Daimler Trucks North America Engineering Intern Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America President and CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
1 Rating
  1. "Good company for an internship"

    4.0
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Portland, OR

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    There was a strong network of resources for interns. They tend to take many interns. Pay is pretty decent for an engineering internship.

    Cons

    Easy to get overwhelmed in the huge company.

    Daimler Trucks North America2020-03-10
  2. "Great company with great work culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Design Engineer Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to get exposure to the various teams in my department. There was a lot of encouragement to meet new people and ask questions. Office space is very open and modern. Involved on a key project, felt that my work was valued.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little higher to account for high cost of living in Portland, OR.

    Daimler Trucks North America2020-01-15
  3. "Enjoyed the Surroundings, Would have enjoyed more interesting tasks."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineer Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    - Loved the building and all of the team building activities -Liked being surrounded by people from all different backgrounds including the business side

    Cons

    - One really needs to seek out interesting tasks if you do not have alot to do. Talk to your fellow employees and manager for more tasks and they will give them to you.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2018-04-27
  4. "Product Validation Engineering"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Vancouver, WA

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment, and great coworkers.

    Cons

    There was not an opportunity for this internship to turn into a full time position.

    Daimler Trucks North America2015-09-08
  5. "Good place to work but can depend on what department you're in!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location on Swan Island in Portland Good benefits Employee discount on buying Daimler cars (ie Mercedes-Benz) Cafeteria and cafe onsite "Ride-along" program- can experience day in the life of trucker

    Cons

    Not all employees seem very motivated Old, drab-looking central building (where engineering is)

    Daimler Trucks North America2015-07-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Engineering Internship"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Hours were flexible and everyone was always willing to help.

    Cons

    Seemed like it would be easy to get stuck in a job with little upward mobility. Lower compensation than other Portland companies.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2015-02-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Manufacturing engineering intern. Great internship allowed me to expand my knowledge and professional network."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineering Intern in Portland, OR

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management was highly focused on getting valuable work out of the interns. This translated into having meaningful projects that had direct impact on the end product.

    Cons

    Dull corporate work environment. lots of people doing things because that is the way they have been done....

    Daimler Trucks North America2014-12-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Decent workplace for interns"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    - Salary - Flexible hours - Smart people - Team outings

    Cons

    Upper management isn't welcome to change. Non-German speakers will not really fit into the culture in the workplace (a lot of German speaking employees).

    Daimler Trucks North America2014-04-19
  9. "Engineering Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering Intern in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Learning a lot everyday

    Cons

    No future absorption for interns

    Daimler Trucks North America2014-02-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Internship"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, you are given some responsibility depending on your department. Good work is definitely noticed and complimented.

    Cons

    Daimler is a huge company, and due to the size of this company, there is a lot of red tape and bureaucracy that goes on which kills productivity

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2014-02-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews