Cigna Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cigna Reviews

Updated 10 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Cigna CEO David Cordani
David Cordani
1,086 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging even with generous PTO(in 71 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership seems hellbent on being the Google of Health Insurance(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "At Cigna group your part of the Team not a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Lifestyle Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    brilliant organisation, Management of clients is done with such care and respect.

    Cons

    there isnt any cons that i can list down

    Advice to Management

    awesome work keep it up

    Cigna2012-08-05
  2. "Cigna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay and lots of career advancement opportunities in the first two years I have worked for them. I really like most of the people I work with.

    Cons

    It's a huge company and with that, its easy to get lost in the shuffle and often simple internal tasks take much more effort than they should to complete.

    Cigna2014-08-04
  3. "This company cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cigna is miles ahead in technology and in employee engagement compared with their competitors. The culture isn’t as stuffy as other companies I’ve worked for, they really believe if you take care of your own, they’ll take care of the customer. There isn’t a tool I’ve needed that wasn’t offered to me to do my job well. I’ve also never seen so many senior leaders so accessible to their associates. They have great... leadership programs which allow college kids to gain the experience they need to be successful in management later. They also have programs to develop mid-management and senior leadership as well. I’ve been given incredible support to do my job and everyone has been willing to help me. It’s not unusual for people to move around to gain cross functional experience. When people leave positions it’s still usually to stay at the company. Also love that there’s so much flexibility to work from home - a huge plus for working parents. Performance reviews are based on ongoing conversations with management vs a ten page document that you have to write up at the end of the year. It definitely forces you to stay engaged with your leaders on what’s going on. There’s a big emphasis on educating employees around difference between diversity vs inclusion - i appreciate that this company goes deeper than just making the company “look” different. CEO has a huge part in diversifying company and is very active in veteran and military support. Overall I’m really happy here, sure there’s still some typical corporate annoyances but there’s none of the toxic behaviors I saw at my last company. I sit near contractors who are sticking around and not taking other gigs in the hopes of getting fully employed by Cigna one day - that’s a nice testament to their experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    Company getting bigger with Express Scripts acquisition so might be losing that personal touch a little but so far so good.

    Advice to Management

    Continue fireside chats with associates and ongoing communications/blogs by executives. It’s nice to see them taking the time to share about what’s going on. Continue taking care of employees, the trickle effect is real- not only to customers but to each other. Leaders should continue to model how they want us to treat one another internally.

    Cigna2019-11-10
  4. "Good pay, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager 

    I worked at Cigna full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits, generous PTO and vacation time

    Cons

    Lots of changes, daily and weekly. Nothing horrible.

    Cigna2019-11-10
  5. "Great experience. Inspiring leadership. Customer focused."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inspiring leaders care about customers and clients

    Cons

    Shifting healthcare market puts stress on big systems.

    Advice to Management

    Keep informing... keep encouraging... keep inspiring!

    Cigna2019-11-08
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very inclusive and people are always willing to help out

    Cons

    Medical benefits are not great

    Cigna2019-11-05
  7. "Good place to work and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer centric organization that really cares about improving health and wellbeing

    Cons

    Honestly, not really any Cons

    Cigna2019-11-05
  8. "Great Company To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance Great pay Excellent benefits that keep getting better Work from home opportunities Excellent medical coverage

    Cons

    Role has turned into more of a sales-like job. Given more work to do over the years and less time to complete it.

    Cigna2019-11-04
  9. "Relaxed Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cigna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Great people Incentives

    Cons

    Pay could be better Not a lot of career opportunities

    Cigna2019-10-28
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Quality Analyst 

    I worked at Cigna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work with growth opportunities.

    Cons

    No cons. Very good place to work.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cigna2019-11-11
Found 2089 reviews