Covance Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Covance Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1303 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Covance CEO John Ratliff
John Ratliff
268 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be better(in 90 reviews)

  • "Merger with labcorp caused company to loose some incentives and benefits such tuition reimbursement(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Forward thinking, good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consulting work focuses on strategy, exceptional and smart colleagues, collaborative, work from home allows flexibility

    Cons

    None right at the moment.

    Covance2019-03-09
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    interesting studies to work on.

    Cons

    Micro management of all activities

    Covance2018-12-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work at Covance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Managers don't care about you, lousy performance review (based on gossips and no real concrete assessments) or not being done at all. With the latest "restructure" many people lost their jobs, and they kept some really bad people who basically don't do any work. It goes without saying there are lots of politics at play. Very poor treatment of its employees with social functions, you have to pay for most of these,...

    Show More
    Covance2018-10-03
  4. "Can be better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time

    Pros

    No set time to work. Autonomous. Harmonious working environment. Global company.

    Cons

    Pay is just alright. Slow career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people who has the skills and capabilities. Look at the qualifications as well!

    Covance2017-02-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance

    Pros

    Some of the people are worth getting to know

    Cons

    Incompetent managers Gossip is allowed to go on, I was accused by a colleague of not doing any work when I could prove I did twice the amount of work as my colleagues (and I proved it).

    Advice to Management

    Put a strict policy in place for office gossip

    Covance2012-01-27
  6. "A nice environement with a high salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Administratif in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A nice company where people are efficient and kindly, wages are high and the environment is nice

    Cons

    A lot of long process and a difficult implementation to new process and decisions

    Advice to Management

    Stay like that and continue to trust your coworkers

    Covance2019-07-15
  7. "I recommend Covance - it gives opportunity for development and promotion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Clinical Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a real opportunity for development after the experience is gained.

    Cons

    Occasionally, there is a work overload, but they respect over the time hours to be reclaimed.

    Covance2019-07-07
  8. "Great work/life balance and much more!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Covance

    Pros

    -Excellent management that genuinely cares about their employees -Relaxed, comfortable work environment -Option to work from home at times -Flexible PTO -Good starting pay

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Covance2019-07-05
  9. "Depends on your line manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Team Lead in Buenos Aires
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Covance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Depending on your LM it can be amazing to work at Covance or a real headache. Pros: home office, most of people are great to work with, competitive salary.

    Cons

    There are not facilities to move to another country. Many extra hours worked.

    Covance2019-06-27
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 

    I have been working at Covance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start working

    Cons

    No real cons in my opinion

    Covance2019-06-22
Found 1303 reviews