Christie's Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Christie's Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Christie's CEO Guillaume Cerutti
Guillaume Cerutti
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "friendly, art world, nice location(in 27 reviews)

  • "rewarding experience, you will learn a lot(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, long hours, poor employee retention(in 32 reviews)

  • "Largest con is definitely the low pay for entry level positions(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exciting business but very unclear career tracks and bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sale Coordinator in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Christie's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting to work with great art

    Cons

    Unclear career path, low salary and can be very long hours (during peak season particularly)

    Christie's2019-10-11
  2. "Best place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist 

    I worked at Christie's part-time

    Pros

    Great mentors and colleagues. Amazing Art.

    Cons

    unfortunately the art world doesnt pay very well

    Christie's2019-09-26
  3. "Good Exposure Few Direct Learning Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Christie's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Exposure to auction environment

    Cons

    Very little oversight and supervisory presence

    Advice to Management

    Invest in organized checkins with interns even if its one a month

    Christie's2019-10-07
  4. "Great company, lots of benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Christie's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits to employees are great, nice staff

    Cons

    Very busy work environment around auctions

    Christie's2019-09-08
  5. "Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Christie's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to grow and make connections

    Cons

    Corporate culture does not work well for everybody

    Christie's2019-09-16
  6. "Great art with traditional culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Christie's full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, amazing environment with different art work every day, good pay, some flexibility with home working and working hours

    Cons

    Hierarchical and over complicated processes, too many meetings, too many initiatives, only development opportunity is for my manager to leave

    Christie's2019-08-23
  7. "Great Experience! Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Christie's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good overview to the auction business with lots of hands on experience.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to become a full time employee

    Christie's2019-08-13
  8. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Christie's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel, art, people. I learned a huge amount at Christie’s both personally and professionally. It’s an incredible company. You’re expected to work hard but the access to art and the people and clients at Christie’s make it one of the best places that I’ve ever worked at. Travelling both nationally and internationally was an experience I will never forget. It’s a unique place to work and the location in central... London is superb for access to all the other galleries and museums in Mayfair and St James’. The company objectives are very clear and I learned so many skills that I have taken forward in my career. It's a very corporate culture, but in hindsight I learned a lot about what makes a company successful in an increasingly challenging and complex art market. I had a lot of autonomy in the role. The company works hard to engage with staff and get employees to meet each other, such as at the 1766 monthly drinks events. The Christmas and summer parties are great fun and well organised. Staff development through apps is pretty cool and there are so many training opportunities, social events and lunchtime lectures that really do enhance the experience of working in the company. Training happens both on and offsite and managers encouraged us to do this as part of our professional development. This certainly isn’t the case in many other companies. The IT provision (iPhones, apps) is great and there is a strong company ethos that I really liked.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours but it was worth it. Promotion into more senior roles can be very slow and takes many years in most cases.

    Christie's2019-08-09
  9. "Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Christie's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working there was a really incredible learning experience. Everyone in the specialist departments appeared to be very passionate about their fields and their passion was contagious.

    Cons

    Gossipy environment, very few avenues for growth within the company.

    Advice to Management

    There should be more ways to grow at the company

    Christie's2019-08-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Christie's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being the market leader (with Sotheby’s) you can truthfully tell any vendor there’s no better place to sell their material so it’s relatively easy to secure the best consignments for sale. That means you get to work with the best art and antiques in the market. Being a big company, there is a large network of experienced people to help you develop as an expert in your field.

    Cons

    Stringent performance expectations from management which means very long hours. Pay is low and pay transparency is totally lacking. Since pay rises are often sub-inflation or non-existent many good people leave because staying at Christie’s harms their ability to buy a home or start a family. The attitude from management essentially is: we can easily find someone else to do your job for the money. They’re right of... course, though high churn isn’t good for any company, especially for one touting expertise. Even if you decide to stay, morale is weakened further by the threat of being arbitrarily axed. Unlike Sotheby’s or Bonhams, when making cutbacks to save money Christie’s does not ‘pool’ departmental colleagues and give them all a chance of competing for the remaining positions in the department. It simply chooses the colleague it wants to get rid of at the outset of the redundancy process. That colleague will inevitably be the one who has sucked up to management least. The HR department are simply stooges of the bosses and are of no help to any worker who feels mistreated by the company. Most things they say here should be heavily discounted.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lots of specialists work 50 or 60 plus hours a week for Christie's because they want the best results in the business. They either need more help or proper pay. Pay transparency would be a good start. Fair processes for making pay rises and organising redundancy are also the least a decent company could do.

    Christie's2019-08-08
Found 329 reviews