Covance Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Covance Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1372 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO John Ratliff
John Ratliff
303 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be better(in 98 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult to keep up with the growing workload, especially after the Labcorp merger(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Forward thinking, good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consulting work focuses on strategy, exceptional and smart colleagues, collaborative, work from home allows flexibility

    Cons

    None right at the moment.

    Covance2019-03-09
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    interesting studies to work on.

    Cons

    Micro management of all activities

    Covance2018-12-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work at Covance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Managers don't care about you, lousy performance review (based on gossips and no real concrete assessments) or not being done at all. With the latest "restructure" many people lost their jobs, and they kept some really bad people who basically don't do any work. It goes without saying there are lots of politics at play. Very poor treatment of its employees with social functions, you have to pay for most of... these, Xmas parties involve standing at a pub and served with finger food of supermarket quality. Managers' offices are like 6 times of other employees, this also means reduced public shared spaces like lunch rooms, meeting rooms.

    Show More
    Covance2018-10-03
  4. "Can be better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    No set time to work. Autonomous. Harmonious working environment. Global company.

    Cons

    Pay is just alright. Slow career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people who has the skills and capabilities. Look at the qualifications as well!

    Covance2017-02-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance

    Pros

    Some of the people are worth getting to know

    Cons

    Incompetent managers Gossip is allowed to go on, I was accused by a colleague of not doing any work when I could prove I did twice the amount of work as my colleagues (and I proved it).

    Advice to Management

    Put a strict policy in place for office gossip

    Covance2012-01-27
  6. "Covance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - St Clinical Contract Specialist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best company to work with. Provides career growth and lot to learn. Hire management is very supportive and unbiased

    Cons

    Hard to find any. Thought, IJP should be encouraged

    Covance2019-10-10
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Personal and career development opportunities. Broad exposure to varied aspect of the job. Strong leadership throughout the business. In depth and well thought out onboarding process.

    Cons

    None experienced so far in my employment.

    Covance2019-10-10
  8. "Decent company that is growing fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy hiring process. Good benefits .

    Cons

    Heavy work loads but projects are generally resourced well.

    Covance2019-10-09
  9. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to cross train.

    Cons

    Heavy lifting for twelve hour shifts.

    Covance2019-10-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Thoughts after a year: Good pay, mediocre benefits, above-average work-life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Statistical Programmer II in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance for more than a year

    Pros

    Allowed me to work from home with limited industry experience. Work at times can bleed into personal time, but for the most part the work balance has been good. This industry has high likelihood of working late nights, but my experience here has shown that to be limited. Upper management generally has your back and is willing to give you opportunities to shine if you can prove your utility. There is an understanding... that work just needs to be done well and there are no constraints on how it gets done. I feel like no one is hovering over me to see how I perform and I have the ability to work at my own pace as long as it gets done within the timelines.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some luck is involved in terms of what client group you're placed in. The group can be really unorganized making life difficult. SOP's don't always match up with what is actually being done, and can cause confusion and inefficiencies. I have a problem with most benefits packages in the US, but I feel like the health benefits here are more expensive than other places I've been. Also, there is no bonus incentive... unless you are senior level, and even then it isn't very much (not based off a % of salary).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maintain SOP's and strive for technology that is efficient and simple. Remove unnecessary processes that increase the chances of user error.

    Covance2019-10-01
Found 1372 reviews