Chevron Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Chevron Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2427 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Chevron CEO Mike Wirth
Mike Wirth
156 Ratings
  1. "Work experience on Wheatstone Upstream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chevron

      Pros

      I worked for Chevron in their Perth office in Western Australia and it was a great place to work. The vibe was relaxed yet professional and most line managers were appraochable and I felt I learned a lot from my direct supervisors. The organization is social and promotes a good work/life balance such as a CWW where you work a 9 day fortnight so every other weekend is a long weekend. The company taked personal health seriously...

      Show More

      Cons

      As with many companies in the oil & gas sector, contractors make up a large portion of their workforce. I think the ratio in Perth was 70:30, 70% of people being contractors working on a day rate. This meant that opportunity for career growth was limited and contractors also don't receive benefits than full time employees receive. Also contractors don't get paid if they go on vacation or take a sick day.

      Advice to Management

      My experience with the management team was a positive on. Most of th managers on my floor were appraochable and willing to share their experience with you. Overall, I had a goos experience with the management on my floor.

      Chevron2015-08-13
    • "Very family friendly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      They support an amazing work-life balance

      Cons

      They value mobility for advancement so may have to relocate

      Chevron2015-07-22
    • "Good employer, some top-heavy management issues."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chevron for more than a year

      Pros

      Really took good care of their workers, and contractors were included in that. Safety is drilled into you at every level, inductions and training are at a high level. Multiple kitchens/great coffee machines/water on every floor. Good building locations within striking distance of good eateries for staff. Micro-breaks and quick exercise for office staff, you may laugh, (as I once did) but that stuff works. Upper...

      Show More

      Cons

      As contractors, we were subjected to a high level of micro-management, but that was largely our org doing it. Stressful doesn't really describe it, miss a KPI, or make a minor mistake and it would be brought up in the weekly meeting for all to see. Demoralising. Not Chevron's fault really, but I wonder if they ever marvelled at our results, and wondered how we got those numbers. Contractors are subject to two sets of...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Go on a world tour, maybe as mystery shoppers, get your people out there observing, and find those departments that are dysfunctional and make the required changes. Keep encouraging contractors, they are the life-blood of many companies. Improve your IT security.

      Chevron2015-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Overall Chevron is a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The 9 day fortnight is excessive but attractive to those who don't live to work. The structure in terms of career development and progression is first class. The safety culture is a bit over the top for office personnel, but I guess it has created a strong sense of shared values.

      Cons

      There is an air of snobbery from some of the employees to their contractor counterparts. They are hung up on having a degree and therefore miss out on a lot of talented personnel. There are too many layers of management.

      Advice to Management

      it's hard to give advice to management as they do a great job overall.

      Chevron2015-01-16
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chevron

      Pros

      It is a great work life balance

      Cons

      No cons, very good place

      Chevron2014-12-31
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      work-life balance, focus on the health and well-being of employees, renumeration

      Cons

      process, some parts of the office culture

      Advice to Management

      none

      Chevron2014-10-08
    • "Overall a good experience."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chevron full-time

      Pros

      Very large company with a focus on retaining good performers. Excellent training and other resources to develop empoyees. Very large projects and budgets so there is opportunity to really make a difference.

      Cons

      Can be very slow for decisions to be made, with decisions often pushed up to high levels. Can be very siloed with limited communication between different groups working on the same job.

      Advice to Management

      Empower lower level managers to make decisions. Promote more internal communication withing projects and between departments.

      Chevron2014-08-13
    • "Big Project work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Chevron

      Pros

      good money.. experience in this project gives a great value in the resume..RDO is really nice!

      Cons

      long hours.. BWI weather is very hot

      Chevron2014-03-07
    • "like to work for company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Chevron

        Pros

        good company, good salary,can work life time

        Cons

        cant say anything for cons really

        Chevron2014-02-12
      • "Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good management systems. Caring company. Stable with potential growth.

        Cons

        Poor career prospects particularly if you joined at a lower pay level. Good place for 'dollars for turning up' workers - lots of inertia to move anything forward.

        Advice to Management

        Career development is good only if it helps employee move towards their goals.

        Chevron2013-11-06
      Found 2427 reviews