Commonwealth Bank of Australia Sydney Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Commonwealth Bank of Australia Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Matt Comyn (no image)
Matt Comyn
633 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good place to work at.

    10 Jun 2021 - Product Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good management in the Product Management department.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape due to bureaucracy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good job

    24 May 2021 - Project Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a big place that has a lot of flexibility. The current CEO is a very switched on bloke and has taken the bank far in to the future than that old Kiwi. WFH is a key attribute and the people and culture is great. If something isn't right it gets called out and dealt with asap, where friends with other banks are riddled with senior managers thinking they can speak with women as if they own them. Well done CBA, good job on having a great speak up culture, i don't feel like I have to risk my job by reprimanding senior leaders for interesting/dirty behaviour like other work places I've been.

    Cons

    They pay is the only down fall for me at the moment, it's on par with some other banks but is not the highest which makes you think is it better to get paid less and be happy or paid more and no happy. Be happy I say, but some more money is always nice as well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 5 years

    Love my job but too much micromanaging (RACO)

    22 Apr 2021 - ECDD & Investigations Analyst in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - CBA has the best systems - up to date tech - The role is intriguing and very interesting - always a new challenge and really enjoyable. - Flexible working arrangements is great - Ongoing training and support - Friendly staff

    Cons

    - Office politics - use and abuse of power - Contract workers are excluded from the group even though we all do the same work - for example not included in Christmas parties/dinner. A little hypocritical since the group is all about 'being inclusive'. - Zero culture within RACO; it feels more like a jail and we are slaves - Heavily micromanaged which can make you feel like you're 'walking on eggshells' and less motivated - Everything is tracked; example going to the bathroom - every second of the shift is being observed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent opportunity

    9 Jun 2021 - Equities Associate in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic place to start your career

    Cons

    In the role for 12-18 months

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Business Analyst

    9 Jun 2021 - Business Analyst in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Switched on co-workers and directors Encourages career progression regularly Positive work culture A lot of meaningful work

    Cons

    Compensation is slightly above average

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Pivotal time to work at the Commonwealth Bank

    24 May 2021 - IT Service Portfolio Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good values, enterprise mindset, great teaming, hybrid working, cool technologies

    Cons

    Can be long hours if don't have good self control

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    PROUD

    25 May 2021 - Branch Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with CBA for 25yrs, and if you work for a Company and are not PROUD, then what are you doing working for them. I am PROUD to work for CBA and I would recommend CBA to someone that is passionate in helping and caring for others

    Cons

    There are NONE, you make it what you put into it...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work for

    5 Jun 2021 - Analyst in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Enjoyable culture, development opportunities, great leaders

    Cons

    below market pay and little room for increases each year.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Kyc

    3 Jun 2021 - KYC Analyst in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, good culture in the bank

    Cons

    Not much progression in the bank

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good bank to work with

    10 Jun 2021 - Service Delivery Lead in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    management, work life balance is good

    Cons

    lots of controls around 1 team

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,645 Reviews

Popular Careers with Commonwealth Bank of Australia Job Seekers

Customer Service Representative
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Customer Service Representative (Teller)
Learn About the Job

Work at Commonwealth Bank of Australia? Share Your Experiences

Commonwealth Bank of Australia logo
or