Cloudreach Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cloudreach Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach CEO Aaron M. Painter
Aaron M. Painter
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "This ship is sinking..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A once great company is well and truly over. Hideous to employees, especially woman.

    Cons

    Too many to mention, treat women badly, no interest in career progression, kicking people out the door left, right and centre.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing they have any interest in listening to.

    Cloudreach2019-11-06
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Do not walk ... Run in the other Direction as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cloud Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Employees but they are leaving left and right or being laid off to allow for the company to make a profit at the expense of those that are remaining.

    Cons

    Bad Management, Turn overs left and right, Growth is bad, Management says one thing and does another

    Advice to Management

    Follow up on what you say.

    Cloudreach2019-11-13
  3. Helpful (10)

    "So much wasted potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good colleages * Quarterly and yearly kick-offs were fun before they stopped doing them * Uncapped holidays

    Cons

    * Salaries way below market rate * Culture started to worsen after aquisitions * Huge turnover rates * Big disconnect between management and employees * Ongoing layoffs * Lack of career progression * CEO recently stepped down. Lack of direction

    Advice to Management

    Go back to your roots. This was one of the best companies to work for before the aquisitions.

    Cloudreach2019-11-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Shocked by negativity - I LOVE IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treated as a grown up - ZERO micromanagement and I am allowed to work to a way which suits me best. Unlimited paid annual leave Great working environment - Tech start up offices Great co-workers Flexible working Exposure to fantastic customers and projects

    Cons

    A lot of change in management which causes fear for no reason within workforce. Changes should be communicated quicker.

    Cloudreach2019-10-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, if you are on the fence just Join you will love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing here

    Cons

    A lot of time between engagements

    Advice to Management

    They know.....

    Cloudreach2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Great People, Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited holiday, snacks, free food Fridays, new starter pizza, certification training and exams paid for, some very lovely colleagues

    Cons

    Consistently attribute any problem to growing pains of a start up to established business - used way too often, and is an excuse IMO Constantly changing priorities/focus for company direction. I never knew what the strategy was Longer working hours Don't pay close to market rate, and happy for you to go elsewhere instead of retaining talent by increasing your earnings Revolving door of colleagues Limited opportunity... for progression Probation review was a joke, just get friendly with a couple of people over 6 months and ask them to provide your feedback

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As I have read on most responses to Glassdoor reviews over the last six months or so, and nearly all Comms from within the company. Every problem is attributed to growing pains. Stop using this as a catch all sound bite to most business problems. Retention of colleagues was a serious concern for me, within 9 months I became one of the "old guard" in my team, due to so many people moving on (externally and some... internally), that it was a clear sign to me that I should not stick around. I have met some great colleagues here, and really enjoyed working with them. Try and hang onto them!

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-08-30
  7. "Good company with uncertain path forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn new skills and set the path you want for yourself.

    Cons

    Do not understand the future path from management.

    Cloudreach2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Wasted Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is made by the attitude and values of its engineers on the frontlines, supporting the customers, and building the software.

    Cons

    All levels of management in all verticals of the business seem to have their own view of the long term strategy. As such, the business doesn't pull as one. A company with great ideas and exactly the right people to execute them ends up sub-par across the board. In addition, the selection process for middle-management roles appears flawed. Some hires shy away from their workload and rarely contribute, others swing... their opinions like a battle axe and cause real damage both internally and externally, and the vast majority are simply ineffective.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the drawing board and realise what made Cloudreach so excellent: the people. You once had hundreds of engineers who were passionate about changing the world - strong opinions, good cultural values, and so much more that the customers would soak up. That is the differentiating factor between Cloudreach and its competitors but your middle/senior management layers are destroying it.

    Cloudreach2019-08-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A genuinely good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Pay, Unrivalled Work Culture, Perks including eating out Fridays, Working From Home, Bonuses and uncapped holiday allowance. Exciting tech driven work, in a market leader.

    Cons

    Going through severe growth, so business is adapting as it's outgrown being a startup

    Cloudreach2019-07-05
  10. Helpful (14)

    "We are growing faster than we can keep up with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture is awesome - Coworkers are incredible - Great office location and events - Opportunities to work on fun projects - Personal development budget

    Cons

    - The global compensation review was promised around a year ago. Still nothing! Some salaries are as much as 50% under the current market rates! - Some management positions have been filled with people with no previous management experience - It seems like we are struggling to adapt to our growth - No real career progression path. If you want to move on to a better role, you gotta either change BU or go into... management

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be careful with letting your best people leave. Most people who are leaving have given plenty of warning, and it's a shame we are not doing much to keep them around.

    Cloudreach2018-10-19
Found 37 reviews