Combined Insurance Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Combined Insurance Account Executive Reviews

Updated 27 December 2018
55 reviews

Filter

Filter

Account Executive

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Kevin Goulding
Kevin Goulding
4 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "You literally are a door to door sales person" (in 34 reviews)

  • "Therefore a successful insurance professional has to be willing to work long hours in order to be there for their policyholders in time of need" (in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive in Orlando, FL (US)
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive in Orlando, FL (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good training. Good marketing materials.

    Cons

    After separating they want to charge me for benefits received. They also charge you taxes for company trips.

    Advice to Management

    Make products more competitive with the market. Products are overpriced.

    Combined Insurance Response

    9 Jan 2019 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are pleased to see you shared that you had good training and great marketing materials, as we strive to support our agents the best we can for... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "I love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Bedford, NH (US)
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Bedford, NH (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The workplace environment is amazing with the pma Philosophy( positive mental attitude) I am in charge of my schedule and income. They train at all levels after 13 yes I still get great training and support from my management team.

    Cons

    This is sales!!! If you can't handle that this is not the career path for you. Most people that have many cons about combined just couldn't do it and rather than admit it blame this great organization. This company has given my family a new life. I make such figures and have secured financial freedom.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Combined Insurance Response

    20 Sep 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! We work hard to make sure our employees get the training and support they need, so it's great to hear that after 13 years you still... More

  3. Helpful (8)

    "Sr. Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Ongoing training, daily meetings - PMA - colleagues are nice. Incentive trips. 401K

    Cons

    Many promises of $100K, realistically the 55% commission is broken down to as low as 20% after you sell. The company keeps 80%. High turn-over, revolving door. If you have a license, your Hired! A lot of family members are hired, therefore expect to receive leads 60 miles away or more.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic and honest with salary expectations.

    Combined Insurance Response

    26 Oct 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We strive to make sure our agents feel supported and well-trained, and we reward them with a comprehensive benefits package, incentives and... More


  4. Helpful (7)

    "Combined Insurance Ruined my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Farmingdale, NY (US)
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Farmingdale, NY (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule. But that’s a double edged sword.

    Cons

    Now I am not like the other ppl on here. I was successful at Combined. I went on all the incentive trips. Submit a minimum of $22,500 in sales for a weekend getaway to wherever the company is taking you for that specific promotion. They treated us like Kings and Queens. They spared no expense with hotels and food and they even give us $300 to spend for the weekend. But with all of that I still never made enough money to pay my bills. The commission scale is HORRIBLE. If you compare it to regular life insurance companies then you’d see they are robbing you. Granted you get paid based on how much you sell. But even when if have 11 or 13K weeks I didn’t see the paycheck I think I deserved. Then when I left they sent me a bill for almost a thousand dollars. At the time of hiring they said you get back $350 or something like that when you give back the IPad. To this day I’ve never gotten a check but they send me a bill. They didn’t even less it from the bill. What a scam!!!! In the beginning they tell you you’ll be going to Chicago for a week, all expenses paid... please, it’s a low budget hotel with a room mate. Some random person from anywhere in America you have to spend the night with. I could’ve called them back and cussed them out. They never told me any of this. My managers were excellent. No complaints there. But the whole business model is more like a scam than a legit business.

    Advice to Management

    Be more upfront. Explain disclosures and let people know the potential downfalls if they need to leave this job

    Combined Insurance Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's true this type of sales is not easy, and we regret it wasn't a good fit for you. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.


  5. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Farmingdale, NY (US)
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Farmingdale, NY (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company if you’re excellent in sales.

    Cons

    Racism
    Favoritism
    Bullying
    Tough
    Intimidating
    Use your own vehicle, gas, meals etc.
    All my district Manager cared about was hitting initial numbers and you were on your own from there.
    They’ll sell you hopes and dreams and dig the ground below your feet.
    They’ll sell you this positivity BS which means nothing after sales school especially if you’re in the Long Island market

    Advice to Management

    Don’t give false hopes and dreams.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Top Training & Career Advancement
    Promotion based on merit- performance- hard work- not seniority.
    Top paid commissions for agents
    Great system in place for anyone who wants a real career.
    4 company paid trips per year (you have to earn them of course) you can bring a guest at no cost. Top accommodations.

    Cons

    There is really none. Some people come into the company thinking everything will be handed down to them. You have to work hard. Really hard. Help a lot of people to succeed in this business. They do say “give us a year and we will give you a career.”

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work!

    Combined Insurance Response

    11 May 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review! We always appreciate hearing from our current employees, and we thank you for mentioning all these “pros.” Our account executives and... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Life Changing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Buffalo, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Buffalo, NY (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is by far the best thing that has ever been presented to me! To start the amount of support this organization gives you is incredible and take it from a guy who has been in sales for 6 years and I was selling cars. Also take it from a guy who grew up in a bad area and very poor so I did not come from money and am self made and this company helped me get where I am today. This company is based on positivity PMA to be exact and that stands for positive mental attitude. Also they recognize you for everything you do good never what your doing wrong which does wonders for your confidence. Sounds pretty good so far doesn’t it? It gets even better! Their is a ton of room for growth so take me as an example I started as a new agent and I’ve been with the company for 15 weeks. In those 15 weeks I’ve been promoted two times and have been rewarded a 27% pay raise! Now I’m the Account Executive of the Niagara Region! Now if your thinking this is to good to be true it’s not and the pay is amazing you have weekly bonuses , monthly bonuses and yearly bonuses not including the trips they send you on! For example this year we’re going to Ireland like that’s amazing and it’s all paid for! So again use me as an example I take home after taxes between $1,400 - $1,900!!! Take home!!! Like this is real money and is a real pay and is achievable in just a short 14 weeks. If your out there trying to figure out what you want in life and want an opportunity to become very successful this is the place to be but WAIT theirs more!!! They have an amazing full benefits package with a phenomenal 401k plan. Also you can buy into company stocks at a 15% discount! This company has changed my life and I’m 24 with no insurance sales experience. So if your reading this and think this is to good to be true all I can say is give it a shot and see it for your self this changed my life and I’m writing this review so we as an company can change your life as well. Also Incase if your wondering I love my career I wake up every morning happy to go to work and I can’t say I have ever had they feeling before in my life so if you are not happy where you are in your life give this a try and see because it changes lives.

    Cons

    You have to be be willing to get up and go to work if you can do that their is no cons!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Combined Insurance Response

    20 Mar 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your inspiring story. Through our intensive week-long training, people with little to no experience can learn the skills they need to be successful in the... More

  8. Helpful (6)

    "OK job-the vast majority of people fail and no one cares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay structure. You are paid a much reduced commission rate by selling to existing customers, like you're penalized for servicing your customers. Trips and incentives are good, but the next trip is going to Ireland on St. Patrick's Day-even the Irish avoid it!

    Cons

    Awful management. The Sales Managers are on 100% commission and get a tiny override on their team so there isn't much incentive for them to help you out. You are expected to pay for all travel, even mandatory meetings that are located hours away and take you out of the field for 1-2 days. You get publicly shamed if you don't write business on a Monday...even if you are the top agent and work all weekend. PMA is in theory only. People work at Combined for 30 days or 30 years. Nothing innovative, no CRM, marketing, social media allowed. You can't even write an email to a potential client. You are absolutely on your own. The underwriting and marketing guidelines are ridiculous...you waste your time thinking you are doing the right thing for a client based on the information you are given but policies aren't issued. THEN it affects your bonus structure! There are so many better companies to work for-modern approach with better products. Don't drink the Kool-Aid. Go elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the people who sell your products. No one is more important. Pay attention to your competition. The 1922 model you use might need to be tweaked in 2017. Just saying. Give sales people accurate information on underwriting. Stop jerking clients around with claims. Don't expect us to hire your people. The bonus isn't worth the trouble.


  9. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Miami, FL (US)
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Miami, FL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Combined has the best health protectors

    Cons

    I have nothing to comment about


  10. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Macomb, MI (US)
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Macomb, MI (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    To give you all the tools you need to be successful. If you’re good with camber same door knocking and talk in the current customers then you will have a chance to make a good income

    Cons

    They give you all the tools you need to be successful. If you’re good with canvassing, door knocking and talk to current customers then you will have a chance to make a good income

    Advice to Management

    This is not an easy job must be willing to put the work into it to succeed. It’s not a structure job and is totally up to you to go to work. Very easy to just give up and stay home. There are days where there is a Lotta driving and long hours. You get out of it what you put into it if you want to make a good income you have to work

    Combined Insurance Response

    8 Feb 2018 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review. Our successful agents rely heavily on referrals from their happy customers to help build their customer-base, but it is true that agents must also... More