Daimler Trucks North America Assembler Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Daimler Trucks North America Assembler Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
29%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
2 Ratings
  1. "Working for Freightliner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Truck Assembler in Cleveland, NC

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really liked working for Daimler the pay is good, benefits are good

    Cons

    Job can be physically challenging depending on which job you are assigned. Usually you're are required to do a 2 persons job alone. They lay off every 1 to 2 years. I really hate this last lay off was done sloppy. There were no TAA benefits or severance pay for this layoff like they did for the last layoff

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will appreciate your next job.

    Cons

    Sweat shop. Bad union deal.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-06-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "DON’T APPRECIATE GREAT HELP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Gaffney, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always overtime to be worked due to massive turnover rate

    Cons

    You put in your application with Aerotek and start working for this company making only $10/hr. trying to get hired on with Freightliner permanently to make a living for you and your family. Work for them 6 days a week and 10 hour days then when it comes time to hire employees 10 months later THEY HIRE INDIVIDUALS FROM THE OUTSIDE BEFORE THE AEROTEK EMPLOYEES WHO HAVE BEEN THERE 10+ MONTHS!?!? Yet I have passed up other job opportunities waiting to be hired on here only to be skipped over to TRAIN MY REPLACEMENT!!

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-03-09
  4. "Good pay and benefits but worry over layoffs, although work has been steady recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Assembler in Mount Holly, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is good, as well as benefits. Depending on your view of unions, it can be seen as a good thing in certain instances.

    Cons

    Again, depending on your views, Union can be good or bad, and it really is both here. Layoffs can be a worry, although work has been steady recently.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2017-12-27
  5. "Assembler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Mount Holly, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great benefits, overtime available, and mandatory. attendance bonus, 6 days off paid at Christmas. Great pay for unskilled labor!

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, no vacation for a year, not many new skills. need high seniority, for day shift.

    Daimler Trucks North America2017-10-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Job with amazing benefits and generous with paid time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Assembler in Mount Holly, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Most affordable health insurance I've ever had. -total of 3 weeks paid time off every year after your probation period is over -2 week paid Christmas vacation - 8 hr shifts with shift diff for 2nd or 3rd - they try to move you around on the line from time to time so you arn't always doing the exact same thing but for the most part you will be doing the same thing just about every day. - unionized

    Cons

    If you are thinking of applying or just got hired be prepared to be laid off at some point. I relocated and moved my family because I got this job. Little did I know they are known for laying off. My orientation class asked HR in front of everyone what the likely hood of being laid off was and they flat out lied. They said it was very unlikely and that they had so many orders that they couldn't get the trucks out fast enough. They also told us that the last time they laid off was the recession of 2008 then called everyone back. LIES! I didn't even work there for 4 months before the lay off rumors started. When I was there for 7 months they announced they would be laying off. Thankfully I knew someone that was hiring and I got a new job just in time. I was offered the job back a little over a year later but did not take it. I just couldn't continue to have a job that I'm not sure how long it's going to last especially when I am the sole provider for my family. If they didn't do so much hiring and laying off it really would be the perfect job, even though it can be a very repetitive job which was difficult for me because I get bored easily.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2017-08-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Looking for a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Gaffney, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary good benifits paid vacatipn

    Cons

    People hired on after 90 days receive 4weeks vacation. We had to work 15 years to get 4 weeks. Low bonuses too

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2017-06-30
  8. "After 19 years let go for injury that happened there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Cleveland, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits. Worked with a lot of good people. Was able to move around to different positions and jobs.

    Cons

    Very hard work, hot, your just a number. All they were concerned about was production and not so much quality.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2017-07-01
  9. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Assembler in Mount Holly, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly coworkers, paid lunch, paid holidays and overtime

    Cons

    Lay offs, unstable, sometimes to fast of pace

    Daimler Trucks North America2017-01-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Benefits horrible work environment management not so smart."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Assembler in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits and the pay and the bonuses! I mean you can make 40k here in about 2-3 years and 1600$ cash bonuses a year just for showing up to work on time. Insurance is unbeatable because they get the insurance out of state so it's better prices than NC. 175$ a month for a family and full coverage with 20$ co-pays. Hours are great 3:00pm-11:30 pm.

    Cons

    Sometimes you wish you didn't come in because the company decides to punish you for people not showing up. The work is not easy it's challenging and rough as heck you will come home feeling like a stiff turd for the first month of work depending on what location your in. You may get lucky and get a girls job and have it made. Or you may get stuck in a position that sucks for 5 years and no hope of moving till they post jobs on internal board. Also everyone here is a redneck and hateful most people will try to make you feel like a turd just for some entertainment because they hate their job.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2017-01-03
Found 28 reviews