Christie's Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Christie's Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 319 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Christie's CEO Guillaume Cerutti
Guillaume Cerutti
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "friendly, art world, nice location(in 33 reviews)

  • "The summer internship program featured frequent lunch-time lectures by employees in all areas of the company as well as trips to museums and galleries(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "some days you need to work long hours(in 30 reviews)

  • "Largest con is definitely the low pay for entry level positions(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Christie's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing learning experience and an interesting learning environment

    Cons

    There is no compensation for summer interns

    Advice to Management

    would be incredible to be paid a little - even simply a subway pass

    Christie's2019-07-02
  2. "Great place to intern if you are interested in the Auction World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Christie's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the coolest/passionate people I've ever met! Amazing proximity to history's greatest works of art.

    Cons

    Really large company, so things move kind of slowly. There is really no work/life balance, so expect to work 80 hour weeks before your department's sale (if you work for a specialist department)

    Christie's2019-07-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "High Prestige, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Christie's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brilliant and passionate co-workers, interesting and dynamic work environment, amazing opportunity to see incredible collections, excellent benefits package.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, poor employee retention.

    Advice to Management

    Offer your effective and talented employees incentives to stay proactively, before they decide to leave.

    Christie's2019-06-16
  4. "*****"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Christie's full-time

      Pros

      Company reputation and career progression

      Cons

      None, really enjoyed my time there

      Christie's2019-06-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sale Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Christie's

      Pros

      The access to the art

      Cons

      Low pay expect when working overtime which can be strenuous hours and high pressure

      Advice to Management

      Create career paths for entry level and junior positions and hire from within

      Christie's2019-06-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Lacking Transparency, Filled with Privilege"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Christie's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Exciting to be "in the action" during sales, and with specialists Can physically handle priceless art (on occasion) High level of independence Will push your level of organization and productivity to the MAX Work with some very intelligent people 25 vacation days after one full year Best auction house globally

      Cons

      Poor management "Old boys club" mentality, many are from affluent backgrounds, or are from families that are clients Barely any diversity No investment in non-management positions, hard to move past administration/coordination No transparency Extremely high learning curve without onboarding training Convoluted processes, nothing is streamlined No daily benefits (compensated transportation after working late, meal...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take the time to create a training program for new hires. Communicate feedback to employees in real time. Invest in entry-level growth and relationships. Realize not everyone is fit to manage, even if they are great at their jobs! Be more transparent with employees of all levels. Streamline processes; improve operational architecture.

      Christie's2019-06-04
    • "A great role and team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Learning and Development in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Christie's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Great team culture in HR, with colleagues who work hard - Working in a unique organisation with a workforce that is passionate about what they do - Opportunity to see art that you wouldn't otherwise get the chance to see

      Cons

      - Clear cultural divide between auction departments and support functions, often feeling that the support functions are 'looked down on' - Some stuffy, difficult characters who won't take advice and see you as inferior, just because of the work you do - Difficult to manage these people given that they are the ones 'bringing the money in'

      Advice to Management

      Plenty of work to be done on culture and values, no-one is 'too good'. There should be consequences if you are not polite and/ or courteous. Poor attitude and behaviour should not be tolerated.

      Christie's2019-05-21
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Senior Specialist in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Christie's full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Strong HR policies and relaxed work culture

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of . I enjoyed working there

      Christie's2019-04-29

      Christie's Response

      May 10, 2019Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your positive feedback, we're happy to hear you enjoyed working at Christie's.

    • "Terrible Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I worked at Christie's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive salary Reasonable benefits Central London location

      Cons

      Some demanding and offensive people work here Not a nice place to work Blame culture

      Christie's2019-06-02
    • "Great internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Internship 

        I have been working at Christie's full-time

        Pros

        Versatile work, fun, interactive and steep learning curve

        Cons

        HR department could be more helpful sometimes

        Christie's2019-04-26

        Christie's Response

        May 13, 2019Recruitment Advisor

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased to hear you are enjoying working at Christie's. We will make sure your comments are raised and discussed within the department.

      Found 319 reviews