Cotton On Retail Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Retail Assistant

Cotton On Retail Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Cotton On CEO Peter Johnson
Peter Johnson
10 Ratings
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Assistant in Epping, Victoria
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible hours over summer

    Cons

    Due to high staffing numbers, often hours are minimal

    Cotton On2019-09-29
  2. "Positive fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Belmont, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cotton On part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When you're a student they work around your availabilities that you feel you are willing to work

    Cons

    You stand in the one spot majority of a busy shift

    Cotton On2019-09-20
  3. "Very KPI driven but overall very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Casual Retail Assistant in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount at all the brands (50%) off full priced items. Team members are friendly and all concerns of mine have been looked into very quickly. Very fair hours, the hours you get are performance based unless your manager is biased.

    Cons

    Very KPI driven and it can sometimes to hard to sell our 'WAP' item if it's been there for over a week. Some team members call off sick very often, seems as if the job isn't taken too seriously as there's nothing the managers can do (from what mine told me)

    Cotton On2019-09-12
  4. "Extremely high standards but good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cotton On part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount across the group

    Cons

    Extremely KPI focused (down to hourly performance)

    Cotton On2019-06-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great from an outside perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% staff discount Flexible roster Friendly staff

    Cons

    Firstly, I started at Cotton On as a casual about a year ago and it was good. Everyone seemed friendly and easy going. Training was adequate, but definitely could have used more on the registers. For the first four or so months, the job lacked so much variety and the shifts were mind-numbingly boring and felt like they went forever, even though the shifts are mostly three and four hours, rarely being rostered on for a five hour. Even now, in a big store, it's almost a 50/50 % chance you're either on the front, or in the fitting rooms. You get 'inducted' at the start of every shift, where your manager tells you what is the expected budget for the day, as well as the expected ratio's for customer purchases of charity items, with any purchase (WAP) items and sign ups to the Cotton On loyalty program. Along with the daily reminders of what the 'operations focus' for the week is. This is fine, it's good to have goals. You also get hourly updates on how you are going sales wise. We get told every shift, that we need to be approaching customers to greet them, then follow up with them a few minutes later to see if they need any help. This is absolutely ridiculous, there is no way in which one person can greet every customer that comes into the store *keep in mind, I worked in a MEGA store*. I mean, secondly to this, customers just don't want to be approached and quite frankly, bothered by a sales assistant. I am a customer, and I hate being approached!! Every day we get deliveries for stock, sometimes 20-30 boxes of items that are all expected to be unpacked in three hours (at 12pm). This is hardly ever achieved and managers make you feel as if you are slow and inefficient. Regarding the deliveries, EVERYTHING IS INDIVIDUALLY WRAPPED IN PLASTIC! I'm saying ONE box may contain 40 pairs of underwear, 20 bras and a 10 pairs of tracksuit pants, and EVERY single one of them is wrapped in plastic. If you have a problem with the amount of plastic being produced and it's inability to biodegrade, than this is literally going to make you sick. Managers again don't seem to have a problem with this, and justify it by saying that can't do anything about it. Now, getting down to the nitty gritty. Did you know that it has been discovered recently (and feel free to search this yourself if you don't believe me), that Cotton On does not even pay their clothing manufacturers in Bangladesh minimum wage? I'm talking 50 cents a day. To pay their workers minimum wage, they would literally need to increase their clothing prices by, get this, ONE CENT, to absorb the wage increase. Why is a company that is so hell bent of pushing their 'charity' items to help children in Uganda, South Africa and Thailand, so willing to let their staff in another third world country go without a minimum wage?

    Continue reading
    Cotton On2019-04-02
  6. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Retail Sales Assistant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cotton On part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    50% Discount across all brands is good

    Cons

    Everything. It is a terrible company to work for. I've never seen so many people cry over a job that essentially sells underwear to twelve year olds. Lots of hard work and overtime has to be put in for either no reward or punishment. It is very cliquey and double standards are a regular occurrence.

    Cotton On2019-02-27
  7. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, its an easy job

    Cons

    Sometimes you get a new manager and they just dont know what they are doing.

    Continue reading
    Cotton On2019-01-29
  8. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Sydney

    I worked at Cotton On part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great staff discounts (50% off all Cotton On Group brands) - Fun work culture if working with the right people - Decent pay (average retail rate)

    Cons

    - Was hardly given shifts although I was a good worker - Poor management at my store

    Cotton On2018-11-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Trust the reviews, don’t work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cotton On part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid break. That’s all I’ve got

    Cons

    Worked for this company for nearly 2 years and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Where to start... 50% discount? Really isn’t a pro because if you work in a Dfo/outlet the garment will go on sale 2 weeks later 70% off the price.... Too kpi driven! Witnessed management cutting worker’s shifts because they weren’t good enough at kpi. The treatment of casuals is horrible! Not enough workers on shifts and the store gets trashed and the casuals get in trouble for the mess while managers sit and hide out the back from customers...

    Continue reading
    Cotton On2018-11-05
  10. "My experience as a casual at Typo TTP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Assistant- Sales Floor in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On for less than a year

    Pros

    - discounts across all brands of cotton on - some workmates are really friendly and helpful - my second in charge will listen to every concern I have and help me in every way she can

    Cons

    - Managers are out of touch - casual work lifestyle, if you want more hours you have to be free last minute for a cover - 7 types of KPIs you need to keep on top of, even if the store has no customers it is the employee on roaster's fault for not up selling products to make budget/comp - I was pulled in for a sit down/warning after a drama between co-workers in which I was not involved but my name was thrown in and insisted on sit down even after knowing the fact that I was not involved

    Continue reading
    Cotton On2018-08-14
Found 29 reviews