Combined Insurance "positive mental" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Combined Insurance Employee Reviews about "positive mental"

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 744 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance CEO Kevin Goulding
Kevin Goulding
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training provided for new sales agents(in 30 reviews)

  • "This company is based on positivity PMA to be exact and that stands for positive mental attitude(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of long hours and endless meetings(in 40 reviews)

  • "They expect you to go door to door six days a week(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "positive mental"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Give Combined a year for a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Specialist/Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive Mental Attitude. Lifetime experience.

    Cons

    Limited range residuals. Too many apps rejected and not approved.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2019-02-22

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review! Our founder, W. Clement Stone, believed having a positive mental attitudie, or PMA, was key for success, and we have found that it is a huge factor for many of our agents' success. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Bedford, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The workplace environment is amazing with the pma Philosophy( positive mental attitude) I am in charge of my schedule and income. They train at all levels after 13 yes I still get great training and support from my management team.

    Cons

    This is sales!!! If you can't handle that this is not the career path for you. Most people that have many cons about combined just couldn't do it and rather than admit it blame this great organization. This company has given my family a new life. I make such figures and have secured financial freedom.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-09-06

    Combined Insurance Response

    September 20, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this positive review! We work hard to make sure our employees get the training and support they need, so it's great to hear that after 13 years you still fell well-supported. We wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Life Changing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is by far the best thing that has ever been presented to me! To start the amount of support this organization gives you is incredible and take it from a guy who has been in sales for 6 years and I was selling cars. Also take it from a guy who grew up in a bad area and very poor so I did not come from money and am self made and this company helped me get where I am today. This company is based on positivity PMA to be exact and that stands for positive mental attitude. Also they recognize you for everything you do good never what your doing wrong which does wonders for your confidence. Sounds pretty good so far doesn’t it? It gets even better! Their is a ton of room for growth so take me as an example I started as a new agent and I’ve been with the company for 15 weeks. In those 15 weeks I’ve been promoted two times and have been rewarded a 27% pay raise! Now I’m the Account Executive of the Niagara Region! Now if your thinking this is to good to be true it’s not and the pay is amazing you have weekly bonuses , monthly bonuses and yearly bonuses not including the trips they send you on! For example this year we’re going to Ireland like that’s amazing and it’s all paid for! So again use me as an example I take home after taxes between $1,400 - $1,900!!! Take home!!! Like this is real money and is a real pay and is achievable in just a short 14 weeks. If your out there trying to figure out what you want in life and want an opportunity to become very successful this is the place to be but WAIT theirs more!!! They have an amazing full benefits package with a phenomenal 401k plan. Also you can buy into company stocks at a 15% discount! This company has changed my life and I’m 24 with no insurance sales experience. So if your reading this and think this is to good to be true all I can say is give it a shot and see it for your self this changed my life and I’m writing this review so we as an company can change your life as well. Also Incase if your wondering I love my career I wake up every morning happy to go to work and I can’t say I have ever had they feeling before in my life so if you are not happy where you are in your life give this a try and see because it changes lives.

    Cons

    You have to be be willing to get up and go to work if you can do that their is no cons!

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-02-27

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 20, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your inspiring story. Through our intensive week-long training, people with little to no experience can learn the skills they need to be successful in the field. Our agents have the opportunity to earn a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales, and we offer a comprehensive benefits package, bonuses, awards and merit-based promotions. Congratulations on your success, and we wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Know what you are getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    The emphasis on the importance of having a positive mental attitude.

    Cons

    Total commission job. Charge-backs. You will be at the gas station often. A focus on a positive mental attitude but that attitude does not include positively believing that you are worth paying at the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2018-03-01

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 20, 2018Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. Having a positive mental attitude, or PMA, is key for being able to persevere through the natural ups and downs of commission-only sales. It’s true that this type of sales is not for everyone, and we regret it wasn’t a good fit for you. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Combined Insurance is an excellent company to work for. Their training and compassion for employees to succeed is unmatched, and the earning potential is unlimited. In addition, they offer amazing benefits including healthcare and 401k. Everyone has a great positive mental attitude to keep you motivated and inspired to work hard. Many opportunities to grow and advance as well as constant recognition and incentives for hard work

    Cons

    There is a bit of a learning curve when first starting, however with the great training provided by managers on a daily basis it is almost impossible to fail. There are no specific hours, so if you do not manage your time properly you will not do well at this job.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-10-11

    Combined Insurance Response

    October 13, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you so much for sharing this thorough, thoughtful review. We especially appreciate hearing from our current employees, and we couldn’t agree more that we have a passion for making sure our agents succeed! From the top-notch training to the ongoing support our agents get in the field, our number one focus is to make sure our agents have what they need to succeed. We also provide a comprehensive benefits package and merit-based promotions as well as extra awards and incentives to keep our agents motivated. Thanks again and we wish you all the best in your future here with us!

    Continue reading
  6. "Excellent Corporate Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working internally for Combined in Chicago is absolutely the best job I've had. The Positive Mental Attitude pillar is upheld by every person I work with and meet almost every day. I think that attitude is fostered by the supportive, creative and innovative environment where we are all encouraged to learn every day. It doesn't hurt to have great benefits and transparent relationships with upper management either. This is truly a special place to work! I highly recommend Combined for people just starting out in finance, actuarial, or underwriting.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-06-30

    Combined Insurance Response

    July 28, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you so much for this positive review! We strive to be a great place to work, and it's so great to hear that you love our corporate environment. We wish you all the best in your career here with us!

    Continue reading
  7. "Combined Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Combined Sales Representative in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started working for Combined Insurance in December and I must say this is the best opportunity I could find to build my career. I didn't come from an insurance industry background, and I was a little skeptical about changing my career path, but after I had an interview with HR and management to learn more about this company and career growth opportunity, I decided to take it to the next level. From that day on, I received all the training and support I needed to be successful, including one week training with all expenses paid in Chicago. In addition, the sales manager is constantly providing leads and on the field training & support to guarantee your financial success and growth within the company from day one, plus the company provides weekly bonus and other awesome incentives! You will have plenty of appointments and referrals if you follow the system. I like the flexible schedule with uncapped income potential. I highly recommend working for Combined Insurance, and I also share the company philosophy of success in three simple words: Positive Mental Attitude - PMA.

    Cons

    Sometimes evenings and weekends appointments, but that's part of serving your clients by accommodating to their schedule.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-02-28

    Combined Insurance Response

    March 14, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you for sharing this positive review! As a current employee, we especially value your input. We appreciate that you shared you are “receiving all the training and support you need to be successful.” At Combined, it is our goal to provide our agents with a foundation that prepare them for success. Then, we continue to support their development through ongoing training and coaching. As you mentioned, our agents have the ability to create their own schedule to best accommodate the needs of their customers. For this reason and the fact that they have a virtually unlimited income potential based on the volume of their sales, this job is entrepreneurial in nature. We applaud your PMA and wish you all the best in your career here with us!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "100% Commission, No Leads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training in Chicago is spectacular! Good products. Positive Mental Attitude approach is kinda dumb but it works!

    Cons

    Driving to the ends of the earth to reach assigned territory. "Leads" is a binder of current customers and a list of businesses in the area. No name recognition (no one has ever heard of Combined Insurance). 100% cold calling + 100% commission = Go work somewhere else

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2017-01-19

    Combined Insurance Response

    February 10, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company and for mentioning our excellent product line. Our agents do work on 100% commissions and are responsible for generating most of their leads, as well as enjoying the flexibility to set up their own schedule. We understand sales is not for everyone, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Sales Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager In Kansas in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Company where your earning potential is unlimited as well as advancement. I started my career with Combined in February of 2016 became An Account Executive within three months and a Territory Manager within my first six months with this company. We at Combined believe in always having and Positive Mental Attitude, with the tools no training I have received I can accomplish anything. I recommend Combined Insurance to anyone whom has the desire to help protect people along with making a great living

    Cons

    This is not an 8-5 job, if you want to be successful you must work hard. Sometimes in the evening hours or weekends. I don't feel this to be a negative because I knew my hard work and dedication would pay off.

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2016-12-01

    Combined Insurance Response

    January 5, 2017Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share this positive review! As a current employee, your review is especially important to us, and we appreciate your insights. As you mentioned, we prepare our agents to be successful through an intensive week of in-house training followed by continued support in the field. Our agents have a virtually unlimited income potential based on the volume of their sales, and, like you, many of our agents share with us that they truly appreciate being able to offer their clients products that help them in their time of need. Congratulations on your career advancements-it is our goal to promote and reward high performance. Thanks again for sharing this realistic review of what it takes to be successful here: the right attitude and hard work. We wish you all the best in your career here with us!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome Opportunity .. Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SD Insurance Agent in Rapid City, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Wes Wickum, Dean Mueller and Kim Lambert are an amazing team. They are very supportive and teach you how to be a success! Great training and leadership. I worked for two other insurance companies and found the training to be lacking. Enjoyed meeting the CEO and other support staff during training. Great compensation and easy product to sell if you keep a Positive Mental Attitude!! I love making great commissions and bonuses. Massive opportunities for the right people, the ones that want to be a success and work hard to make it happen.

    Cons

    There are none, unless you expect the company to give you a paycheck for being lazy. If you fail, it's because you didn't put in the effort to learn and create your own destiny. Yes ... you have to work hard .. grow up and accept responsibility for your own success!! They give you the tools ... USE them!!

    Continue reading
    Combined Insurance2016-08-18

    Combined Insurance Response

    August 18, 2016Social Media Manager

    Thank you! It’s great to hear from our current employees, and we especially like hearing that you’ve enjoyed “great training and leadership.” Sounds like you have had a really amazing support team. As you mention, people who excel in their sales career here have the ability to earn a virtually unlimited income, and we have quality products that can make a real difference in people’s lives. It sounds like you have the right attitude to have a successful career here at Combined Insurance. We wish you all the best!

    Continue reading
Found 744 reviews