideal.

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to expand the business more outside of domestic US operations.

    Charles Schwab2019-08-03
  2. "Would work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Client and employee driven. Great place to work.

    Cons

    They could pay more to the superstars.

    Charles Schwab2013-01-30
  3. "Great Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative 

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time

    Pros

    Great training and a fantastic start for someone interested in a career in finance.

    Cons

    Not many options for movement outside of CS&S.

    Charles Schwab2019-12-05
  4. "Associate Financial Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment, paid well for position, good benefits including matching 401k. Training and support provided.

    Cons

    Moving toward a much more aggressive sales culture. Salesforce allows you to be micro managed.

    Advice to Management

    Need to figure out your business model instead of new initiatives every month. Don’t risk straying away from what made you a successful company in the first place.

    Charles Schwab2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid - think twice! Good at surface, but questionable management style."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Westlake, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At surface, the company culture looks great and people are nice and pleasant.

    Cons

    There are many group clicks. Lack of training and unclear expectations. Highly competitive and they see it as a strength, so expect to be thrown under the bus for other's personal advancement.

    Advice to Management

    With all the transition out of CA, there are many managers feeling threatened with new hires. Embrace new ideas coming into the organization, consider new ways of improving old processes and give those long term leaders tools on how to embrace change. A few months into the organization, I was told there was limited advancement and little opportunity to move up.

    Charles Schwab2019-12-02
  6. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist, Correspondence Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very inclusive environment. They give you every chance to succeed, even if you didn't come from a financial background. Benefits we're good, quarterly bonus advances and yearly bonuses every year I was there were phenomenal. There were also awards (financial, restricted stock, etc) for going above an beyond. Teammates were extremely helpful (I wasn't from finance) as well. Managers on the phone teams are typically... very good at developing and helping you get to where you want to go. Clients are typically nice as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with all companies, there is politics on the inside. Career opportunities are good, but only at certain centers (basically any outside Indy). Technology is a little limited on the bank side. Career progression is good at first since you can quickly move up ...but once you hit the roo of this career progression you hit a "wall" so to speak. Theres nothing after it.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to listen to the feedback generated by your reps....also, keep an eye out on the rest of the competitor's technology and capabilities do you don't fall behind

    Charles Schwab2019-11-20
  7. "Good place overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Financial Services Representative 

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time

    Pros

    No complain aside from dealing with clients that weren't sure what they were asking for.

    Cons

    Specify the daily duties of the job more clearly before hiring.

    Charles Schwab2019-11-20
  8. "Great starting point. Unsure about long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support for Licensing. Hands on experience Ability to move to other parts of the company Brand is positive Very conservative firm which is a pro and a con

    Cons

    Moving to another role is easier said than done Multiple re-org's going on right now. Baptism by fire for many roles with no training. Pay always seems to be 20% below competition. Too many people complacent with staying in the same position for 20 years

    Charles Schwab2019-11-20
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a good culture of caring about their employees and clients

    Cons

    None - loved my time here

    Charles Schwab2019-11-18
  10. "Great Entry Level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Participant Services Representative in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great entry level position for those looking for their first career step our first job out of college. You learn skills necessary to be successful in any job.

    Cons

    Little flexibility in daily schedule.

    Charles Schwab2019-12-01
Found 2317 reviews