City of Edmonton Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

City of Edmonton Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
City of Edmonton CEO Don Iveson
Don Iveson
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "In order to be considered for any permanent, full time positions you have to be considered permanent Staff Support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making by upper management, does not listen to the people who are the experts in their area, no recognition(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Geographical Survey Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Systems Surveys Technical Survey Assistant in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of survey projects from Residential Rehabilitation, Construction, Beautification, Special Projects and Bridge Surveys.

    Cons

    Had too many upper managerial positions that didn't understand the scope of our projects.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the departments that you manage and the scope of work the department entails.

    City of Edmonton2019-08-03
  2. "Method Analyst 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Earned Days Off program and benefit packages. And it’s a large organization with a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    Union members are overprotected, some members are taking advantage of the protection and not working at their full capacity.

    City of Edmonton2019-07-25
  3. "work life balance but no clear career growth future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, can have more time with families

    Cons

    Bottle neck for immigrant with technical skills.

    Advice to Management

    Strive to be respectful to the employee under

    City of Edmonton2019-07-21
  4. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, pension.

    Cons

    career growth is limited, not based on skill but relation.

    Advice to Management

    doesn't matter which company, at the end of the day, it's still the skill that solve the problem, not talk.

    City of Edmonton2019-06-20
  5. "Good work and life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Colleagues do not like changes. Not easy to implement new efficient things.

    City of Edmonton2019-06-13
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Civil Engineering Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stability, Flexibility with great benefits.

    Cons

    Not competitive in terms of wage compare to private companies.

    City of Edmonton2019-05-31
  7. "too much change all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Earned days off. If you are in the Unions you have great benefits, if you are out-of-scope or management, you have mediocre benefits

    Cons

    There has been multiple reorganizations over the past 3 years and people are exhausted.

    City of Edmonton2019-05-22
  8. "The best employer I have had in my career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Recruitment in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership, technology, work life balance, benefits, career opportunities.

    Cons

    No Cons that I would report.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to break down silos between departments.

    City of Edmonton2019-05-06
  9. "Aquatic Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Fast-paced environment -Customer Service Experience

    Cons

    -You are committed to a 4-10 week period

    City of Edmonton2019-04-18
  10. "Refuse collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Steady work good job security

    Cons

    Work in all weather conditions

    Advice to Management

    Up to city council not applicable

    City of Edmonton2019-03-31
Found 178 reviews