Charles Schwab Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Charles Schwab Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2378 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab CEO Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
1383 Ratings
  1. "Great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab

    Pros

    Professional growth is strongly encouraged

    Cons

    Change is sometimes slow due to long tenured staff

    Charles Schwab2019-07-16
  2. "Great place for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good people, sabbatical program, ESPP

    Cons

    promotions are based less on performance and more on making specific candidacy numbers

    Advice to Management

    Hire and promote based on merit instead of physiological traits

    Charles Schwab2019-07-28
  3. "Senior Staff - Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stable company Friendly people Not very high work pressure Work life balance Campus is good Employee friendly

    Cons

    Highly bureaucratic environment To slow to move in new technologies Lot of politics Very less to learn in the new technologies They are way behind than the most technology firms. Career growth can be super slow. Average pay.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees who gives more ideas rather than just showing your own supremacy. Invest in people and they will pay you back in terms of the work efficiency. I won’t come back in this company if I have better options to learn and grow .

    Charles Schwab2019-07-28
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer focused. They really care about their customers which in turn creates long term happy customers.

    Cons

    Salary is mid range and could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Charles Schwab2019-07-12
  5. "Big company with family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab for less than a year

    Pros

    They invest in their people in terms of learning and training as well as benefits.

    Cons

    Large company, so inherently red tape and politics.

    Charles Schwab2019-07-09
  6. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Lonetree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very great work environment for a college student Interns are given a lot of opportunities to shadow current employees and learn from them

    Cons

    I only wish I could have had the opportunity to rotate to different departments and work with them

    Charles Schwab2019-07-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Solid company and great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very inclusive, focused on diversity, with great compensation for strong performing leaders (bonus, stock and options). Other ways to maximize earning potential like Employee stock purchase, etc. Large facilities have lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    Very slow to change. Everything needs a committee and seems to lose sight of what it’s good at.

    Advice to Management

    Stop building technology... be good at custody specialization and create services for tech companies that know how to build. Look within for how to improve our service model. We don’t need a company like Makenzie to tell us how to provide good service. All those answers were already within the walls. Finally, we’ll done is always bette than well said. Stop placing those with opinions over those that can actually...

    Show More
    Charles Schwab2019-06-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding experience with a lot of opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Oracle Database Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very skilled team of creative people who collaborate and innovate to deliver leading edge technical solutions.

    Cons

    While San Francisco is retaining some technical jobs, most have moved out of SF.

    Charles Schwab2019-06-30
  9. "Charles Schwab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Income opportunity and work environment

    Cons

    Market swings and client nerves

    Charles Schwab2019-07-04
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture of innovation and giving back to the community

    Cons

    Old time off policy and old flex work policy

    Charles Schwab2019-07-02
Found 2378 reviews