Control Risks Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Control Risks Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Control Risks CEO Richard Fenning
Richard Fenning
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Actually that is only the case when it serves senior management(in 13 reviews)

  • "Misogynistic, old boy network who works on military rank not commercial experience or qualifications(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company and great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control Risks

    Pros

    Very intelligent and experienced staff. Great opportunities for travel and career advancement within the organisation. Not pushed to the extreme, but given opportunities to excel.

    Cons

    No real cons. Exposure to fantastic and really interesting work, given opportunity to advance within the organisation. Good senior management team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, give slight more direction for some of the younger staff. But remain engaged as usual, and continue to provide direction for the business.

    Control Risks2015-11-12
  2. "A company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time

    Pros

    An almost unbelievable variety of projects you get to work on and some of the most extraordinary colleagues anyone can work with.

    Cons

    Staid management and a feeling that we are always chasing to be something else rather than what we are. Lots of change in the past couple of years which threatens the really unique culture of the company.

    Control Risks2019-07-30
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group General Counsel in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Control Risks full-time

    Pros

    Huge variety of nationalities work there. Great opportunities including wide travel. Now an Employee Ownership Trust operating as a partnership under a corporate structure

    Cons

    Not for everyone but very few regret having spent some time at the company

    Advice to Management

    Widen the partnership concept as far as possible. Allow non operational personnel into full partnership when appropriate.

    Control Risks2019-11-06
  4. "Good Company Little Control Over Where You Are Placed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My Interviewers were all very nice and I like my job so far. Control Risks provides a lot of development seminars and video lectures that I find very interesting. It's provided me with good network opportunities.

    Cons

    They told me the interview process would take less than a week but it took closer to almost 4 weeks. So don't worry if you get more radio silence than you expected. You don't get any choice in what company they embed you with and you are employed for as long as the contract with that company lasts. The company I am embedded with is a major US company but is doing very poor financially so I don't know if I will... still have a job in half a year when Control Risks and the company renew the contract.

    Show More
    Control Risks2019-10-31
  5. "Guard supervisor -punctuality-Driving tactics -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Security Supervisor in Kirkuk
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time punctuality- Experience- Professionalism- Intensive security courses

    Cons

    Low salaries- 12 working hours a day

    Control Risks2019-10-20
  6. "Exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse work Interesting people Unique experiences

    Cons

    Not all Partners are good managers

    Control Risks2019-10-20
  7. "Great opportunities, but changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time

    Pros

    Chance to work on really interesting projects around the world. Decent work-life balance.

    Cons

    Becoming obsessed with making money for the partnership. Analysts expected to do business development rather than focus on their areas of expertise.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that most people aren't driven by making the company money.

    Control Risks2019-10-14
  8. "Great place to work, lovely culture, supportive atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Control Risks full-time

    Pros

    Not too hierarchical, everyone willing to share their knowledge and work together. Everyone is really clever and nice. Management are inspiring. Very understanding of individual commitments outside of work and lenient

    Cons

    Quite hard to advance up the ladder

    Control Risks2019-10-07
  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant colleagues from a wide variety of backgrounds and a wide range of skillsets; also the new office has a fantastic view

    Cons

    Sometimes the amount of work threatens to overwhelm our resources; long nights and burned weekends do happen.

    Control Risks2019-10-04
  10. "Good place to build a profile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Control Risks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great projects and clients

    Cons

    Slow growth, completely depends on which office you're working in and whose you're boss

    Control Risks2019-09-29
Found 185 reviews