Combined Insurance Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated 11 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Joe Vasquez
Joe Vasquez
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 35 reviews)

  • "Combined Insurance changes my life through PMA(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can take long hours in the beginning- still worth it(in 43 reviews)

  • "Door-to-door sales and prospecting is required(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Don’t bother. There are better opportunities elsewhere."

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. If you want to be extremely frustrated, then, by all means, go for it. There’s a reason while they run an agent mill that cranks out new agents a few times a month. Virtually all agents flame out within 6 months.

    Cons

    Everything. If you want to spend all your commissions on gas, fast food, and vehicle wear and tear, then this is the perfect job for you! This company operates with an outdated door-to-door model. Most people don’t appreciate salesmen knocking on their door after dark in 2019. It was an accepted practice in 1949–but not now. Management will harass their sales people. I would get text messages in church at 10a.m. I would get texts from management while I was in bed at 10:30 pm. I’m not a trauma surgeon, and no one was bleeding to death. This manager was predatory in his sales practices and very uncouth in his interaction with employees. There is no such thing as work/life balance. What I have stated to true of probably 95 percent of this company’s sales force, most likely more. I could write for days about the sleazy practices that I noticed while working for Combined.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Agent"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Mooresville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Money is good when you make a sale, Nice trips you can win

    Cons

    Discord in Charlotte and Mooresville regions. High turnover. Advanced paychecks put you at risk for having charge backs. Door-to-door sales and prospecting is required. The leads aren't a good source to new employees.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. Our sales agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales, as well as other incentives, and they have the flexibility to manage their schedule around what is best for their customers. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were literally none management is aweful

    Cons

    Door to door sales Glorified MLM Have to guilt people into buying it

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Door to door cold selling and misleading"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in East Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Part of Chubb Insurance Group.

    Cons

    Combined it not know at all in the market. Cold calling door to door sells, waist of time. Not enough information at the beginning. No respect from local senior management. High turn over.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 7, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's true this type of sales can be difficult, but we encourage you to reach out to your leadership to request further assistance with training. We wish you all the best in your future with us!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "sales"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you get to go to a 5 star hotel for the first 2 weeks to hear all the propaganda and learn the sales pitch you are supposed to try to get someone to buy supplemental insurance, they also pay for you to get your insurance sales license, 400 each week for the first 2 weeks.

    Cons

    Mandatory weekly pep talk conferences, cold calling, old leads, driving over an hour to your territory then walking door to door , knocking on doors. pay not commensurate with the hours.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Remember those door to door sales men???"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The apps you work with are very simple and easy to understand. The Training was very good. Company Issued Ipad to conduct your business, free business cards. They have some great products also

    Cons

    You do not have any leads like they say you will. The only "leads" are current policy holders and a list of nearby businesses that are only a lead because they are public knowledge. You literally are a door to door sales person. If you cant sell door to door you will not survive. Had weekly meetings.... way too many along with group messages all day and night and multiple of the groups for no reason on your personal cell and not on just on the company Ipad. The Ipad also has group messages so your being bothered all day and night even if your not working that day or if it doesn't even pertain to you.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 26, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are happy to hear that you felt training was "very good", as it is our goal to make sure our agents are ready for success in the field. It's true this type of sales is not for everyone, and we regret it wasn't a good fit for you. We will share your comments with the appropriate teams, and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Market Manager at Combined Insurance Company of America"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When you do well you are definitely recognized and the trips are great.

    Cons

    Your a hero one day and loser the day. Upper Management along the East Coast is ruthless. You are definitely micro manage. They expect you to go door to door six days a week.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 29, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this feedback. It's true this type of sales is not for everyone, and we regret it wasn't a good fit for you. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Charlottetown, PE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I almost tear up daily at the opportunity this company has given to me, my family, my team and my clients. My favorite part of job is explaining to people with cancer we are going to pay them for their hospitalization and treatments, telling them that they have access to some of the best doctors in the world. Telling people that spend weeks in the hospital that got burned that are stressed out about getting back to work....that they have up to three times the days they spend in to recover. I have the best job in the world and I do see some people come and go and have bad things to say about combined, all I have to say is that your attitude defines everything. Please don't lose an opportunity for with this amazing company weather it be a career or coverage over someone else's' negative attitude or experience.

    Cons

    No Cons some people don't like door to door sales....however how are you going to change someone's life if you don't try....? "there is nothing to lose by trying, and a great deal to gain by succeeding" our founder W. clement stone the most amazing man in the world google his accomplishments!

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    June 26, 2015HR Representative

    Thank you for your kind review. We are honored to have such a dedicated and caring advocate who is representing us daily. As you mentioned, our goal is to help people but it would not be possible without employees such as yourself. We also appreciate you recognizing our founder, W. Clement Stone, in your post. His philosophies and words of wisdom are still foundational to who we are as a company today – especially his #1 success principle PMA (Positive Mental Attitude). Thank you again for your generous response. It is always nice to receive feedback from our employees in the US and abroad. We wish you many years of continued success with Combined Insurance.

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to learn sales and move on"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Sales Agent in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    Sales school is top notch While I would not recommend to a friend, it is a great entry level sales job to learn how to sale Products are very strong, especially accident policy Freedom to set own schedule W2 employee, so taxes are done and benefits are available, but expensive

    Cons

    Cold-call selling door to door residential is vicious No training on how to build B2B business Very hard to compete in B2B settings - will lose to the Duck more often than not 100% commission Chargebacks - and there will be lots of them. You may find yourself in the negatives frequently and being without a decent paycheck for weeks at a time No support in the field, even with a good TM. Tons of meaningless meetings and rallies that waste time/money/energy Turnover rate is very high; company places no value on employee retention. Average new hire lasts less than six months. No expense reimbursement at all Underwriting is very slow Claims are even slower Life and disability policies aren't priced competitively at all. Absolutely no name recognition as the company does no advertising; actually had a client question whether or not this was a scam while filling out the application. Doing the right thing for the customer isn't always the idea, going against their corporate mantra; helping a customer to get out of an old policy that no longer makes any sense and putting them into a better new product is not only frowned upon, it can cost you your job.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 20, 2016Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company and for mentioning that our “sales school is top notch.” It is our aim that our Agents will learn the fundamentals of great selling and then stay with us throughout their career, but it’s true that sales is not for everyone. We have an array of products for Agents to offer to their clients. In fact, we have been recognized by the Ward Group on its annual Ward’s Top Performing Life-Health Insurance Companies for the past six years. We are always striving to improve and we appreciate your feedback. We will share this with leadership. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Insurance Sales Rep"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Folks are nice and helpful, especially agents since we are all in the same boat hustling.

    Cons

    Talk to 100 people a day outside or door to door and shove your sales in their throat. Exhausting walking or driving around all day long.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    August 29, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is our goal to make sure everyone leaves training feeling confident and ready to sell, and we regret this was not your experience. We will share your feedback with our training department. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

Work at Combined Insurance? Share Your Experiences

Combined Insurance logo
or