Chevron Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Chevron Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Chevron CEO Mike Wirth
Mike Wirth
15 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    worklife balance, safety culture, respective, diversity, truly global opportunities

    Cons

    restructures are not uncommon especially with how oil companies are performing generally today

    Chevron2019-08-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Shore Base Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Responsibility and access to training and development

    Cons

    Oil under $30 is driving the employment hard and distorts oppertunities

    Chevron2016-02-12
  3. "Well Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Well Site Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and resources. Very team driven. Leadership is always making good decisions.

    Cons

    Work life balance for field employees.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on talent and not credentials.

    Chevron2019-10-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company with slow to change management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary and Benefits on par with other oil and gas companies, good work like balance, lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Management can be extremely slow to make any decisions. Extremely risk adverse. many times managers will defer decisions to higher levels of management that are clearly in their responsibility.

    Advice to Management

    Take a good evaluation of middle management and clear out some of those who are not willing to do the job and make decisions for their role.

    Chevron2019-09-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Chevron was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, work was sometimes interesting and fulfilling. I was able to have a long-term career with one (merged several times) company in a time when most people I knew kept a job for less than 3 years.

    Cons

    Many parts of the company restructure every 18 or so months, so it was always uncertain if you would have a job or what that job might entail. Very long and demanding work days, and some truly terrible bosses were allowed to change things in a whim. Since the bosses were new to their job every 18 months, no consistency of direction, just consistent values and rigorous business and safety practices.

    Advice to Management

    Have someone keeping a closer eye on the high potentials being pushed up through the system. I left the to a terrible boss (in a "development" assignment) that she was not capable of and no sponsorship after a 20+ year career as a high performer.

    Chevron2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Chevron doesn't support the employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not many that I can think of.

    Cons

    Company does not promote people and does not encourage innovation or creativity. Too rooted in working processes rather than getting results.

    Chevron2019-08-30
  7. "Materials and Welding Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Singapore
    Recommends

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent team spirit; High emphasis on HSE; Autonomy

    Cons

    Right sizing when the project is completed

    Chevron2019-07-08
  8. "Times are changing in CNL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Engineering Manager in Lagos
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting varied multicultural diverse workforce

    Cons

    Lack of investment is hindering growth

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to improve investment opportunities

    Chevron2019-06-27
  9. "Excellent working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Culturally diverse environment - The company worries about your professional development

    Cons

    - Some managers may not care too much about their employees

    Chevron2019-06-25
  10. "Very well run organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are valued at Chevron

    Cons

    People stay there for ever

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Chevron2019-06-18
Found 167 reviews