Chevron Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chevron Chairman and CEO Mike Wirth
Mike Wirth
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Chevron full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance, Job Collaboration, Culture, Reliability, Relatable

    Cons

    PMP Process, Work Load, Travel

    Chevron2020-01-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Hard to impossible to move up"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've enjoyed working here and am thankful that Chevron has paid for much of my training and education. Benefits are good and they have done a good job with progressive programs like M.A.R.C that has allowed for employees at all levels to have open, candid and supposedly "safe" conversations around bias thinking, non-inclusionary practices, and other adverse type of topics that have historically been swept under the carpet. It's a program that ideally will help with molding a better culture that will eliminate the "good 'ol boy" mentality in Oil & Gas industry.

    Cons

    Current internal hiring process/career development programs are not as inclusionary as it could be, specifically within the IT world. Too many "badly behaving" managers are being promoted and allowed to continue to bully or mistreat their direct reports. If you're an admin and have a brain and want to get promoted, stay away from the IT groups here.

    Continue reading
    Chevron2019-10-10
  3. "No Career Growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Administrative Assistant in Lagos

    I have been working at Chevron for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good work environment in terms of work hours, beneficial to women, a good place to raise a family while working

    Cons

    No career growth for contractors, contractors are seen as inferior to full-time employees, pay disparity between contractors and employees too wide

    Continue reading
    Chevron2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron for less than a year

    Pros

    Chevron is a premiere company that stands by all of it's company values especially safety. When a manager believes in you and has high expectations of your work in a positive way, you learn, grow and you become a better employee/contractor.

    Cons

    working as a contractor; It would have been nice to have been hired on as an employee. Even as a contractor, I was proud to work there.

    Continue reading
    Chevron2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best companies I have ever worked for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are great. Good atmosphere.

    Cons

    No real career path for administrative assistants.

    Continue reading
    Chevron2017-05-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chevron for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and great benefits.

    Cons

    They don't hire their contractors.

    Chevron2016-08-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Administrative Assistant in Lost Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron for less than a year

    Pros

    Reliable, office environment. Chevron takes care of its employees through benefits and team building events, including quarterly BBQ.

    Cons

    A regular 9 to 5 job, very steady but not challenging.

    Chevron2016-07-11
  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Covington, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron

    Pros

    Every other Friday off Great atmosphere to work in

    Cons

    Currently experiencing Layoffs where they are losing lots of great employees.

    Chevron2015-10-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Quick"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The long term benefits are amazing - and most of the people you meet are really good people.

    Cons

    The company does what a company does - downsizes in the face of a disaster and forgets their employees are human.

    Continue reading
    Chevron2015-08-25
  10. "eProcurement Specialsi"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic Benefits, world class safety culture, numerous growth opportunities both within Operating Companies and globally, diversity of colleagues, Chevron Way attitudes

    Cons

    Being a very large corporation, sometimes there is a feeling of disconnect between the Operating Companies. Different human resources policies from location to location - it should be more uniform

    Continue reading
    Chevron2015-07-04
Found 25 reviews