Contiki Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Contiki Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
Contiki CEO Adam Cooper (no image)
Adam Cooper
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendships with coworkers, one free lunch and after work drinks per month(in 6 reviews)

  • "Amazing company culture, incredible work-life balance, super fun place to work(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cliques within management team, low pay, lack of career development, micromanaging style of leadership(in 6 reviews)

  • "Away from home a lot during peak season (but off-set with home a lot of low season so I had no real issues with it)(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Youth Like Minded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Contiki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, supportive management team

    Cons

    Limited positions available within Australia means progression is more difficult

    Contiki2017-10-08
  2. "Fun but only if you are a favourite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent in Bondi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Contiki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work Good people your team leaders generally care alot about you Friday drinks

    Cons

    Kind of a high school vibe if you aren't a favorite you don't really matter Super low pay The rotating roster is inconvenient

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equally , Listen to your staff about things going on

    Contiki2019-09-18
  3. "Direct Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Perks such as free lunches, drinks and parties. Team nights and meetings help to bond with your team

    Cons

    Definitely didnt feel welcome when I started in my role. Favouritism shown from management to certain people, seems hard to get in with the "in crowd" to get career progression, not much useful training or coaching provided. It seems that management don't have much of an imagination when it comes to helping you get better at your job and progress your career.

    Advice to Management

    Welcome new people so they actually want to work there. Stop showing so much favouritism to certain people and treat people equally. Opportunities need to be shared around and not always given to the same people. Get more creative in coaching and training so people actually learn and it isn't a waste of time. Listen to staff when they want to progress their career and support them - all of them, not just your... favourites.

    Show More
    Contiki2019-05-13
  4. "Good fun, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    Great people Fun environment Good if you love travel

    Cons

    Very low pay, especially for London

    Contiki2019-02-20
  5. "On site team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Site Team Member 

    I worked at Contiki full-time

    Pros

    Free food Free accommodation Fun team work role All round work on the site Good experience

    Cons

    Pressure to party every night despite health Overworked Not a very experienced on site manager due to it being a very young crew

    Contiki2019-02-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Reservations Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reserevations Agent in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Contiki full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendships with coworkers, one free lunch and after work drinks per month.

    Cons

    Cliques within management team, low pay, lack of career development, micromanaging style of leadership

    Advice to Management

    Treat your low level employees well and be careful not to make them feel like outsiders, if you focus on your favourites then you will lose the respect from the rest of your team

    Contiki2018-09-06
  7. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Contiki has been a brilliant career move and has opened up so many opportunities for me to grow within my role and continue to add to my skill set. The leadership team are supportive and always willing to listen to any ideas you have.

    Cons

    There may be times when you have to work the occasional weekend but you are rewarded for the time worked.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your support with internal promotions and progression.

    Contiki2017-08-04
  8. "The brand vs shared services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in Bondi
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Contiki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the brand, the values & improvements made in 2015 to the company culture. Sales & marketing are better at communicating with other departments. The leadership team are great.

    Cons

    The shared services team members have gotten much better at communicating, however the person in charge is not a good leader and manages through manipulating and bullying.

    Advice to Management

    Carefully evaluate your shared services GM

    Contiki2016-11-04
  9. "Reservations, Sydney, Bondi Junction Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Reservations Sales Agent in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Contiki

    Pros

    Fun, drinks on Friday, free lunches

    Cons

    Low pay, Low discounts on tours. No career progression, Management does not really care about your career. Lots of people apply so you feel you can be replaced easily.

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about career progression and staff members, dont just throw free food and drinks at staff to keep them happy

    Contiki2016-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities to grow and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bondi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Contiki for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career opportunities, great team culture, great leadership from the top (Dave Hosking, Casper Urhammer and Katrina Barry) all the way down, great events and the most fun in a job I have ever had

    Cons

    Pay is well below average even for the travel industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing but sort out the salary and bonuses

    Contiki2015-09-16
Found 43 reviews