Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1964 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
681 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salaries, better opportunity for bankers to make their sales goals(in 103 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of growth opportunities and upper management micromanages(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Transformational Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good tech, appetite to try new processes (agile) and a tight knit product ownership team.

    Cons

    Dependencies on legacy tech and groups who operate in different silos, slowing overall progress.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving in this direction and clear obstacles. Identify and cultivate stronger leadership in the infrastructure and architecture space.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-17
  2. "Overall great bank to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    growth opportunity, earning potential, and training

    Cons

    bureaucracy of a larger bank. luck of the draw with managers

    Citizens Bank2019-06-16
  3. "Citizens is fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Financial Advisor in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Look, banking is a tough, competitive industry. And I work for the wealth management division. But I work for the greatest firm, for the greatest boss, with the greatest people.

    Cons

    Bank employee do their best. Let's make sure we acknowledge that.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-10
  4. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Community involvement. Citizens truly cares about its employees.Senior leadership are great role model to living our credo. Citizens always looking to improve our systems to make it easier for our colleagues & customers.

    Cons

    I wish the benefits will be a little more affordable& get daycare reimbursement will be a huge attractive benefit to moms.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-10
  5. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Banker in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally a pretty positive environment, decent time off, solid training, overall good company

    Cons

    If you have sales goals, even though a holistic environment is preached, it's solely about the numbers

    Citizens Bank2019-05-31
  6. "Lots of good training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great training with Reimbursement for expenses

    Cons

    Unreal quotas, no bathroom in the in store branches, must use the retail store bathroom. yuck.

    Advice to Management

    Set better expectations and if someone leaves you should give them their commision for that quarter.

    Citizens Bank2019-05-28
  7. "Great people but focus on sales rather than customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Banker in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good training and benefits.

    Cons

    Emphasis on cold-calling and the Managers weren't always the best.

    Advice to Management

    Ask your Branch Managers to focus on getting to know their customers rather than spending most of the day on endless conference calls.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A toxic culture, wasting an amazing opportunity to be great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great retail presence, and a staff in the field, that I genuinely believe wants to do the right thing and always do the BEST thing for the customers.

    Cons

    Leadership and technology are archaic at best and unfortunately, that trickles down through the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Please make the investment in diversifying leadership. I understand that technological changes require large investments and time to implement, but you can do something more timely with leadership. I understand the concept of "Citizens Listens", but those of us in the field, feel more like the attitude from leadership is "be quiet and listen to us"

    Citizens Bank2019-06-06
  9. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Personal Banker 

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      Stressful environment and goals you have to achieve

      Citizens Bank2019-05-24

      Citizens Bank Response

      June 10, 2019Sr Project Analyst

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your hard work with us. Keep up the great work.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Number of job openings says it all"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      PTO, bank holidays, 401k Helping customers financially Big initiative for volunteering, community involvement

      Cons

      Upper management and company not authentic Big shift in culture over past couple years Feels more like Jim Jones cult Rapidly changing policies as to not look like Wells Fargo but an incentive plan and extreme pressure to make daily sales goals that don’t align. Very little opportunity for growth for manager Extremely high turnover in store branches leaving managers to consistently work upwards of 50-55 hours a week...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Do what you preach. Be good to your colleagues

      Citizens Bank2019-06-05
    Found 1964 reviews