Culture Amp Employee Reviews about "culture first"

Updated 28 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Culture Amp Founder & CEO Didier Elzinga (no image)
Didier Elzinga
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "My experience with Culture Amp has been a very positive one(in 20 reviews)

  • "I can see that the CEO is trying hard to connect with people and be culture-first - one of the influential leaders in Melbourne(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Culture Amp is one of the best places I've worked, but now that I'm no longer there (COVID layoffs) the values sting in hindsight(in 8 reviews)

  • "It's a fast growing company so it's not always perfect(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "culture first"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      One of the few genuinely authentic mission-focused companies in SaaS

      28 Oct 2020 - Senior Customer Success Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Working on a mission that's genuinely ethically focused (changing how companies put people first). - Having an authentic CEO who's a world-class visionary leader and who is also approachable. - Being able to be involved with the world's leading companies, it's ridiculous how many top companies use Culture Amp. - Culture First ethos means Culture Amp internally aims to live to incredibly lofty standards (even if the leadership does sometimes struggle to meet all the demands of employees). - The great employee brand in the market means the types of people you work with tend to be highly skilled but also good to work with (e.g. no brilliant jerks). - The no-commission model allows provides psychological space to deliver a better service. - The products themselves are actually based on science, a lot of SaaS products out there are just based on an imaginary problem and then just focused on sales rather than being grounded in best practice scientific principles.

      Cons

      - The speed of change can be a challenge (I think you'd find that at most similar-sized companies). - Because Culture Amp leads the industry, there's a target on your back from a range of competitor products and it can be frustrating when other providers act mischievously or just have an entire strategy based on depositioning you (e.g. suggesting approaches that are not backed in science but are just different for the sake of convincing customers they should move away from CA). - The breadth and power of the platform does mean there's a big learning curve when starting (especially across Performance and Surveying). - As a VC-backed company, Culture Amp internally is cost-conscious when it comes to spending on staff outside of salaries, so there's no big Christmas bonuses, expensive lunches, or that sort of cash-splash benefits other technology companies may provide. - I listed it as a Pro above, but if you love commissions, then the no-commission model is a Con (unless you want to give it a go) .

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the tech focused / product companies in Melbourne

      2 Sep 2020 - Senior Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Tech focused initiatives among customer focused ones. Opens the door for tech innovation. * People focused culture - this may sometimes come across as "all talk" and fake but in reality it is much better than many other organisations - I am not surprised by a couple bad reviews about "people first" being fake. * I can see that the CEO is trying hard to connect with people and be culture-first - one of the influential leaders in Melbourne.

      Cons

      * Very low pay compared to market standards and does not match with the increasing expectations and outcome expected out of senior to lead roles. * Not very competent top engineering management: Top heavy (too many directors for the company size) and recently expanding to non-engineering management. Obviously some people may not find this an issue (particularly if you are a non-technical person) - but as an engineer myself, I find this troubling - that being said, I also found some of the technical senior management not competent enough in managing some of the difficult situations which explains why they are heading in this direction.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Incredible Leadership, Culture and Campers

      19 Apr 2020 - Senior Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture First, Leadership, Team, Technology, People Geeks, Community

      Cons

      Growing pains, compensation, salary, rewards & recognition

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company that really does live it's values

      8 Mar 2019 - Senior Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A really friendly, inclusive and supportive working environment that definitely does put culture first. The companies values are at the heart of the business and the organisation is doing a great job in preserving those as the business scales rapidly. As the company is growing so rapidly there are lots of opportunities for career and professional development. The company is very supportive of this with the 'Learn yourself up' program as an example. The current Exec team look well placed to lead the next phase of growth with a really strong collective skill-set and dynamism.

      Cons

      The company is growing at scale, so if you do not relish change, both in terms of role and processes, this may not be the place for you. Still a mature tech start up here in the UK market.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A company where you have true autonomy and the ability to build towards making a difference

      11 Jun 2019 - Customer Success Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture Amp is extremely mission driven and committed to building "Culture First" organizations throughout the world. This leads to a group of people that are happy, engaged in the work they're doing and overly positive and caring. You'll truly never meet a better group of people to call coworkers or feel more apart of a team in the workplace. My favorite part about Culture Amp is the genuine desire to help all employees (all levels, backgrounds, experience, etc.) learn and develop in a safe environment. The emphasis on feedback and learning faster through it (a core value) creates the ability for those that proactively take learning & development into their own hands to succeed and excel at a quick pace. Leaders are transparent about the things that we're still figuring out and working on. I genuinely believe that they are committed to doing things the right way, even if that means making sacrifices on the business front.

      Cons

      As a fast growing org, there are challenges of navigating ambiguity and knowing what resources you have available to you and what success looks like. It's important that employees own the conversation with their mentors (managers) to ensure they have the clarity they need to do well. In my experience, employees that don't actively drive this conversation will struggle to feel supported. Leadership is committed and caring to the cause and there can sometimes be a struggle to strike the right balance between vision/inspiration and executing/accountability.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Organization and Sales Team

      28 Mar 2019 - Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Authentic, humble, genuine leadership that puts culture first Extremely heathy, collaborative sales environment Use our platform internally to ensure employees are having a great experience

      Cons

      It's a fast growing company so it's not always perfect.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Culture Amp Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for your feedback! Appreciate your support of Didier as well as the rest of our leadership team (especially Sales!) You're right, we're not perfect but we're tying to learn as fast as possible through feedback. Thanks for taking the time to share yours.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Being Culture First

      27 Apr 2016 - Customer Success Coach in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people! We have the benefit not only of collaborating with coworkers who are passionate about making the world a better place to work, but also to work with customers who care about improving the employee experience at their own companies. Another special thing about Culture Amp is that we are in the business of employee engagement, but we also practice being a Culture First company internally. This means that no topic is taboo and that we constantly take a step back to confirm we're aligned with our values.

      Cons

      Typical challenges of a fast-growth, fast-paced start-up. There is always plenty of work to do and we're trying to catch up in hiring resources to get it done.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Culture Amp Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Organisational Development Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Culture Amp? Share Your Experiences

    Culture Amp logo
    or