Daimler Trucks North America Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Daimler Trucks North America Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 463 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
33 Ratings
  1. "Love my coworkers but I prefer working for a smaller company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    People are really enjoyable to work with. Everyone is nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Big company small role, lots of aspects of engineering you don’t get to touch.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-06-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will appreciate your next job.

    Cons

    Sweat shop. Bad union deal.

    Advice to Management

    Just close the place and forget it ever happened.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-06-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Gastonia, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved my job, I went above and beyond to prove I should be there and I wanted my job permanently!

    Cons

    If someone's family member is there and not even doing their job, they will be selected over you, no matter how hard you work and extra hours you put in!

    Advice to Management

    I did summer hire last year in my local area, went above and beyond to prove how much I wanted a job, I was told over and over I would, and I believed in it and in the company! Others were selected over me that was the sons and daughters of people that had worked there for years and didnt even work as hard as I did. This year I wanted to try to get in again because I truly loved my job and i tried another plant, they...

    Show More
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-07-10
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Intern in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    I really loved this internship. It was very challenging and required a lot of independent work but I think this taught me a lot. Very project based as well.

    Cons

    Didn't get to work with as many different departments as I would've liked to.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "discriminatory culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time

    Pros

    free tea, coffee and fruits

    Cons

    Daimler has a bad reputation around the town for its very discriminatory and exclusive culture. Employees have huge egos. minorities and contractors are second class citizens. technology is on the lower end of the software spectrum. Daimler has light years to catch up to the high tech. modern, inclusive and highly collaborative companies on the west coast.

    Advice to Management

    you have nothing to offer to attract and keep talent. people run away because of limited opportunities and the challenging exclusive working culture.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-06-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Decent benefits - Depending on manager very flexible work/life balance - WFH days

    Cons

    - policies not always consistent across all teams - salaries lag behind industry standard

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-05
  7. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Gaffney, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great Work/Life Balance -Spectacular 401(k) match and non elective contributions ($0.75 of every dollar match up to 8% of base salary also a non-elective company contribution as well: under 40 is an additional 3%, under 50 is 5% and over is 7%. Therefore if an employee makes the 8% 401(k) contribution the company will match 9%, 11% or 13% depending on age.) -Mercedes-Benz lease program (if played correctly: zero down,...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Pay could be better but it is not terrible. -Facilities are decent for a manufacturing plant but there is no gym and a non-maintained walk-way -Tools needed for the job are not always readily available

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Always Busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the offices directly above the truck plant, so we always had plenty to do. Very welcoming environment, and the people are great. They really want you to do well, and offer plenty of help (as long as they aren't swamped). I loved pretty much everything. Great experience juggling projects and such.

    Cons

    Hard to apply for jobs because interns have to wait for them to go external first. Besides that, just recognize that as an intern you are technically the lowest priority, even though they don't make you feel like that. Also, projects are totally random, just depends on what the plant needs most at that time, so speak up and fight for projects you want but always be flexible.

    Advice to Management

    I loved my boss (Lamar Jenkins). He was probably the best part of the whole internship. He really cares about his workers. He'll probably retire soon though, so whoever replaces him has big shoes to fill.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-04-27
  9. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America for less than a year

    Pros

    Good quality of work, encouraging environment

    Cons

    Slow process and response time to some of industrial problems

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-04-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Pricing Analyst 

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and career building opportunities.

    Cons

    Competition between coworkers, especially women, creates a hostile work environment. Expect deliberate sabotage.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-03
Found 463 reviews