City Beach Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

City Beach Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Staff Discount Of 20% For Part Time(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rostering is awful, and don't expect to get to know anyone before your shift(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My experience at City Beach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at City Beach for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Christmas party's and standard hourly wage

    Cons

    Given hours the day before

    City Beach2019-08-05
  2. "D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process 

    I worked at City Beach for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good job first start experience

    Cons

    Training Target Long hours Management

    City Beach2019-08-23
  3. "You Probably won't get shifts if youre older than 16"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Cannington
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at City Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff Discount is good, Job is pretty easy

    Cons

    Gave me 3 hours a fortnight to keep me on the roster, found out there were 15-year-olds working 9 hour shifts

    Advice to Management

    30 casual retail assistants is a ridiculous number of staff if you're only going to be giving the same 8 teenagers shifts

    City Beach2019-08-19
  4. "Good but no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual SA in Mount Gravatt
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at City Beach for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - 20% discount for casuals

    Cons

    - no hours - disorganised - rude managers

    City Beach2019-07-29
  5. "Gay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Narellan

    I worked at City Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None really rude customers annoying screaming

    Cons

    Rude disrespectful & discrimination against me

    Advice to Management

    Find somewhere better

    City Beach2019-07-16
  6. "DON’T RISK YOUR MENTAL HEALTH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing. Well maybe when you have customers that smile at you can usually make the day more bright.

    Cons

    Everything. You’re treated like a criminal no matter how much effort you put into your work. They don’t pay you properly as if you won’t notice. Regional managers couldn’t care less about you. Your mental health is literally at risk. I had sucidal thoughts working here it’s sucks and when I went to the regional managers about it they talked their way around it as if I’m the problem. They say they have to treat us like...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with more respect. You don’t need to harass people to do their job. Speak to us nicely and calmer rather then shouting at us in front of everyone including customers. Your employees will love there job and try their absolute best if you actually treat them like a decent human being. Stop hiring people that haven’t worked in the company and start promoting the employees who have been working...

    Show More
    City Beach2019-07-10
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City Beach part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to talk to many people

    Cons

    Can't talk to co-workers on the job. Bad pay.

    City Beach2019-06-16
  8. "Great Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual/Sales Assistant in Broadbeach
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City Beach for less than a year

    Pros

    all friendly welcoming staff members

    Cons

    dont have any cons all good

    City Beach2019-05-30
  9. "Good high school job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City Beach for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work team, reasonable expectations

    Cons

    Poor employee protection (no security, unmanaged incidents)

    City Beach2019-05-26
  10. "City Beach 10 yrs service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager 

    I worked at City Beach full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Other Staff members you meet & work with make life long friends, customers,

    Cons

    Pay, hours, regional managers did not look after their staff like they should.

    City Beach2019-05-16
Found 56 reviews