Combined Insurance "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Combined Insurance Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 744 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance CEO Kevin Goulding
Kevin Goulding
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 30 reviews)

  • "This company is based on positivity PMA to be exact and that stands for positive mental attitude(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of long hours and endless meetings(in 40 reviews)

  • "They expect you to go door to door six days a week(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Well Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in East Farmingdale, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The income potential is unlimited and the training is excellent. After graduating from sales school, my manager showed my the ropes and after a few weeks I was pretty much on my own. It takes hard work, but it is well worth it They teach you everything you need to know to be successful- you just need to apply yourself and do it I have already been on a few company trips- and they are awesome. So far I have been to Cancun, Montreal and Ireland- ALL on the company- I was able to bring my spouse as well

    Cons

    It can take long hours in the beginning- still worth it

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2019-04-22

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 29, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! We appreciate your honesty: to be successful takes hard work. But, the hard work and dedication can pay off. Our agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales. We are thrilled to hear that your manager was instrumental in helping you get off to a good start. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  2. "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training to acquire knowledge and develop skills. Personal responsibility to keep on track.

    Cons

    Can often be long hours.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2019-04-21

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 30, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We strive to prepare our agents for success in the field during their onsite training, and it's our goal to help them continue to develop skills once in the field. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    Terrific coworkers. Pay not bad. Overtime.

    Cons

    No bonuses for non salary employees. Mostly upper and management. Lots of long hours and endless meetings.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2019-02-10

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you have terrific coworkers, as we strive to maintain a family-like environment. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Early Career Professionals..Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My Team...hands down. They were my only support system and made coming to work every day bearable . Vacation Policy. Work from Home Options. Gym on-site (Discounted Rate). Easy Location to commute to.

    Cons

    Director Level Manager does not invest time for professional development and lateral or vertical movement. Delegates tasks to others on the team without taking any initiative to complete them his/herself. For an Early Careers Professional, the department is very transactional and always works to the "next Monday" which provides extensive long hours and weekend work in order to achieve business needs. The company as a whole is a big boys club, and lacks diversity of thought. Extremely traditional mindsets which include dress code, pay, and availability after hours. (work life balance is not a priority, even on vacation you need to be able to access email and phone.) During the duration of my employment I had three direct managers, which eludes to the high turnover in the business as a whole. As an Early Careers Professional, this company lacks initiative and growth in order to attract this demographic and retain them in both corporate and sales environments. Especially from a competitive compensation, this company pays on the low end of the range.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2019-01-17

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate your feedback, and we take it seriously. We are happy to hear that you felt supported by your team, and we thank you for sharing other pros like our work from home options when appropriate, the on-site gym and our vacation policy. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  5. "Its a double edged sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Security Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Self-Employed so a lot of freedom: hours, unlimited income, -great support and training -a constantly improoving company, possibility of quick advancement -Encourages self-improvement -Great commission, bonuses and by-yearly trips -lifetime royalties ...

    Cons

    -Requires a lot of discipline and autonomy -If you cant cut it you'll probably wont make the first year -Its not a job, its a career. Work/life balance will need to adjust... To succed you need to work hard and long hours. The the success is limitless

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-10-02
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Long hours ok pay poor training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay if you are good with people.

    Cons

    Long hours (5 to 6 10 to 12 hour days) an excessive amount of meetings. Meetings twice a week and sent out of town for meetings about once a month effectively losing 2 days of field work.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-09-04

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 26, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's true this type of sales is not for everyone, and we regret it wasn't a good fit for you. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule You Control Your Income

    Cons

    Heavy Travel Long Hours No Time Off Unresponsive Local Management

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-08-21

    Combined Insurance Response

    August 29, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Our agents enjoy an entrepreneurial-like opportunity to sell on their own schedule, make a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales, and to run their business according to what works best for them and their customers. It's true it's not easy, and it's not for everyone. We regret it wasn't a good fit for you, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  8. "Unlimited growth potential .. for the right people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    Unilimited money potential. Money structure can be great. Team events. Fun atmosphere. Fun meeting new people and getting them insurance that can protect their paycheck. Your in a sense your own boss.

    Cons

    Chargebacks can whipe a big sale out since the company pays you the commission of the year upfront, if the client cancels in a few months, you still have to pay the commission back. No base salary so you have to be money management for the slower weeks. Takes a while to get really started. Long hours, which wasn’t a problem for me but can be for a lot of people. You drive a lot and there is no gas remburstment.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-05-07

    Combined Insurance Response

    May 14, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share this review. We always appreciate hearing from our current employees! The sales careers at Combined Insurance are entrepreneurial-like because our agents and account executives have control over their own schedules and have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales. They also have the satisfaction of helping their customers choose products that may protect them when they need it most. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "This company has great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer in Williamsport, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commissions 401(k) match Bonuses You can earn awesome trips Training is wonderfully intense Great resources You can earn $40,000-$60,000 your first year without any experience.

    Cons

    Commission only Long hours Competition between teams can be very aggressive. This is a very high pressure job. Company says the value families but they don’t want you taking any time off with family issues.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-03-20

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 2, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review. We especially appreciate hearing from our current employees. Combined Insurance agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales. We also offer a comprehensive bonus package, bonuses and incentives. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Beckley, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. The best part of working for Combined is the opportunity to advance in the company based on your own merit not seniority. Having the opportunity to help change peoples lives for the better on a day to day basis is truly a blessing. The employees you work with and develop and policyholders you can help provide security and peace of mind to is just amazing. The compensation program and benefit program employees recieve is highlighted by an amazing company matching 401k, Basic Retirement Plan and a Stock Purchase Program with a 15% discount.

    Cons

    The insurance business is a high calling and it is not for everyone. You have to understand in many cases you are communicating with policyholders in their darkest hour (death, injury or illness) these times are very emotional. Therefore a successful insurance professional has to be willing to work long hours in order to be there for their policyholders in time of need. You must also be willing to practice emotional intelligence as you will be working with different types of life events your policyholders are experiencing.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-02-28

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 3, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive, realistic review of what it takes to be a successful agent at Combined Insurance. We always appreciate hearing from our current employees! Like you, many reviewers mention that one thing they love about being an agent is that they have the ability to offer products to their customers that may help them when they need it most. We offer a comprehensive benefits package, merit-based promotions, and extra incentives and awards. Thanks again and we wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
Found 744 reviews