Daimler Trucks North America Intern - Hourly Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Daimler Trucks North America Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 371 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
24 Ratings
  1. "Great exposure to how a global company operates, and very attractive employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Customer Experience in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great exposure to how a global company operates, and very attractive employee benefits

    Cons

    Can be slow-moving, and silo'd. And needs a continued focus on diversity & inclusion.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will appreciate your next job.

    Cons

    Sweat shop. Bad union deal.

    Advice to Management

    Just close the place and forget it ever happened.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-06-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Gastonia, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved my job, I went above and beyond to prove I should be there and I wanted my job permanently!

    Cons

    If someone's family member is there and not even doing their job, they will be selected over you, no matter how hard you work and extra hours you put in!

    Advice to Management

    I did summer hire last year in my local area, went above and beyond to prove how much I wanted a job, I was told over and over I would, and I believed in it and in the company! Others were selected over me that was the sons and daughters of people that had worked there for years and didnt even work as hard as I did. This year I wanted to try to get in again because I truly loved my job and i tried another plant, they...

    Show More
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "discriminatory culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time

      Pros

      free tea, coffee and fruits

      Cons

      Daimler has a bad reputation around the town for its very discriminatory and exclusive culture. Employees have huge egos. minorities and contractors are second class citizens. technology is on the lower end of the software spectrum. Daimler has light years to catch up to the high tech. modern, inclusive and highly collaborative companies on the west coast.

      Advice to Management

      you have nothing to offer to attract and keep talent. people run away because of limited opportunities and the challenging exclusive working culture.

      Daimler Trucks North America2019-06-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      - Decent benefits - Depending on manager very flexible work/life balance - WFH days

      Cons

      - policies not always consistent across all teams - salaries lag behind industry standard

      Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-05
    • "Great Company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Design Engineer in Gaffney, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Great Work/Life Balance -Spectacular 401(k) match and non elective contributions ($0.75 of every dollar match up to 8% of base salary also a non-elective company contribution as well: under 40 is an additional 3%, under 50 is 5% and over is 7%. Therefore if an employee makes the 8% 401(k) contribution the company will match 9%, 11% or 13% depending on age.) -Mercedes-Benz lease program (if played correctly: zero down,...

      Show More

      Cons

      -Pay could be better but it is not terrible. -Facilities are decent for a manufacturing plant but there is no gym and a non-maintained walk-way -Tools needed for the job are not always readily available

      Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Always Busy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Internship in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I worked in the offices directly above the truck plant, so we always had plenty to do. Very welcoming environment, and the people are great. They really want you to do well, and offer plenty of help (as long as they aren't swamped). I loved pretty much everything. Great experience juggling projects and such.

      Cons

      Hard to apply for jobs because interns have to wait for them to go external first. Besides that, just recognize that as an intern you are technically the lowest priority, even though they don't make you feel like that. Also, projects are totally random, just depends on what the plant needs most at that time, so speak up and fight for projects you want but always be flexible.

      Advice to Management

      I loved my boss (Lamar Jenkins). He was probably the best part of the whole internship. He really cares about his workers. He'll probably retire soon though, so whoever replaces him has big shoes to fill.

      Daimler Trucks North America2019-04-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great benefits, but..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Senior Pricing Analyst 

        I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time

        Pros

        Great benefits and career building opportunities.

        Cons

        Competition between coworkers, especially women, creates a hostile work environment. Expect deliberate sabotage.

        Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-03
      • "Great company- significant culture change for the better!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Project Manager in Portland, OR
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Benefits, career growth opportunities, culture changes improving

        Cons

        Company Processes can limit progress, diversity in executive leadership is limited.

        Advice to Management

        Empathy is important- employees do not have same life style or standard of living as executives- remember that when making decisions that impact employees.

        Daimler Trucks North America2019-04-22
      • Helpful (1)

        "It's a job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Supervisor 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good vacation policy - 4 weeks awarded from day 1.

        Cons

        Deeply hierarchical culture, definite glass ceiling for women and non-Germans, bogged down by process. Decisions take forever to be implemented, even after the long torturous process of arriving at that decision

        Advice to Management

        stop implementing policies that drive away talent

        Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-17
      Found 371 reviews