Commonwealth Bank of Australia Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 338 of over 3,486 reviews

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Commonwealth Bank of Australia Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Matt Comyn (no image)
Matt Comyn
1,128 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, growth both vertically and horizontally(in 305 reviews)

  • "Flexible Working and excellent technical exposure(in 230 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lots of red tape because of the nature of the business(in 94 reviews)

  • "Large organisation that is getting more nimble(in 66 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best work life balance and company culture encountered in my professional life

      Jan 21, 2021 - Senior Technical Analyst (IAM) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely flexible work-life balance Supportive managers Amazing Staff One of the most flexible work arrangements

      Cons

      Because work is so flexible you might not be able to work anywhere else

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best job yet

      Jan 11, 2021 - Arrears Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professional attitude, but very laid back in my business unit, great work/life balance.

      Cons

      It's much more difficult for large organizations to be nimble enough to think on their feet and manoeuvre quickly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Flexible, friendly and forever workplace for me!

      Sep 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility- I have 3 young children and my manager is very understanding and considerate towards my work/life balance needs & also being able to WFH during difficult times such as the current pandemic. Growth opportunities- regular meetings with management on performance and workload and opportunities to up-skill and work on projects. Strong brand and reputation - it’s gone through it's up's & downs but always feel safe and have job security. I believe it's a great place to work and I plan to remain working at CBA for as long as I can!

      Cons

      Depending on your team and location can have a bit ‘click’ culture where people who aren’t into the same things can feel excluded.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      Jan 20, 2021 - Associate in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, work life balance is really good, awesome people.

      Cons

      Such a large company comes with many legacy systems and processes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Average company to start with.

      Dec 18, 2020 - Branch Support Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very easy to grow. All you need is good comm skill.

      Cons

      This is from a branch perspective. No work life balance. College drop outs and people from McDonald's and KFC work here. I am from a private school and it is beneath me to work with people like this who are neither intelligent nor from a decent education background work here. Basically not bright minds. A 10th yr fail student can do this job . Anyone who has slightly better potential will not work in this junk yard.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great work life balance and overall work

      Jan 19, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, growth both vertically and horizontally

      Cons

      A lot of red tape to deal with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Loved it

      Dec 28, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - high performing culture - good work life balance - excellent pay - good benefits

      Cons

      - can't think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Opportunistic low-balling of staff

      Oct 23, 2020 - Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work life balance -Less toxic than other workplaces

      Cons

      - While the other big banks have given their employess a pay rise of 3% or 2.5% across the board, CBA have behaved in a predatory and opportunistic fashion by denying a significant portion of their employees any pay rise this year. This is a slap in the face to the same staff who have worked hard for CBA to still achieve its objectives and turn a $7.3bn profit after tax and while paying their executives and senior leaders bonuses and pay rises. CBA has been making a big deal post the Royal Commission that it cares about the financial wellbeing of it staff and customers, but that has made a total mockery of that marketing ploy. It recently announced yet another cut to savings interest rate which is a slap in the face of its customers it claims to care about.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

      We’re sorry you feel this way. We’re committed to improving the financial wellbeing of people, communities and businesses. We also aim to make CommBank a place where our employees love what they do and feel appreciated. Your feedback is important to us and we’ve shared your feedback with the Human Resources team. In order for us to take action we encourage you to contact our HR Direct Team on 1800 989 696 or our anonymous hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 773 258) if you’d like to provide any further feedback.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Big company

      Dec 31, 2020 - Full Stack Web Developer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work-life balance, flexible working hours

      Cons

      Less opportunity to grow, old tech stacks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall great place to work!

      Dec 26, 2020 - Risk Analyst in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, work/life balance, development opportunities and exposure.

      Cons

      Salary is slightly below average.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 338 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Commonwealth Bank of Australia Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Commonwealth Bank of Australia? Share Your Experiences

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia logo
    or