Cloudreach "growing company" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cloudreach Employee Reviews about "growing company"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach CEO Aaron M. Painter
Aaron M. Painter
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cloudy lunch, snacks and other perks help to boost morale and keep you going(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great work/life balance and flexibility(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "With the rapid expansion the company is undergoing, some growing pains are not uncommon(in 19 reviews)

  • "yes, the company is growing inorganically(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (40)

    "Leadership value profit over people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I joined Cloudreach, the company was committed to doing things differently, and putting the employees first. There was an understanding that having an engaged and committed workforce would lead to having a successful business. Cloudreach had values that every employee lived and breathed. The culture was infectious which made going to work each day a joy, rather than a drag. This made a noticeable difference... both internally, and externally to customers. Cloudreach challenged employees to think differently, experiment and not be afraid of failure. This allowed Cloudreachers to push the boundaries and develop super-creative solutions to difficult problems. Personally, I was able to be involved in a huge variety of projects that gave me so much exposure and experience. This allowed me to develop in my role at a rapid pace. I gained so much valuable experience in my 2.5 years at Cloudreach, that is feels more like 25 years. I can take away a huge amount of learning from Cloudreach that will allow me to excel in my next role. I will certainly be taking some of the original Cloudreach culture and ethos with me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Over my time at Cloudreach, I noticed a huge decline in the culture. Cloudreach is now moving towards ‘off-the-shelf’ for everything. Cloudreachers are no longer required (or given the opportunity) to think creatively. The leadership is out-of-touch and unaccepting of challenge where it would have previously been welcomed. Now, any challenge to leadership decisions seems to result in a mark against your name and... a constant, unwinnable battle. Cloudreachers who challenge leadership are “problems” to be mitigated rather than assets to be valued. Often decisions would be made for a line of work to progress. Many Cloudreachers would be working on a project, and then somewhere down the line a seemingly arbitrary decision would be made to halt the project. No explanation or justification would be given, and the past 6, 12, 18 months work would be rendered pointless. This came down to Leadership not having a clear vision and not understanding what was happening on the ground. Compensation at Cloudreach is poor. Despite having an entire team dedicated to improving this for over two years, no improvements have been made and numerous deadlines for a compensation review have been missed. Many Cloudreachers, including myself, were happy to overlook this delay as we felt valued in other ways. However, it is clear that Cloudreach are moving away from caring about their employees, in an effort to “put-the-customer-first”. It now seems that the only objective is to make as much money as possible, without caring about what damage is done to the company on the journey. As a result, many Cloudreachers have been left feeling undervalued as well as underpaid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I joined Cloudreach, it was all about the employees, and it was understood that valued employees would take care of the customers and that business would thrive. Now, although the leadership team continue to insist that the employee is their top concern, actions speak louder than words and it is clear to the employees that Cloudreach is now about doing whatever it takes to make as much money as possible.... My advice to management would be: Listen to your employees. At Cloudreach I worked with some of the smartest, most focussed and motivated people I’ve ever met, but they are no longer being listened to, and this is to Cloudreach’s detriment. The people on the ground often have the best insight into what is and isn’t working for the business, and this is being ignored. Be honest. There is obviously a balance to be struck between making money and putting your employees first. However, if the focus is primarily on making money, stop trying to convince the employees that the company values them above all else. Stop telling employees that Cloudreach is a great place to work, show them.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-11-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexibility - great culture - opportunity to bring in ideas and experience (your voice is heard). There is a lot of room for opinions to grow teams. -for the right person there are a lot of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    -Growing at a rapid pace so there are a lot of growing pains that come with that - Restructuring happened recently so there was a layoff which is normal for most businesses.

    Advice to Management

    Take notice in the great work that your current employees are doing. There are so many great people who work here and some people are being over compensated and others are being under compensated. The salary ranges need to be altered to really showcase what the skillset is worth in the market.

    Cloudreach2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (29)

    "Misplaced faith in Blackstone's historical track record"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible work arrangements - decent pay - strong market (cloud) - excellent, motivated colleagues doing great work for customers

    Cons

    - Run by committee. CEO never asserted the needed authority to lead or set a coherent vision - Senior management simply do not understand how to run a business or make capital allocation decisions

    Advice to Management

    Cloudreach is a great example of what happens with Blackstone puts their 3rd-string junior-varsity players out on the field to do something important. Cloudreach was a great business in a great market that squandered its opportunity by giving two washed-up IBM managers a blank check to try and glue together a cloud company out of spare parts. They endlessly tinkered with the internal mechanics of the business... apparatus like their own personal plaything and muddled the vision and direction of the company. Always in deal-heat, they acquired smaller businesses in a misguided quest for empire-building and failed in basic due diligence and sober analysis of expected synergies. Projections peddled by Sean and Peter are maniacally optimistic -- no doubt to please their Blackstone overlords -- causing disastrous capital and resource allocation decisions to be made based on faulty information. Direct warnings about this mismanagement to leadership were ignored. Cloudreach needs a CEO who can lead. Not a figurehead or a vapid motivational speaker. A leader befitting of the opportunity that lies ahead for the company.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-11-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Turmoil at the top, poor vision, poor employee retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Architect in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, great teammates, friendly to everyone.

    Cons

    Vision for the future is chaotic. High turnover. Periodic layoffs kill morale.

    Advice to Management

    Continued churn at the top and low employee retention is killing the culture.

    Cloudreach2019-12-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO - Remote work - Bonuses - Growth Opportunities

    Cons

    A period of hyper growth led to some layoffs recently. Lots of restructuring from recent acquisitions.

    Cloudreach2019-11-20
  6. Helpful (15)

    "This ship is sinking..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A once great company is well and truly over. Hideous to employees, especially woman.

    Cons

    Too many to mention, treat women badly, no interest in career progression, kicking people out the door left, right and centre.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing they have any interest in listening to.

    Cloudreach2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Not what it used to be. New management (especially CEO) discouraging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing flexibility. There will be no place where you have so much vacation and free time. The people are wonderful, though a lot of the good ones have been leaving in droves because the company in general is going downhill from mostly a financial perspective, but also culturally.

    Cons

    There are no projects. More than 50% of people on the bench AFTER layoffs and probably more to come. The new CEO is really nice, but completely unrelatable.

    Advice to Management

    You have to realize this isn't the same generation that grew up blindly trusting or blindly following. People think more critically than they ever have before and are going to use that line of thinking to their advantage. This is more a note to the CEO than anyone else: The last CEO was a friend to a lot of us in the company and you wouldn't even know you were talking to someone that owned a company like... Cloudreach. The CEO is a nice dude... but that's about it. I know I'm not alone when I say I want someone I will believe in, someone to follow, someone down to Earth and real... "Liking business" is not something personal about yourself. Please, give us SOMETHING--ANYTHING. Please have some opinions and some personality. Give us a little bit about your experience and your life. There was a necessary need to relate to this growing, younger audience that was left completely unfulfilled. The standard PC, generic business man, clean cut stuff doesn't appeal to people anymore. It just doesn't. I saw a lot of reviews regarding the Relus acquisition, and I didn't really have any horse in that race. I met some people from Relus that were great, and I met some people from Relus that weren't so great. It was definitely a bit of a culture clash, but I don't believe that was the biggest issue. Management in general was pretty lackluster near the end. There were too many cooks in the kitchen at the middle management level, IMO, as there usually is at those positions. The CEL role was pretty useless. They worked with clients occasionally and listened to the qualms of the people below, and that was about it. Some really tried to make an impact, but were faced with frustrations when upper management was too detached to really do anything about it. The company became too vertically organized in the past year or so and that allowed for people to skate. The size didn't help with that either. As far as project management went, things were a lot better when I first started because CR actually had people that were technical in the calls prior to scoping a project... Then the Solution Architect (SA) role was invented. The first SA's were either very people oriented devs or very tech oriented PMs, which worked great... but only for a while. The bar for that position just kept dropping with every subsequent hire and in the end you had someone with mediocre people skills and tech skills (at best) scoping a project that they had no prior technical experience with. My advice to CR (though it has been stated a million times in company meetings to no avail): Get technical prowess in the sales cycle early. We lost many a client to mismanaged SOWs. The final thing I will say that drove me away was the recent layoffs and lack of projects. more than 50% of people were on the bench and that simply does not bode well for the company as a whole. My advice to people wanting to join: Wait a little bit, and even then--be weary. Though CR recently stopped hiring (because of layoffs), I would wait to see if the company stays afloat before joining. A question I asked a couple people in the company before leaving, "What does this company have to offer clients that other similar, more successful, cheaper companies do not?" Most of the time this question was answered with deafening silence. I really do wish the best of luck to everyone at CR, but to me there was too much water in the hull to stay afloat for long.

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-10-26
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Cool core DNA but at this time AVOID !!! Try to join when the barre gets raised back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll find at Cloudreach, the usual set of perks when you join a tech company : A full fridge with snacks &beers, unlimited PTO, team building-ish events. Unfortunately the greatest perk is gone. Cloudreach used to be filled with amazingly talented people you could learn from on a daily basis regardless of where you were in the organisation. Management was accessible and open conversation was encouraged.... Unfortunately all of this in the past!!!! Little by little talents are fleeing (you're welcome CSP partners...) Even the greatest managers that customers loved are now pushed towards random positons because they no longer "fit the model"...

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of good stuff are in the past, but hopefully some good can come out of the current mayhem... Here is the current situation : - No proper management what so ever... Found on the internal system that my yearly review got submitted with no conversation what so ever.... - A culture of secrecy... Management scare people sharing worrisome news using certain metrics during dramatic global calls but they do not... share any vision, plan or solution as to how they want to address the crisis... Blame gets put either on poor organisation on delivery or on sellers that "don't do enough". That said, at this time the organisation uses micromanagement and short term vision to pressure everyone to numbers cause investments have already been made anyway and layers over layers over layers of mid-management have been put in place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote experience over showmanship. Maybe some of our former top managers needed assistance to transition from startup leaders to large corporation execs but they knew how to create envy. They've known for a while and some of them are the reason some of us still believe. Be blunt about the current situation but not over dramatic and please share your plan of how we could "reach new heights". There are still some... talents in there.... don't let them rot behind showmen, push them at the center of the stage !!! We're an innovative tech company, let's rely on visionaries, there are still a few in there...

    Show More
    Cloudreach2019-11-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance, great leadership, endless opportunities to learn and grow your skillset, startup atmosphere

    Cons

    N/A (I must enter at least 5 words for Cons)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Cloudreach2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues - an environment with very smart people around Culture - no micromanagement, friendly, management is approachable Personal Development - just pick what you want Work/Life balance

    Cons

    Business is growing and there are challenges. However that is necessary and changing does not happen overnight. I like changes. It also opens opportunities and employees can contribute.

    Advice to Management

    Take advices, leverage on some of the amazing people from CE for key internal technology challenges.

    Cloudreach2019-10-24
Found 230 reviews