Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2035 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
705 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you have sales goals, even though a holistic environment is preached, it's solely about the numbers(in 105 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Document Specialist in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co workers are friendly and helpful more than management. They go the extra mile to help, while management doesn't support their employees

    Cons

    Management needs more training to work with working with their employees..

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Citizens Bank2019-09-19
  2. "Great starting point for people interested in financial services."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Personal Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a good place to try different roles within the financial services industry. You will get basic exposure to retail banking, business banking, loan origination, and investmests.

    Cons

    You will hit a glass ceiling at some point, once you have been a banker for a couple of years, there is nothing more to learn and you will need to leave the bank if you want to continue to grow and be challenged.

    Advice to Management

    Make the environment less transactional in nature, traffic to the branches continues to drop so dont make coming into the branch such a sales experience!

    Citizens Bank2019-09-18
  3. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Resolution Senior Advocate in Cranston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people there are amazing, the pay is pretty good and the benefits are good.

    Cons

    There is some favoritism in certain departments.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-16
  4. "Great Company, A bit strong on the sales side."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They focus a lot on your goals, but give you the training necessary to complete them.

    Cons

    They focus largely on sales.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-15

    Citizens Bank Response

    September 17, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We're glad you appreciated the training you received — we hope you were able to learn a great deal. Sales roles aren't for everyone, but as you know our training is intended help our colleagues achieve those goals. Best of luck in your career, we're ...

    Show More
  5. "Great company. Great people. Great advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employer Brand Marketing in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been promoted several times and respected for my opinion and ideas. I am a working mother and they provide me the flexibility to be great at both.

    Cons

    My commute is longer than I would like, but getting to work from home a few days a week makes up for that.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-12

    Citizens Bank Response

    September 17, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! Veteran colleagues like yourself are what make Citizens Bank such a special place. Have an amazing day.

  6. "Connected to Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy access to leadership and willingness to listen to employees needs. Heavily involved in community.

    Cons

    A lot of training early on that is needed could be done more time efficiently for the role of a person.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-07

    Citizens Bank Response

    September 11, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We're so glad to hear you've felt connected to leadership — that support can go a long way! Keep up the great work as a Licensed Relationship Banker.

  7. "Thorough Onboarding with Great Career Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of thorough training -Great opportunity to move within the company -Great company mission and employee volunteer opportunities -Fantastic hours in traditional branches

    Cons

    -The beginning is very high stress- lots to learn if you have no banking experience -Some facilities are not equipped to deal with the type and amount of traffic the branch gets

    Advice to Management

    Take into account the types of customers each branch gets- not just how many. Branches with many young customers need more ATMs and better with. Branches with older customers need an additional teller station or drive up. Branches with lots of financial advising need more meeting rooms, too.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-06

    Citizens Bank Response

    September 11, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting such a thoughtful review. We appreciate all the honest feedback — this is what helps us improve the experience for our colleagues! Keep learning and we know you'll continue to excel.

  8. "Management Disorganized and Indifferent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Remote capability. Everything else is a con.

    Cons

    Constantly being told to work mandatory OT with little or no upfront notice to plan for it. No promotion potential even if you area top performer--the usual corporate BS. All promises, no delivery but expect you to constantly go above and beyond.

    Advice to Management

    Be better organized and engaged Being pessimistic and despondent is not cool unless you're 12 years old. Have better solutions for your team members and actually deliver on your word.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-19
  9. "Okay workplace, some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Franklin, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people work here. The work is usually fulfilling. Great work life balance. Not many days of having to stay late.

    Cons

    Things have been a bit shaky after the acquisition but sounds like it should be getting better. Not much is given to help you know what you should do to improve and get promotions.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-17
  10. "Very behind on technology, but trying to catch up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In pockets there are outstanding people who are dedicated, skilled and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Citizens technology is pretty far behind more advanced banks. Although they are trying to modernize, the legacy infrastructure is holding them back. The entire IT management group from CIO on down is mostly new to Citizens, and they are still trying to understand the scope of the issues.

    Advice to Management

    Pick your spots on modernizing the technology infrastructure - as the expression goes, 'you can't boil the ocean'. Realize that many of the existing IT groups are not generously staffed and are already stretched thin.

    Citizens Bank2019-09-17
Found 2035 reviews