Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Costa Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 875 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "cleaning and long hours someties(in 67 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stressed!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay, free donuts whenever you want during work

    Cons

    - rude - doesn’t know names - unprofessional - no resumé needed - no schedule (anyone rock up)

    Advice to Management

    All of my friends don’t want to go to work because we are all to stressed - glad I quit when I did

    Costa2019-04-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Waste time, No Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No Defined process of recruitment and ask for references

    Cons

    They conduct reference check and say, you don't qualify and refuse to share the references done

    Advice to Management

    Keep honest people in company, running company is not fruit picking.

    Costa2018-12-17

    Costa Response

    December 20, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  3. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management are flexible, pay is above minimum, 25% off everything all the time and 50% off food on shift, free drinks on shift

    Cons

    Sometimes very hard when you have to get everything done quickly

    Costa2019-07-18
  4. "Support the staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes a great team on shift

    Cons

    Little support from horrible customers

    Costa2019-07-16
  5. "Cliques"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new and different people every day.

    Cons

    The way management spoke to staff.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in some people skills.

    Costa2019-07-05
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Barista 

      I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      its was very nice to work

      Cons

      there was quite a workload

      Costa2019-07-03
    • "Low pay, few perks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good people, easy to progress if you give it a few months

      Cons

      Low pay and no tips, big company now owned by Coca Cola 😤

      Costa2019-07-16
    • "Working at Costa"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Area Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The people who work with our customers are what makes this company what it is. The enthusiasm, pride and commitment is inspiring.

      Cons

      As the senior leaders have changed, so has the culture... sell, sell, sell (almost at any cost) over customer service, hospitality and customer lifetime value.

      Advice to Management

      Providing genuine care for our people is what made our company great.

      Costa2019-07-02
    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - BAR 

        I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Was a relatively good place to work

        Cons

        Nothing much past what you are doing

        Costa2019-07-15
      • "-......"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Barista Maestro 

          I worked at Costa full-time

          Pros

          good team for work short shifts

          Cons

          not good payment same drinks always

          Costa2019-06-29
        Found 875 reviews