Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Costa Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited free drinks during the shifts(in 90 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "cleaning and long hours someties(in 75 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard work but great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    I met some of my best friends working at costa, training on the job which is great, supporting team.

    Cons

    It's hard work and physical work, sometimes long hours. Had a few experiences with bad bosses but 95% of the people I worked with were lovely and we still keep in touch many years on!

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible, I understand its stressful running a shop but people need lives outside of work!

    Costa2019-10-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stressed!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay, free donuts whenever you want during work

    Cons

    - rude - doesn’t know names - unprofessional - no resumé needed - no schedule (anyone rock up)

    Advice to Management

    All of my friends don’t want to go to work because we are all to stressed - glad I quit when I did

    Costa2019-04-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Waste time, No Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No Defined process of recruitment and ask for references

    Cons

    They conduct reference check and say, you don't qualify and refuse to share the references done

    Advice to Management

    Keep honest people in company, running company is not fruit picking.

    Costa2018-12-17
  4. "I have been working here for nearly 4 years and I still enjoy it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Good open-close hours, so usually the longest shift you will ever do there is 12 hours (including 1 hour break) * You can set how many hours you want to work, to work around you schedule * Great team, everyone is happy and positive, as providing great customer service is our priority * Learn transferable skills, which can be used in other jobs Free coffee on shift, and 25% discount in other Costa stores

    Cons

    * Customers can be rude * Very focused on sales (but can't really blame a business for this) * Gets quite busy during some periods

    Costa2019-11-09
  5. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Good room for progression In store

    Cons

    The salary could be better

    Costa2019-11-09
  6. "FSE with Costa Express, no opinion on the Costa stores side of the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Above market average pay Van, fuel, uniform, all tools and training provided for Relaxed day to day work, mostly left alone to get on with it Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Management is heavily centralized, decision makers are all non-technical people, don't listen to feedback from engineers and constantly make basic mistakes that cost time and money, and never seem to learn from it Generalized trend over the last few years of cost-cutting, now getting to silly things that impact our work to save pence when other areas of the business hemorrhage money in the six/seven digits every... year and no one seems to care No real career progression opportunities for people outside the head office

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what the people out on the field have to say, start getting technical people in leadership/management roles instead of generic "managers" who wouldn't know how a spanner works

    Costa2019-11-10
  7. "1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really fun and relaxing place to work

    Cons

    No bad things to say

    Costa2019-11-08
  8. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic busy environment with colleagues

    Cons

    Busy and stressful at times

    Costa2019-11-08
  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, friendly atmosphere, lovely to work in around Christmas time, pays all employees the same at the same level regardless of age

    Cons

    Often extremely busy, short breaks

    Costa2019-11-05
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good teamwork skills built, lots of practical skills for future use too.

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed, lots to learn.

    Costa2019-11-03
Found 1002 reviews