Chevron "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Chevron Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2429 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Chevron CEO Mike Wirth
Mike Wirth
159 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance for office jobs

    Cons

    Muddled org structure, slow career progression

    Chevron2018-05-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chevron

    Pros

    Good pay, good work life balance.

    Cons

    Constant retrenchments and reorganisations due to the slump in oil and gas.

    Chevron2017-03-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Benefits are limited for contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Administrative 

    I worked at Chevron

    Pros

    Good work life balance, and high salary.

    Cons

    Outside of the high salary, benefits for contracted employees are limited and employee support systems such as performance development are not available.

    Chevron2017-03-15
  4. "Good company, culture - challenging times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance - Smart, proactive and driven people - Good compensation (though has called recently) - Compressed work week system is great

    Cons

    - Limited opportunity for growth ATM due to challenges in the industry - compensation has fallen recently and have been through a few redundancies. - Hard to progress without and expat assignment. - performance managent process depends more on who's representing you rather than your performance

    Advice to Management

    - Need to make minor changes to performance management. -

    Chevron2017-02-03
  5. "Good Ethical Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Petrophysicist in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diversified portfolio. Good work life balance. Lot of opportunity to move up and around the word. Good company to work for a long term career. Good training program. Safety is not just a lip service, they take it seriously.

    Cons

    Big company and a lot of red tape. Too many unnecessary process creates inefficiency specially in Major projects. Total compensation is an average for the industry.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Chevron2016-10-17
  6. "Installation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chevron

    Pros

    Great work life balance, experienced teams, focused on delivery

    Cons

    Conflicting requirements between stakeholders, often driven by H&SE

    Chevron2016-08-29
  7. "Assistant Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Accountant in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron

    Pros

    Work life balance is just excellent work 8 to 5:30 and get every other Friday off

    Cons

    Not cons really other than due to oil prices going down company is reducing cost (making people redundant)

    Chevron2015-11-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company with world class safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Improvement Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company for learning new process, multicultural environment, great work life balance, safety focus, team recognition, energetic worksorce, dynamic leadership

    Cons

    supervisor driven, lack of long term career, big difference between expat and local pay structure

    Advice to Management

    Management should be fair on communication

    Chevron2015-10-22
  9. "Work experience on Wheatstone Upstream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chevron

      Pros

      I worked for Chevron in their Perth office in Western Australia and it was a great place to work. The vibe was relaxed yet professional and most line managers were appraochable and I felt I learned a lot from my direct supervisors. The organization is social and promotes a good work/life balance such as a CWW where you work a 9 day fortnight so every other weekend is a long weekend. The company taked personal health seriously...

      Show More

      Cons

      As with many companies in the oil & gas sector, contractors make up a large portion of their workforce. I think the ratio in Perth was 70:30, 70% of people being contractors working on a day rate. This meant that opportunity for career growth was limited and contractors also don't receive benefits than full time employees receive. Also contractors don't get paid if they go on vacation or take a sick day.

      Advice to Management

      My experience with the management team was a positive on. Most of th managers on my floor were appraochable and willing to share their experience with you. Overall, I had a goos experience with the management on my floor.

      Chevron2015-08-13
    • "Very family friendly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      They support an amazing work-life balance

      Cons

      They value mobility for advancement so may have to relocate

      Chevron2015-07-22
    Found 2429 reviews