City of Edmonton Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
City of Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson
Don Iveson
96 Ratings
  1. "Don't be fooled"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very few unless you are permanent full time and even then the dysfunction in management is real.

    Cons

    Too many to list.

    Continue reading
    City of Edmonton2020-02-23
  2. "Great pension and pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building 

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and earned days off

    Cons

    Customer service can be challenging and abusive at times

    City of Edmonton2020-02-01
  3. "good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor 

    I worked at City of Edmonton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good environment, working with other students

    Cons

    didn't get a lot of hours

    City of Edmonton2020-01-25
  4. "Good benefits and pension"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Communications Advisor 

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    good benefits and pension plan, competitive salary. and vacation, earned days off, meaningful work

    Cons

    Slow progression in advancing, bureaucratic organization can be challenging

    City of Edmonton2020-01-22
  5. "good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aggaa in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with great people and have opportunities to get familiar with different areas

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for personal growth and career development

    City of Edmonton2020-01-20
  6. "decent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Student in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay, great vacation plan

    Cons

    sometimes politics, work not so interesting

    City of Edmonton2020-01-19
  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Hand Labourer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work for. Competitive wages and overtime opportunities.

    Cons

    Temporary employment at first for some jobs

    City of Edmonton2020-01-10
  8. "A very challenging place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Advisor in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Earned Day Off (EDO) program was fantastic, pay was excellent, benefits were fairly good and some interesting work.

    Cons

    Management was horrific, culture is really poor especially in the comms area and the way they treat employees is pretty terrible. Bullying , harassment and disrespectful behaviour is common. It was especially terrible if you had any kind of mental or physical health problems. It was a very challenging and chaotic place to work.

    Continue reading
    City of Edmonton2020-01-16
  9. "Hard worker and able tyo work alone or with others"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Refuse/Recycle Collector II in Edmonton, AB

    I worked at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work hard and willing to learn

    Cons

    i go the bathroom a lot

    Continue reading
    City of Edmonton2019-12-12
  10. "Paradise for social animals"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Edmonton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People who born in Canada, who spend more than half of there work time socialize and chat around, will get the chance to promote or move to a “better” position.

    Cons

    Those who work diligently will stay in base level cover the work load forever.

    Continue reading
    City of Edmonton2019-12-13
Found 209 reviews