Charles Schwab Reviews

Updated 24 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab President and Chief Executive Officer Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
1,420 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Somewhat political with its structure

    Charles Schwab2020-04-08
  2. "Good Career Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large company with lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Requires a lot of personal effort to advance. While there are a lot of programs if your direct leader is not aware of them it is up to you to navigate the career path alone.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-04-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Overall great, Coronavirus response concerning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    All my managers have been super friendly and approachable. Generous pay, but after working there for a long period of time.

    Cons

    The lack of preparedness to the Coronavirus outbreak is very concerning. Only a very small portion of the company has the ability to work from home. We are told that the remote servers can't even handle just that small handful of people working from home all at once. While other firms are mass working from home those of us with the capability to do so are being told not to. Front end client UI is shiny but lacking. Internal technology has constant issues, crashes, multiple systems work in only one varying web browser (need two web browsers open at all times).

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-03-18
  4. "Great place to be an Advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are helping clients with many of their needs

    Cons

    You can make more and charge more at other financial institutions.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-04-05
  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Content Specialist in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are good people at Schwab.

    Cons

    It's a big company, so new ideas are welcome, but you can't always get traction with them.

    Charles Schwab2020-04-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anti-Money Laundering Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great leadership, ability to make a change, culture, ability to move around within the company, really prioritize helping employees with their financial future

    Cons

    work from home is limited, a little low in pay, benefits are average

    Charles Schwab2020-04-02
  7. "Great place to work and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Communications Specialist in Westlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Attention to detail, clean work environment

    Cons

    New construction everywhere. Features frequently broken.

    Charles Schwab2020-03-29
  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Client Service Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and environment are amazing. Nothing that is over the top or micro-managing.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Overall an amazing company.

    Charles Schwab2020-03-28
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry leader in all facets of wealth management

    Cons

    Compensation plan changes and benefits were lacking

    Charles Schwab2020-03-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Leave now"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits right away

    Cons

    They hire anyone that applies because there’s so much turnover and they need to replace them so much

    Charles Schwab2020-05-01
Found 2442 reviews