Combined Insurance Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 19 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Joe Vasquez
Joe Vasquez
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 35 reviews)

  • "Combined Insurance changes my life through PMA(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can take long hours in the beginning- still worth it(in 43 reviews)

  • "Door-to-door sales and prospecting is required(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Long hours commission only"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good to make own hours, commission is good

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of travel, No base pay

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Early Career Professionals..Beware"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My Team...hands down. They were my only support system and made coming to work every day bearable . Vacation Policy. Work from Home Options. Gym on-site (Discounted Rate). Easy Location to commute to.

    Cons

    Director Level Manager does not invest time for professional development and lateral or vertical movement. Delegates tasks to others on the team without taking any initiative to complete them his/herself. For an Early Careers Professional, the department is very transactional and always works to the "next Monday" which provides extensive long hours and weekend work in order to achieve business needs. The company as a whole is a big boys club, and lacks diversity of thought. Extremely traditional mindsets which include dress code, pay, and availability after hours. (work life balance is not a priority, even on vacation you need to be able to access email and phone.) During the duration of my employment I had three direct managers, which eludes to the high turnover in the business as a whole. As an Early Careers Professional, this company lacks initiative and growth in order to attract this demographic and retain them in both corporate and sales environments. Especially from a competitive compensation, this company pays on the low end of the range.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate your feedback, and we take it seriously. We are happy to hear that you felt supported by your team, and we thank you for sharing other pros like our work from home options when appropriate, the on-site gym and our vacation policy. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!


  3. "Hard Work and Ethics Determine Success."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Edison, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base pay plus commissions, W2 Employment, Full benefits package (including 401K, medical, dental, vision, life insurance, discounted stock and more) and positive mental attitude!

    Cons

    Long hours to start(first 6 months to 1 year)

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review!

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Well Worth It"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in East Farmingdale, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The income potential is unlimited and the training is excellent. After graduating from sales school, my manager showed my the ropes and after a few weeks I was pretty much on my own. It takes hard work, but it is well worth it They teach you everything you need to know to be successful- you just need to apply yourself and do it I have already been on a few company trips- and they are awesome. So far I have been to Cancun, Montreal and Ireland- ALL on the company- I was able to bring my spouse as well

    Cons

    It can take long hours in the beginning- still worth it

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 29, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! We appreciate your honesty: to be successful takes hard work. But, the hard work and dedication can pay off. Our agents have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales. We are thrilled to hear that your manager was instrumental in helping you get off to a good start. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Stay away even your bosses steal your leads."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in Newburgh, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the products are good.

    Cons

    Long hours, supervisors are abusive and will call and steal your clients behind your back, customers have to fight to get their claims paid. Large amounts of chargebacks.

    Continue reading
  6. "Its a double edged sword"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Financial Security Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Self-Employed so a lot of freedom: hours, unlimited income, -great support and training -a constantly improoving company, possibility of quick advancement -Encourages self-improvement -Great commission, bonuses and by-yearly trips -lifetime royalties ...

    Cons

    -Requires a lot of discipline and autonomy -If you cant cut it you'll probably wont make the first year -Its not a job, its a career. Work/life balance will need to adjust... To succed you need to work hard and long hours. The the success is limitless

    Continue reading
  7. "Great employees"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Combined Insurance

    Pros

    Terrific coworkers. Pay not bad. Overtime.

    Cons

    No bonuses for non salary employees. Mostly upper and management. Lots of long hours and endless meetings.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you have terrific coworkers, as we strive to maintain a family-like environment. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

  8. "Lots of opportunity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training to acquire knowledge and develop skills. Personal responsibility to keep on track.

    Cons

    Can often be long hours.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 30, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We strive to prepare our agents for success in the field during their onsite training, and it's our goal to help them continue to develop skills once in the field. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

  9. Helpful (8)

    "Long hours ok pay poor training"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay if you are good with people.

    Cons

    Long hours (5 to 6 10 to 12 hour days) an excessive amount of meetings. Meetings twice a week and sent out of town for meetings about once a month effectively losing 2 days of field work.

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 26, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's true this type of sales is not for everyone, and we regret it wasn't a good fit for you. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Beckley, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. The best part of working for Combined is the opportunity to advance in the company based on your own merit not seniority. Having the opportunity to help change peoples lives for the better on a day to day basis is truly a blessing. The employees you work with and develop and policyholders you can help provide security and peace of mind to is just amazing. The compensation program and benefit program employees recieve is highlighted by an amazing company matching 401k, Basic Retirement Plan and a Stock Purchase Program with a 15% discount.

    Cons

    The insurance business is a high calling and it is not for everyone. You have to understand in many cases you are communicating with policyholders in their darkest hour (death, injury or illness) these times are very emotional. Therefore a successful insurance professional has to be willing to work long hours in order to be there for their policyholders in time of need. You must also be willing to practice emotional intelligence as you will be working with different types of life events your policyholders are experiencing.

    Continue reading

    Combined Insurance Response

    April 3, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive, realistic review of what it takes to be a successful agent at Combined Insurance. We always appreciate hearing from our current employees! Like you, many reviewers mention that one thing they love about being an agent is that they have the ability to offer products to their customers that may help them when they need it most. We offer a comprehensive benefits package, merit-based promotions, and extra incentives and awards. Thanks again and we wish you all the best in your future here with us!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Work at Combined Insurance? Share Your Experiences

Combined Insurance logo
or