Combined Insurance "100 commission" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Combined Insurance Employee Reviews about "100 commission"

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 744 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance CEO Kevin Goulding
Kevin Goulding
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 30 reviews)

  • "This company is based on positivity PMA to be exact and that stands for positive mental attitude(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of long hours and endless meetings(in 40 reviews)

  • "They expect you to go door to door six days a week(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "100 commission"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Bilingual Sales Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    It is a sale business and that means 100% commission

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-05-30

    Combined Insurance Response

    August 29, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review! As a current employee we especially appreciate hearing from you. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Work as much as you want. Not many "pros" actually

    Cons

    100% Commission Fake people They trick you into going to sales school by telling you that the training is in Chicago when it is actually in Des Plaines.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-04-20
  3. Helpful (7)

    "OK job-the vast majority of people fail and no one cares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay structure. You are paid a much reduced commission rate by selling to existing customers, like you're penalized for servicing your customers. Trips and incentives are good, but the next trip is going to Ireland on St. Patrick's Day-even the Irish avoid it!

    Cons

    Awful management. The Sales Managers are on 100% commission and get a tiny override on their team so there isn't much incentive for them to help you out. You are expected to pay for all travel, even mandatory meetings that are located hours away and take you out of the field for 1-2 days. You get publicly shamed if you don't write business on a Monday...even if you are the top agent and work all weekend. PMA is in theory only. People work at Combined for 30 days or 30 years. Nothing innovative, no CRM, marketing, social media allowed. You can't even write an email to a potential client. You are absolutely on your own. The underwriting and marketing guidelines are ridiculous...you waste your time thinking you are doing the right thing for a client based on the information you are given but policies aren't issued. THEN it affects your bonus structure! There are so many better companies to work for-modern approach with better products. Don't drink the Kool-Aid. Go elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-02-08
  4. "Great opportunity if field sales is your thing, 100% commission based."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is provided, which is ok. Benefits are great but not immediate

    Cons

    The position is 100% commission based

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-09-30

    Combined Insurance Response

    November 28, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. As a current employee, we are especially grateful to hear from you. As you mentioned, we offer a comprehensive benefits package. Our agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales. Thanks again and we wish you all the best here at Combined !

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Combined AGENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great policies that helps people at the time of need and it's satisfying to know that when a life event happens you assisted in protecting your client

    Cons

    They say they promote on merit vs tenure ; sure that works in other parts of the country than in the mid-Atlantic region. They say you are in business for yourself but not by yourself but that is far from the truth ; once you are outside of your 26 weeks get ready for no support or assistance ie: coaching. Lots of meetings weekly and monthly market meetings for agents / AE in those positions. The most valuable meeting is the twice yearly regional meetings bar NONE hands down. This is 2017 not 1990 ; things that worked then in: marketing, management , HR don't work the same today . There is Favoritism, NEPOTISM-- even though they say they don't directly report to them. NO home office oversite of the ZONE personnel , if your not one of their cohorts / buddies your are on the outside looking in on the IN crowd . If you have a chance please consider other avenues of employment else where don't waste your time here especially not the East zone or Mid-Atlantic region Have Upper management with Degrees that are in the business, marketing or insurance fields not ---- a High School Diploma. Personnel in the agent/fieldarea has a High High Turn-over!!!! NO follow thru , No Trust built up from agent to DM's , MD'S Promoting certain employees over others that have more merit than others that are a better fit for that mid level management position 100% commission based position

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-08-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Training in Chicago is a great experience and morale booster.

    Cons

    100% commission, mandatory redundant unpaid meetings, benefits

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-04-16

    Combined Insurance Response

    September 5, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review our company and for mentioning that your training in Chicago was a great experience and morale booster. We wish you all the best in your career here with us!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "100% Commission, No Leads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training in Chicago is spectacular! Good products. Positive Mental Attitude approach is kinda dumb but it works!

    Cons

    Driving to the ends of the earth to reach assigned territory. "Leads" is a binder of current customers and a list of businesses in the area. No name recognition (no one has ever heard of Combined Insurance). 100% cold calling + 100% commission = Go work somewhere else

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-01-19

    Combined Insurance Response

    February 10, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company and for mentioning our excellent product line. Our agents do work on 100% commissions and are responsible for generating most of their leads, as well as enjoying the flexibility to set up their own schedule. We understand sales is not for everyone, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Upland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Time flexibility, you make your own hours but really that's about it. You're your own boss.

    Cons

    No salary, 100% commission, people fight each other for leads, the leads are not even leads to begin with they are just a re-print of the yellow pages and management makes you feel stupid and unappreciative if you decline the cold call....Everything else!

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2016-11-17

    Combined Insurance Response

    November 29, 2016Social Media Manager

    Thank you for reviewing our company. Our agents have control over their own schedule which allows them to see their clients during the times that are best for them. It's true that commission only sales is not for everyone, and we regret you feel it wasn't a good fit. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to learn sales and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    Sales school is top notch While I would not recommend to a friend, it is a great entry level sales job to learn how to sale Products are very strong, especially accident policy Freedom to set own schedule W2 employee, so taxes are done and benefits are available, but expensive

    Cons

    Cold-call selling door to door residential is vicious No training on how to build B2B business Very hard to compete in B2B settings - will lose to the Duck more often than not 100% commission Chargebacks - and there will be lots of them. You may find yourself in the negatives frequently and being without a decent paycheck for weeks at a time No support in the field, even with a good TM. Tons of meaningless meetings and rallies that waste time/money/energy Turnover rate is very high; company places no value on employee retention. Average new hire lasts less than six months. No expense reimbursement at all Underwriting is very slow Claims are even slower Life and disability policies aren't priced competitively at all. Absolutely no name recognition as the company does no advertising; actually had a client question whether or not this was a scam while filling out the application. Doing the right thing for the customer isn't always the idea, going against their corporate mantra; helping a customer to get out of an old policy that no longer makes any sense and putting them into a better new product is not only frowned upon, it can cost you your job.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2016-10-17

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 20, 2016Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company and for mentioning that our “sales school is top notch.” It is our aim that our Agents will learn the fundamentals of great selling and then stay with us throughout their career, but it’s true that sales is not for everyone. We have an array of products for Agents to offer to their clients. In fact, we have been recognized by the Ward Group on its annual Ward’s Top Performing Life-Health Insurance Companies for the past six years. We are always striving to improve and we appreciate your feedback. We will share this with leadership. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Not Worth It!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *W-2 so taxes are taken care of for you *Direct insurance policies - can even off short-term disability without going through an employer *Commission rate is pretty decent *Flexible schedule

    Cons

    *100% Commission *Company does not support the agents *Always billing errors that the agent has to deal with in order to keep up customer service *MEETINGS MEETINGS MEETINGS - there are ALWAYS meetings when you need to be out in the field selling *Management very egotistic *Constant chargebacks *Always empty promises from upper management

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2016-09-16

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 27, 2016Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We especially appreciate that you mentioned as “Pros” the flexible schedule and the earnings potential for our Agents. Our successful agents enjoy a virtually unlimited income potential and a comprehensive benefits package. We appreciate your constructive feedback, and we will share it with the appropriate leadership. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 744 reviews