Cloudreach Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cloudreach Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach CEO Aaron M. Painter
Aaron M. Painter
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains that come with every org growing at this rate, but leadership is working hard to implement processes that help the org scale(in 18 reviews)

  • "yes, the company is growing inorganically(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "I Love This Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Csd 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my 24 year career, I've never before worked at a place where management is more engaged, more transparent, or tries harder than at Cloudreach. Sure, it's not perfect, but welcome to the real world. In my time here so far, I've worked on several really cool projects for clients, and the people I work with are smart and they care about me and care about doing great work. There is a love of engineering and... technology, and my colleagues are constantly innovating in the work we get to deliver. Management has a clear strategy for the company, and the mission is about making other people great and doing it with technology. When my former colleagues talk about their jobs elsewhere and I talk about mine, they are jealous about what it's like for me at Cloudreach.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is my first time on this site and I so surprised to read negative reviews, that I felt compelled to write something about my experience, because it is nothing like I read here. It's not a perfect company, but I've worked at enough places to know that no company is perfect.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is figure out to make Glassdoor reviews reflect all the good! Sorry to hear some people have had less great experiences, but it's not the reality for us all!

    Cloudreach2019-09-12
  2. Helpful (21)

    "Just another underperforming MSP. Cloudreach is dead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People - you will meet some lovely people. You will meet some highly skilled people, though the top echelons are dwindling day by day. Despite the horrendous decline, there are still a few people in the business, whether technical, managerial or HR focussed who do care deeply, and are determined to turn it around. Those people are highly admirable and will be the ones who give you hope. If you're relatively... inexperienced, this is a good first step if you're willing to put the effort in. Bear in mind that if you're underperforming, nobody will say a thing and you'll still pass probation, so the caveat is that you must be motivated to push yourself and seek out those individuals that enjoy being generous with their knowledge. Related to this - if you're an experienced engineer, but struggling to get AWS or Python on your CV, you could spend a year here. There's more skills to gain, but you'd be lucky to not end up on a general bodyshop project. I would say the perks are good but they're being diluted. You still get lunch on Fridays, which is a nice touch. Access to aCloud.guru and plenty of Udemy content. That's pretty cool, since you should come here and use the time to upskill ready for your next job which might even pay market rate. If its important to have a social/drinking culture, you'll find it here. There's usually plenty of opportunity for a drink or two. If you can just get by, come to work, do your hours and not really mind about doing something different or innovative then this is a good place to come and just get by.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is clearly in disarray, but there is a leadership team will not talk straight to colleagues. They will preach "transparency", but it is smoke and mirrors. You will get the opportunity to have Q&A with them, but everything will be answered with sheer denial, or "Yes we are aware and we really care. We're looking into it. Still." You will probably be body shopped onto a rather dull engagement doing... the fundamental basics of cloud adoption. Talk of innovation is not something you will likely find yourself involved in. You will be told you're joining a company full of amazing talent. Truth is, if you're experienced, you'll probably be leant on constantly and find that next level of talent to work with. You might try to drive forward improvements but it'll be an uphill struggle, in which you may find yourself demotivated and burned out. Perks are being trimmed to save money. Everyone will be told how important it is to reduce costs. Then they will hire some more unnecessary management roles that generate no value (let alone revenue). Then they'll hire useful people too, but they'll sit on the bench for months waiting for a project. So while they still haven't got a mature benefits package, the cultural benefits are being eroded. Morale is through the floor. People are leaving in droves, particularly the highly skilled. Nobody seems to believe in any mission. The whole "Keep it Cloudy" cultural aspect is gone. You will be paid FAR less than you can get elsewhere for your skills. Not a little, but a lot. Plenty of people accept less in return for a happy work life with great culture. Once you realise that doesn't actually exist, you will wonder why you're here. You probably won't be rotated on engagements very often. You might not want to be, or risk being put on the bench to work on some dead end internal project. Promotion comes from throwing your toys out the pram or knowing the right person. Which explains the number of incompetent or under-experienced people in leadership positions. No real direction. Lots of talk from leadership of being "super excited" and being in "hypergrowth". Its all hollow. The things you've seen about Cloudreach being an amazing place to work mostly come from a few years ago. Sometimes you'll see some glowing reviews on here which sound suspiciously like they are written by someone who wants you to see it :) The leadership has taken the company in a direction where you are not part of the same team. They sit above you. You are numbers on a page. You are a means to their end. They make everything very formal (particularly if they are trying to shut you up), but not when it matters. If its something that affects you, then it depends on how they feel on the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut the nonsense. Be honest with your colleagues. If you're going to behave like question dodging politicians, then cancel your Q&As. Its disrespectful to pretend that you are transparent, then consciously conceal the facts. Just be honest. Create a culture where those difficult conversations are had and not just avoided. Do not stare into the camera at Town Halls and TELL us that we DO love working here and we... should be grateful for what we've got. Stop trying to be something you're not. If you're done with the culture that previously existed, then let it breath its terminal breath and model yourself on being a corporate machine like everyone else. However, you now have nothing special to offer, so sort out your benefits package, including market rate pay. Otherwise it just doesn't make sense and people leave. Stop bringing in your mates for high paid roles. On a related note, stop dangling a carrot in front of existing staff in terms of career development, then letting them down. Listen to your employees. Discontent is pretty well known, stop avoiding it or attributing it to some small group of bitter resistors of change. When things are a bit naff (quarterlies and kickoffs are basically a bit pfft now, aren't they?) then just say. Explain why, be honest and don't try and make it out like its still something to be excited over. Operate with more care to your employees and stop being irresponsible with people's futures. On my first kickoff there was lots of talk about brain power over people power. Bring that back. Seek clients that are ready to let you innovate and actually drive them forward. Find a way to give CSDLs more ability to have an impact again. That seems to have been removed, which results in CSDs not really having any decent avenue to address anything.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-09-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, if you are on the fence just Join you will love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing here

    Cons

    A lot of time between engagements

    Advice to Management

    They know.....

    Cloudreach2019-09-04
  4. "Great perks and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Great perks and learning opportunities but no opportunity to grow with what you have learnt.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise engineers in need of coaching to encourage them to be experts in their given fields which in turns brings value to the company.

    Cloudreach2019-09-16
  5. "Poor leadership makes for a toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since it used to be a tech start-up, there are still some remains of that culture - cool office spaces, some good internal systems (Gmail, Slack etc), and a few really awesome people left. Opportunity to buy into shares in the business for a chosen few individuals which does make you feel you have an extra stake and the potential to make some money. If you are in a role with a distributed team, depending on... your responsibilities you might get the opportunity to travel globally and visit different offices. Generally pleasant colleagues day to day and homely feel in local offices with competitions and activities (Movie Nights, Bake Off etc).

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately, as the saying goes "people don't leave companies, they leave leaders". Many, many of the very best people who made Cloudreach what it was have either left or been driven out by new management who do not like being challenged on their approach. Having worked at Cloudreach for many years, I've seen plenty of change and the tolerance for change has always been high. Attrition is particularly high of... late because the beliefs and values of the top tier of leadership at Cloudreach has permeated throughout the whole business, and the effect has been quite toxic. Perhaps it's just a natural part of being owned by a Private Equity business, but many of the positive things about the company are only remains of the old business under the old management, and even they are slowly being removed or eroded. The current leadership team's ways of working couldn't be further removed from the culture that once made the company such a special place to work. Cloudreach was founded on genuine respect for people (whatever your seniority or role), a belief that people should be treated well, and that one should earn rather than demand respect and obedience. You will hear plenty of management buzzwords: "diversity", "people-centric", "growth", "respect", "transparency". Repetition is powerful (as politicians know!), and for new starters I'm sure it does seem genuine, but for anybody who's been at the company any length of time you will see that these words are not backed up by actions or in fact real belief by the executives using them. I saw this first hand many times - at many live Q+As, I heard leadership tell outright lies about facts and figures to mislead people into holding a certain opinion. Another good example is that taking holiday is frowned upon (although never publicly verbalised), and whisperings of disapproval behind people's back to their managers means many people are paranoid about taking much needed time off. I am not saying it is an awful place to work. If you came from a traditional consultancy background it would probably seem great (as many newer people on Glassdoor attest) - because of its remaining legacy start-up elements. However, if you are looking to be in a company of true top performers, have your opinion valued and really fast track your career, then this is not the place for you any longer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The best way to get people to do what you want them to do is to inspire them and make them want to succeed for you. Shouting, belittling, demanding, humiliating, badmouthing people to others, lying about what or why you're doing certain things... these tactics produce a toxic work environment and you're seeing the result in all the bad reviews on this site. People will follow your example. If even the CEO of the... business treats people this way, how can you expect to have a decent working culture? It probably feels like it's too late to change the habits of a lifetime, but there is always time if you genuinely want to.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-09-16
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Excellent people, great technology, good perks; lacking in long-term strategic management and transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are incredible. They will help you and support your growth and development, and there is very much a collaborative atmosphere across most of the teams. Cloudy lunch, snacks and other perks help to boost morale and keep you going. Flexible working encouraged where possible. Most managers give team members a lot of autonomy. The tech is awesome. When things are going well for the company it's a... great place to be.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of transparency with regards to the company strategy, restructuring and redundancies. Q&A's become a bit like an internal marketing / PR exercise. Constant change gives the impression that senior mgmt do not know quite what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Have better controls, budgets and forecasting in place to avoid employees paying the price.

    Cloudreach2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Great People, Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited holiday, snacks, free food Fridays, new starter pizza, certification training and exams paid for, some very lovely colleagues

    Cons

    Consistently attribute any problem to growing pains of a start up to established business - used way too often, and is an excuse IMO Constantly changing priorities/focus for company direction. I never knew what the strategy was Longer working hours Don't pay close to market rate, and happy for you to go elsewhere instead of retaining talent by increasing your earnings Revolving door of colleagues Limited opportunity... for progression Probation review was a joke, just get friendly with a couple of people over 6 months and ask them to provide your feedback

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As I have read on most responses to Glassdoor reviews over the last six months or so, and nearly all Comms from within the company. Every problem is attributed to growing pains. Stop using this as a catch all sound bite to most business problems. Retention of colleagues was a serious concern for me, within 9 months I became one of the "old guard" in my team, due to so many people moving on (externally and some... internally), that it was a clear sign to me that I should not stick around. I have met some great colleagues here, and really enjoyed working with them. Try and hang onto them!

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-08-30
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Managers, not Leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited holidays, unlimited training and development. great feedback mechanisms and dynamic CEO contributing to a really good culture. well positioned in the marketplace leading to loads of great work opportunities

    Cons

    extremely disjointed and disconnected management layers throughout the org - it starts out friendly but soon people struggle to make eye contact or say hi when they walk past. the management and long term-ers egos take over and there is no room for competing opinions on improving delivery models. middle management is a joke, they seem undertrained in the simple concepts of career development, continuous... improvement, product education, recognition, matching skills to client needs, etc. so hire top heavy roles to fulfill staff development functions leading to a mass of unbillable staff. blackstone acquisition led to culling almost all perks

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    use the brainpower available to improve the business- there's a lot of unmined intel which is not being utilised. bring back the mentor program. engage and utilise the bench more effectively. bring the fun back, the differentiation btw this and other cloud consultancies is evaporating staff recognition for achievements is a thing. rewarded and snacked up people are more productive. sort out forecasting and opex... - it makes management look like they don't know what they are doing. engage and listen to staff more. the quarterlies have morphed into death by slide decks, should be an opportunity for the teams to cross pollinate and get to know each other. where are the internal partner lead comms on trending partner activities ? missed oppo there

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-08-29
  9. "Good company with uncertain path forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn new skills and set the path you want for yourself.

    Cons

    Do not understand the future path from management.

    Cloudreach2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Wasted Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is made by the attitude and values of its engineers on the frontlines, supporting the customers, and building the software.

    Cons

    All levels of management in all verticals of the business seem to have their own view of the long term strategy. As such, the business doesn't pull as one. A company with great ideas and exactly the right people to execute them ends up sub-par across the board. In addition, the selection process for middle-management roles appears flawed. Some hires shy away from their workload and rarely contribute, others swing... their opinions like a battle axe and cause real damage both internally and externally, and the vast majority are simply ineffective.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the drawing board and realise what made Cloudreach so excellent: the people. You once had hundreds of engineers who were passionate about changing the world - strong opinions, good cultural values, and so much more that the customers would soak up. That is the differentiating factor between Cloudreach and its competitors but your middle/senior management layers are destroying it.

    Cloudreach2019-08-22

    Cloudreach Response

    August 28, 2019Cloudreach

    Thank you for your feedback. I agree we have an amazing bunch of people. Both engineers working at the frontline as well as in all other parts of the business. As you say these amazing people and their attitudes make our company great. We love the fact that we have diverse perspectives ...

    Show More
Found 205 reviews